No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
6 St Peters Lane, , , Canterbury, CT1 2BP
The White House offers a mix of Double Rooms (with one Twin) and one Single Room. Each room has been individually designed to ensure maximum comfort and to provide elegant and stylish accommodation. Most of the beds have king or super king mattresses and are dressed in contemporary white linens. We aim to offer a great nights sleep in a really comfy bed, before waking up to a delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Our convenient location, situated just off the main High Street and just behind the Marlowe Theatre and Beaney Museum, ensures all the many attractions are literally on the doorstep, but the property is nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Our rooms at the back of the house are away from the road overlooking the theatre, so talk to us beforehand about which room will suit you best if you want a quieter room option. Please note the maximum occupancy in our rooms is 2 people, so we are unable to accommodate toddlers, infants or children under 16 years. We do however welcome older children over 16 whose parents are happy to for them to occupy their own separate room. It's easy to find us - Canterbury West and East Railway Stations are within walking distance, as are the Coach and Bus stations. There is also easy access from the M2 if you are driving. Although we do not have our own dedicated car park, public parking is conveniently located 50 metres from our door, for which we can provide concessionary vouchers of £6.00 for a 24 hour stay. Kindly note that as a small B&B we are not able to offer a late check in service (check in is normally from 3pm-7pm), so if you are likely to arrive after 7pm please call us before booking your room. In addition, our Grade II listing means we do not unfortunately have lift facilities for less able guests or ground floor rooms.
Picture of The White House, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely friendly hotel
We had a lovely weekend stay at The White House. The high points were the friendliness of the owner and the excellent breakfasts (we had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg). Despite being called the 'cosy room', our room was surprisingly spacious, and was also clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is also well situated for the city centre, with all the attractions just a short walk away. The only thing that could be improved is to be a little more ethically aware e.g. switching to energy efficient lighting and using free range and local egg/meat in the breakfasts. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a pleasant stay in Canterbury with a personalised feel and excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
Hazel N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, helpful and welcoming service. Guest house and the room was to a very good decorative standard and very clean throughout.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice stay.
Great host, very helpful, hospitable and generous. Nice room in a lovely house in a great location within easy walking distance to all the best bits of Canterbury. Great big bed, really comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Tony W

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
what a lovely find in a very busy city, very pleasant welcome at a time to suit ( I asked to check in before time and was totally accommodated), this stay was a surprise for my husband as we were going to a show at the Marlowe and I felt he deserved a quiet evening away from the hussle and bussle of our home life, and we were not disappointed, when we next visit the Marlowe we will be defiantly booking again

Reviewed by
Julie B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - great location - friendly

Reviewed by
Noirin G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A unique experience
Excellent accommodation in a really good location. It is a guesthouse full of character as is the Host. It is a unique experience that I can only recommend

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, room smaller than I thought having looked at pictures of rooms on internet 1st but being single got a single bedded one. Spotlight shining up into room and blackout not covering it so quite light for sleeping. Library outside room nice to browse books. No heated towel rail in bathroom so felt cold on showering, Cooked breakfast was superb had the poached egg on bed of mushrooms with granary toast yum.

Reviewed by
K M

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have no hesitation staying here again next time I visit Canterbury. Great location close to centre of town but without the noise of being on the high street. Room was well presented; Breakfast nice; and owner was really cheery and helpful- overall what more can you ask for?

Reviewed by
j harvey

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ditch the kids
The bed was large and comfy, room clean and bright and breakfast enjoyable.
I have already recommended it to other friends.

Reviewed by
Amanda P

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We just had one night in Canterbury and were realy pleased with the White House. The welcome was warm and helpful, the place is very comfortable and clean and everything was done to a high standard. It's well located, just off the main street (but quiet) with easy, convenient, reasonably-priced parking. We would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next