No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
6 St Peters Lane, , , Canterbury, CT1 2BP
The White House offers a mix of Double Rooms (with one Twin) and one Single Room. Each room has been individually designed to ensure maximum comfort and to provide elegant and stylish accommodation. Most of the beds have king or super king mattresses and are dressed in contemporary white linens. We aim to offer a great nights sleep in a really comfy bed, before waking up to a delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Our convenient location, situated just off the main High Street and just behind the Marlowe Theatre and Beaney Museum, ensures all the many attractions are literally on the doorstep, but the property is nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Our rooms at the back of the house are away from the road overlooking the theatre, so talk to us beforehand about which room will suit you best if you want a quieter room option. Please note the maximum occupancy in our rooms is 2 people, so we are unable to accommodate toddlers, infants or children under 16 years. We do however welcome older children over 16 whose parents are happy to for them to occupy their own separate room. It's easy to find us - Canterbury West and East Railway Stations are within walking distance, as are the Coach and Bus stations. There is also easy access from the M2 if you are driving. Although we do not have our own dedicated car park, public parking is conveniently located 50 metres from our door, for which we can provide concessionary vouchers of £6.00 for a 24 hour stay. Kindly note that as a small B&B we are not able to offer a late check in service (check in is normally from 3pm-7pm), so if you are likely to arrive after 7pm please call us before booking your room. In addition, our Grade II listing means we do not unfortunately have lift facilities for less able guests or ground floor rooms.
Picture of The White House, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at The White House
warm friendly welcome. Beautifully decorated and well maintained property in the heart of Canterbury. Excellent for those who want to park and walk - good value parking offered with the room. Breakfast was tasty and offered good choice for vegetarians.

Reviewed by
S Pender

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at the white house
It was a very high quality accommodation and the owners are very accommodating and very friendly. We would defiantly come back. Would highly recommend
Thanks
The Drinkwater's

Reviewed by
andrew drinkwater

From watford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but perfectly formed
A friendly welcome,a pleasant room, a decent breakfast - and all very conveniently placed in the centre of town, and not far from the railway station. The room was a mite small, the shower was over the bath, and a biscuit to nibble with my tea would have been nice. But my wife and I would very happily return.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury Tales
The hotel was clean and fresh. Breakfast was ample and nicely cooked. The room was clean and comfortable. Adrian was very helpful and always there if you needed him. The parking arrangements are fine. You pay six pounds to park for 24 hours and the car park is 3 minutes walk from The White House. You pay at the hotel and Adrian gives you a voucher to put in your windscreen.All monies are paid to the council. Great location,2 minutes walk to the High Street with it's many shops and restaurants

Reviewed by
Kenneth Lowe

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel near Centre of Town
I had a very comfortable room/bed, nice facilities, very friendly owner. The breakfast was speedy and cooked very well. I felt quite at home being on my own for the first time in a hotel. The only drawback being a lot of stairs!

Reviewed by
Rosemary B

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and convenient
The White House was a great base for our long weekend in Kent. It was lovely to stroll into the city to soak up the atmosphere and chose from one of the many restaurants.

Reviewed by
Jemima P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Very clean accommodation and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Sandra Towler

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
An absolute gem just outside of the heart of Canterbury

Reviewed by
Rupert B

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit of central luxury
not cheap but this case you get what you pay for. could not be closer to town and the room was truly excellent

Reviewed by
alan p

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at the White House
Stayed here for a night with the boyfriend. Greeted by a lovely host, Adrian, who was very attentive, friendly and hospitable. He offered us a reduced price for car parking in a very nearby car park. The room was clean, comfortable and to a high standard. Breakfast was included for the following morning which we thoroughly enjoyed as there was a hot selection as well as cereals. We both chose English breakfasts and were impressed and pleased by the cooking. Very pleased overall!!

Reviewed by
L Ly

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next