No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tavistock Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street, , , Gunnislake, PL18 9BN
A long established venue, the Tavistock Arms is gaining a reputation for its restaurant and cuisine. The Restaurant has recently been refurbished maintaining the cosy feeling of a family run hotel, whilst providing an interesting and tasty menu. The bars are popular with an interesting selection of beers (we are a free house) as well as tea & coffee and the hotel is popular for locals and visitors. The hotel also caters for long-term residents, which help with the family feeling. We are pleased to cater for parties, weddings & other social occasions. The Tavistock Arms is owned by Robert & Audrey Hughes, and has been owned by the Hughes family for over 20 years. Our team of staff are commited to giving you the best service possible.
Picture of Tavistock Arms Hotel, Gunnislake at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this was a very pleasant experience! we were well looked after and the room was more than acceptable ! It was very convenient to the location of the wedding reception !Thanks Tavy Arms well done

Reviewed by
Peter French

From exmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tavistock Arms
We enjoyed our stay at this lovely old pub. It has a friendly and warm atmosphere, good food and drink. Would definately like to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Gill R

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay. Would defiantly stop here again. Friendly staff & locals made it.

Reviewed by
Lewis Nuttall

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tavistock Arms
Everything fine.....no complaints.......excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Phil Crosse

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not really customer facing
I'm a Chartered Quality Professional so am qualified to make observations on customer service.
Having had a week touring the west country and staying at a different guest house every night, the Tavistock Arms came last of the six.
Reasons:, very low key welcome, room was clean but smelt medicinal (even the bed linen) and the general tidiness of the site was poor.
Having said this, the beds were comfortable and breakfast well cooked and they seem to have a varied evening menu with a good selection of well kept beers.
Maybe that's where their focus lies!

Reviewed by
M Perry

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better!
Ordered a double room but were given a twin room and when questioned why was informed that is was the only one available even though this room was booked and paid for nearly 4 weeks in advance. When the Web site was checked it was still advertising vacancies. The bedding was clean but there were no mattress protectors on the beds. No hand towels just 2 bath towels.Tea and coffee facilities are not in the rooms but on the landing and only available at certain times. Under age teenagers sat on the stairs leading to the rooms and were noisy until gone 11 at night which would be annoying if the rooms were occupied by families with young children.The cooked breakfast was good but no cereals or toast were offered. The dining room could do with a revamp.

Reviewed by
sally m

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay!
Room was cold and couldn't find how to turn the radiator on.

Reviewed by
J Payne

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very accommodating and comfortable stay. Staff very friendly and approachable and will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Sunday Roast best I have ever had.

Reviewed by
Carol Dentandt

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Parking could be very difficult in the summer. Tavistock Arms very interesting place to stay with lots of history displayed around the pub. I thought the Tavistock Pub was actually in Tavistock but it was located about 5 miles away.

Reviewed by
r button

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a plesant experience!
we were very happy with our stay only comment was that the car parking arrangements were a bit tricky but every one was helpful and accommodating

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next