Reviews - The Wild Pheasant Hotel

3

BERWYN STREET, LLANGOLLEN, LL20 8AD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Peter Thompson

  • June 2015

Well worth the money for the spa

An overnight stay.

Checked in the afternoon and soon made use of the spa facilities. Had a cpl of drinks in the hotel bar around 10ish and headed for bed. Breakfast was excellent as was service throughout from check in to check out. However the stained/dirty carpet throughout from our room upstairs in the old part and down to the dining room made the place seem a little tired in places. But this was of little interest to us when we returned to the spa after breakfast having checked out.

  • K Hall

  • May 2015

Not a very clean bathroom

The room itself was passable, a little jaded but I could cope with that, what was most unacceptable was the fact that the bathroom had black jelly like mould all over it, especially in the corners of the floor and around the stainless steel on the bath, we stayed for only 1 night but would never go again.

  • Julie Perry

  • April 2015

Amazing Break

We had a great stay at The Wild Pheasant, thank you so much.

The setting, hotel, spa and breakfast were all wonderful. I would love to come back.

  • S Thompson

  • March 2015

four in a bed

I do understand that mistakes happen and the hotel's was to double book my room, potentially embarrassing for the couple we walked in on and given that room access is electronic card reader, this should not be possible, I was given another room as though this was not a problem, I think it was.

Over a delicious dinner I did mention the double booked room and walking in on another couple to a member of staff and they said it wasn't the first time.

The hotel advertised that it has Wifi, it doesn't mention that this is only in parts of the hotel and not in the area of the hotel our room was in, when I questioned the lack of Internet access I was told that I should understand that they are in a remote location, I didn't know that this affected Wifi as it's internet access comes down the phone line. On the bright side breakfast was very good and the small pool and jacuzzi area are just the ticket to relax in before checking out, so relaxing we were 30 minutes late checking out and were fined £10 for late check out even though turn round staff had not reached our room, I do understand that this was an error on my behalf, however I don't see it as serious as the hotels error with double issue of room access cards. The £10 extra charge leads me to think that any way of increasing spend per customer comes before looking for repeat business.

  • JOHN R

  • March 2015

one night stay

No problems here.

Provided what I wanted for last minute trip. A bit more than I wanted to pay, but all I could find as there was event at Steam railway.

  • Graham Lewis

  • March 2015

3 star hotel with 5 star customer services and food

The staff were excellent, welcoming & professional.

Staff on reception were very helpful and offered me an upgrade at a very reasonable price. Room was clean, good towels although toilet paper was "thin". Lights blew in my room but staff responded immediately and solved the problem. My evening meal in the restaurant was exceptional, the lamb rump was as good as I have tasted and tender and the home made dessert fantastic. The only issue was the noise that came through the air conventing system which was intermittent but annoying through the early part of the morning.

  • ANDREW H

  • February 2015

Short break

My wife and I were returning guests to the Wild Pheasant having stayed a few times over the past few years.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the use of the spa gives the hotel that extra appeal. The only niggle was breakfast with the scrambled eggs being cold on service but they were quickly changed on request, maybe buffet style hot breakfasts as other hotels offer may keep foods piping hot until ready to eat by the customer not standing waiting for service.

  • J RYDER

  • February 2015

The Wild Pheasant Hotel

A lovely stay, let down by spa facilities.

Shower and toilet out of order, wooden sunloungers broken and mine actually collapsed, the cushions were stained and shapeless and quite revolting.

  • R Rayson

  • December 2014

Poor service poor value

I had booked online for 4 nights for £197 and my email stated that when you spend 3 nights you will receive 15% off.

We checked into the hotel late Monday afternoon and the receptionist was not very helpfull. She had me sign a piece of paper and that was it no information on anything at all. The Tuesday night we decided to have a meal in the bar area. The waitress was very lovely. Taylor I think her name was. She was a star. Our meals came out cold and she appologized to no end and took our meals back she then brought us fresh meals and said the desserts were on the house. The desserts also came out cold and she was kind enough to take them back too. Nothing was too much trouble for her. It then came to check out time on the Friday and I was expecting 15% off the £197 as it stated on my email. The receptionist that checked us in also checked us out. I showed her the email and she said abruptly that the 15% was already deducted from the price. I told her that this was not clear in the email and that I was expecting a cheaper stay. The value for money was not great at all. Small room, tiny shower, tv didn't even work, and for that price breakfast should be included. I work in a hotel myself and we deliver much more outstanding service than the wild pheasant did during our stay. I am very disappointed and doubt I would wasnt to stay again if I am honest. Very poor service and value for money

  • RW W

  • September 2014

Broken taps and cracked tiles, mould, don't take your shoes off until you climb into bed.

The bedroom was cheap, but for the price, I've stayed in clean rooms, the food and service, however,were absolutely excellent.

We were too tired to complain about the room, as we had driven 10 hours that day. Booked only for the spa, which was okay. Wife had a massage, and said it was very good. The sand in the spa was creepy.