No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Barrows Green, , , Kendal, LA8 0AA
We are well situated for a visit to the Lake District. Whether it be a relaxing break away from home or a more energetic walking, climbing or cycling trip. Being just 3 miles from the M6 and even closer to Kendal, Windermere is about a 15 minute drive and Ambleside a further 10 mins. Oxenholme main line train station is just over a mile away. We are perfectly placed at the gateway to the lakes whatever the reason for your trip. We have a friendly team here (mostly family), and we really appreciate how lucky we are to live and work in such a beautiful part of the world, so feel free to ask any questions during your visit. If we don't know the answer we'll probably know a chap who does! Our rooms are a real home from home - cosy with a contemporary feel. No "strict" times for breakfast, so if your body needs a little extra rest then thats fine, have a late breakfast. All rooms have flat screen digital tv's, free unlimited wifi, super comfy luxury king size beds, quick boil kettles, soothing powerful showers, big fluffy towels, complimentary bottled water, complimentary cookies and even a complimentary bar of Kendal Mint Cake. Our rates include a Full English Breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice and hot drinks.
Picture of The Punch Bowl, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay
From the minute we arrived to the time we left we was so well looked after, the accommodation is exactly what we expected, clean, comfortable. Dave and his family and staff do an excellent job running this Inn nothing is to much trouble his breakfast is to die for it kept us going all day until we returned early evening to dine with them the food choices are just perfect. We have already recommended their Inn to our family and friends.

Reviewed by
Ann Jauncey

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place, friendly staff, definitely recommend
Absolutely fab hotel, lovely hosts clean rooms very modern decor will be staying again

Reviewed by
Samantha Johnson

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great start ot our visit to the Lake District
Luxury room and nice touch to leave Kendal Mint Cake. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We ate in the pub for our evening meal, and food was really nice, huge portions. The road outside is busy, and did quieten at night, didnt bother us at all. There was a lovely atmosphere about the place and was run very well. Great location to explore Windermere Lake.

Reviewed by
D Dipietro

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place just to quietly stop
What a delight
A pub trying so hard to be different and succeeding
Lovely rooms, if a bit compace
Super service
Good pub food (and plenty of it)
Quiet
It really is establishing itself

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Lovely clean room. Wonderful shower with quality towels. Staff all really nice ,friendly and efficient.
Went for a walk across the road from the Inn up a hill which rewards you with a fantastic view for very little effort!
Breakfast excellent
Only drawback was my room was at the front which meant there was noise from passing traffic through the night

Reviewed by
D Stevens

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect couples retreat
This is not one to browse past whilst looking for that place you can feel rested, this is the one to book. Upon a late arrival from us we regretted that we hadn't got there sooner to enjoy it some more. Superb menu, amazing friendly welcome with every detail paid attention too, we just cannot fault them nor would we want to. Throughly enjoyed the A-Z guide in our relaxing room with humorous descriptions and heart felt words. The breakfast was fantastic. Great location close to Kendal and Windermere and easy access to get to other parts of the Lakes. This is a place we would book again, you would have no regrets staying here.

Reviewed by
A Atkinson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Punch Bowl
The host and staff were very friendly and made my wife and I very welcome. The room was superb, clean and met all our needs. The breakfast was first class. All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Punch Bowl and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Reviewed by
Ian Fraser

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Punch Bowl Experience
Our stay was short - only one night on our way to Manchester Airport. In spite of that, we received a warm welcome and felt comfortable and relaxed in our surroundings.
There was a wide choice of food on the menu; the quality was excellent and it was beautifully presented.
We would recommend the Punch Bowl as a great place for an enjoyable and a relaxed stay.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Made a late booking to allow another day in the Lakes. Great staff, very friendly, helpful and rightly proud of the place. Very nicely refurbished room. Good food. Would go again.

Reviewed by
David B

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gig at the Brewery
Spent a night at the punch bowl as we where going to a gig at the Brewery in Kendal. A few minutes drive from the centre of Kendal the Punch Bowl is a great place to start and finish your night decent food and great beer, what more could you ask for. A big suprise as we where not expecting the standard of room and will definately be back should another gig or event in Kendal come along.

Reviewed by
c dale

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next