No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Five Bells

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
108 BAYDON ROAD , NEWBURY, RG20 8HH
The Five Bells is a 17th Century traditional “Chocolate Box” Freehouse Inn in the rolling Berkshire countryside. Located 4 miles from Newbury. Steeped in charm and full of character, this lovely old inn has undergone a full refurbishment by the new owners in May 2012. We have four Ensuite doubles and one ensuite single rooms available.
Serving an ever changing selection of at least 9 of
the country’s finest Ales, some local, all well kept, some very unusual and
some old favourites, but we will only serve the best that Britain’s finest
brewers have to offer, making us THE destination real ale pub in West Berkshire
and probably further afield too.
Picture of The Five Bells, NEWBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Nice quiet room. Great shower. Good pub food and great cider.

Reviewed by
William D

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

End of our holiday
Lovely attentative staff both the young lady and gent behind the bar . Food was outstanding both plentiful and fresh and exellent value for money . Room was comfortable with an excellent shower (when i worked out how to use it). Great location , handy for the motorway and easy directions to the pub, Hope to be back next year.

Reviewed by
A EARLE

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a pub
We stayed here on the way back from visiting relatives in the area. My husband is a real ale fan and he wasn't disappointed! A fantastic choice of really different beers and a micro brewery being built. Fantastic value, smallish room but very clean and well equipped- nice new ensuite. Delicious food evening and breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend and we will almost certainly be back!

Reviewed by
Penny Jackson

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
The menu and choice of beers and cider was excellent, served by friendly and knowledgable staff. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. It was very hot when we stay which made the rooms under the thatch very warm at night but the staff gave us an electric fan and it was quiet enough to have the window open. Breakfast was great and the double yoke eggs were a bonus!

Reviewed by
Victoria Williams

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We were the only guests staying there,the service was good and the food was excellent
Would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
D Bradley

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Place
Really friendly Staff. Lovely room.

Reviewed by
Caroline P

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Just wanted a weekend get away and could not have found anywhere more perfect or more accommodating. Excellent value, extremely well ran, lovely homemade food and top marks for customer service.

Reviewed by
B Ward

From Shanklin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An ideal stopover .
We stayed at the five bells for two nights and found it an ideal place for a stopover . The food was good and the staff were very helpful . The 'locals' were also very friendly !! The only thing that we would have liked ( put it down to our age ) would have been a lounge type area but we enjoyed our time there regardless!

Reviewed by
gillian sheppard

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my review
very nice,i found my room to be very spacious and comfortable.i would go back

Reviewed by
tony hendley

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting. comfy bed, fabulous food, real ale. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Barbara O

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next