No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Barrows Green, , , Kendal, LA8 0AA
We are well situated for a visit to the Lake District. Whether it be a relaxing break away from home or a more energetic walking, climbing or cycling trip. Being just 3 miles from the M6 and even closer to Kendal, Windermere is about a 15 minute drive and Ambleside a further 10 mins. Oxenholme main line train station is just over a mile away. We are perfectly placed at the gateway to the lakes whatever the reason for your trip. We have a friendly team here (mostly family), and we really appreciate how lucky we are to live and work in such a beautiful part of the world, so feel free to ask any questions during your visit. If we don't know the answer we'll probably know a chap who does! Our rooms are a real home from home - cosy with a contemporary feel. No "strict" times for breakfast, so if your body needs a little extra rest then thats fine, have a late breakfast. All rooms have flat screen digital tv's, free unlimited wifi, super comfy luxury king size beds, quick boil kettles, soothing powerful showers, big fluffy towels, complimentary bottled water, complimentary cookies and even a complimentary bar of Kendal Mint Cake. Our rates include a Full English Breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice and hot drinks.
Picture of The Punch Bowl, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good staff very friendly
Room very good
Food the best very very good
Will stay here again and recommend to anybody

Reviewed by
John Pye

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Punch bowl Kendal
Very friendly staff, really could not do enough for us. Inn was very close to Kendal on the A65 and very easy to get in and out of. Rooms were just what we were looking for just to get away for a day. would book again if we were going to the same area.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Proper little Diamond
Right from the off when I walked in and was met by the landlord I knew that this would be one of them 'i'll certainly ask if there is vacancies tomorrow night too' (Never book 2 nights in advance) Shown to my room, the one you see in the picture, and it was lovely. All the usuals there in terms of condiments however specific instructions on how the coffee/tea maker would work for me. 20sec boil and place your cup here and... Kendal Cake (in case you want to tackle a 'hill' or two on your visit)
Loads of personability about the place with an A-Z of everything that is the Punch Bowl. Food was fantastic and I will certainly return. Two rooms only available no doubt sold most of the time. I have Dave's (bespectacled landlord's) phone number so I'm alright!!

Reviewed by
Brian Scott

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Stayed at the Punchbowl recently, it's a really lovely place.
Can not fault the bedrooms or the en-suite bathroom, spotless!
It rained the whole of our trip, but was totally worth it as we got to warm up by the fire :-D
Would go back again and will be recommending it to my friends.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth W

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome
Although I was late arriving 11pm I was still offered a sandwich if I had wanted.

Reviewed by
N Durham

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very accommodating with late arrival arrangements, attentive service, room clean and well appointed and lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We had a brilliant stay, Dave the owner was really friendly and he couldn't do enough for us, the accommodation was clean and tidy and quite modern, the pub itself is also a really friendly place and the food is fantastic.

Reviewed by
C Grieve

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find!
Looking on laterooms for couple of nights near Kendal - what a find! Everything excellent, room comfy and spotlessly clean, staff fantastic, nothing too much trouble and good breakfast. Very good value for money. Ate at night in the pub - great menu and delicious food! Would hesitate to stay again - already recommended to friends.

Reviewed by
I Smith

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
no complaints whatsoever - would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Tina P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort, courtesy and kindness.
Nice, comfortable, friendly, genuine staff and very good value. We hope we will go back.

Reviewed by
JOHN H

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next