No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cumbria Park Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
32 Scotland Road , Carlisle, CA3 9DG
Located in a quiet suburb of Carlisle, just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, this family-run Victorian Hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking.

The property is composed from a series of old Victorian style terraces and is situated on the remains of an ancient Roman Fort. It prides itself on providing a homely atmosphere with friendly staff.

Each en-suite guestroom is individually decorated and furnished, emphasising comfort, relaxation and the importance of a good night’s sleep.

Diners at the Conservatory Restaurant can look forward to enjoying a freshly prepared meal made from the finest locally sourced produce. Light snacks are also available from the Lounge Menu.

It’s only 5 minutes from Junction 44 off the M6 making it the perfect base from which to explore such attractions as Carlisle Castle and Cathedral, Hadrian’s Wall, Gretna Green and the Lake District National Park.

Picture of Cumbria Park Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money. Nice quiet location. One of the comfiest clean rooms I've ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
P Long

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Décor very dated. Staff warm and friendly. Breakfast basic but pleasant, evening meal in the restaurant was good quality and very enjoyable. We was given a free upgrade on arrival .

Reviewed by
Heather F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
We had to move from our 'executive' room - a wedding party made the room intolerably noisy. We were moved to a 'superior' room...but the double glazed windows were draughty and let in noise from the main road...Staff and food excellent...rooms not good.

Reviewed by
John Davies

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haydn Review
I have stayed at this hotel many times and had good service, but this stay was far below standard.
1. Shower did not work very well and the controls know came of in your hands, I complained and the receptionist said she would get someone to come and look at it.
One hour I was still waiting but no one came due to delays with the maintenance man having to travel.
2.The bedroom window was locked and I was not able to open.
A bedroom is classed as a habitable room and has to be able to be opened for ventilation and means of escape I case of fire.
This was a serious Health and Safety issue which I pointed out to the receptionist.
3 The bed was not made up very wall.

Reviewed by
H Bannister

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel
The hotel was nice and clean, adequate to stay for the night. We didn't spend much time there but just used it as a base for a night in carlisle. The only thing I thought was a bit strange was the princess Diana photographs above the bed :/

Reviewed by
Angela D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Overall staff service good, clean accommodation, cooked breakfasts could be more appetizing

Reviewed by
James T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise
unfortunately when we arrived we were informed the room we had booked was unavailable due to a maintance problem. We were offered a suite which we accepted. An apology was made in advance for any disturbance we may occur as they had a wedding party. What we did not realise was that the suite was above the function room and very noisy. we were informed the music would stop at midnight. Which to be far it did. However following a 3 hour car journey starting a 6.30 am which we had to repeat the following day home we had hoped for a good nights sleep. By 12 midnight my head was banging

Reviewed by
lynda crawford

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice retreat
Very nice place with excellent staff and good location just outside the city

Reviewed by
S Stewart

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stop over en route from the highlands to kent
Nice clean room, could have done with a bathmat though, also very limited space between bed and wall on one side with a very wobbly wine table jammed in the gap as there was no room for a bedside cabinet.(room 144)
Didn't like the "plastic" sausage at breakfast
Staff were very helpfull

Reviewed by
C Palmer

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paid more than required for a very poor night
We arrived at the Cumbria Park Hotel at 7:45 pm, after a very long drive and a 15 hour day that involved moving 2 of our children into the local University. On arrival a harassed waitress was barked at to seat a waiting couple by, we presume, the head waiter as the restaurant was closing at 8 pm due to the wedding party. The waitress apologetically pointed us in the direction of the reception. Had she said follow the noise we would have found it as easily. A blaring disco was in full swing. On booking in we were told the restaurant would normally be open but was closing early due to the wedding party having catering preference over the other paying guests. We were told there was a 'good chippy' just down the road though - not what we wanted to hear after the day we had had. On enquiring as to how long the disco would continue to blare for we were told it would finish sometime around midnight. We asked if our room was situated away from the disco as it was the last thing we wanted to hear especially as we had requested a quiet room on our booking form. the receptionist assured us we should be far enough away not to be bothered by it. On entering our room we realised we were directly above the function room and that not only could we hear the disco we could in fact leave our bags on the floor and watch them vibrate their way across the floor! Back down to reception and after a brief exchange we were given an alternative room that although still not especially quiet was better than the original one. Given that we had booked a family room for three people we also had to request sufficient towels and cups so we each had one. We then showered and changed prior to having to go out to get a meal. Given how full the hotel car park was we dared not move our rental van in case we could not park again so walked a mile and a half to another restaurant. After a lovely meal we returned to the hotel exhausted and in need of a good night's sleep. The tropical temperature of the room and constant road noise however conspired against us and we had a restless night. Heat is obviously an issue in the room as a floor standing fan was provided but did little to alleviate the oppressive atmosphere. Some time after the disco finished we were then treated to the function room door banging closed for over 1.5 hours as the room was cleaned and reset for breakfast. On rising the following morning we went down to breakfast. At £7.50 per head we were expecting a large choice of fresh fruits, cereals,french breads and traditional full English breakfast goodies. What was on offer were tinned grapefruit and mandarin segments, prunes, rice krispies, cornflakes plus three mini danish pastries and a cooked breakfast that came from the value range and definitely not the extra special one. The coach party had been through and very little cooked food was available. The bacon had definitely been in the warming pan for some time and the hash browns were swimming in grease. Needless to say none of us ate very much at all. On booking out we asked to speak to the manager as we were not happy with the level of service we had received. The duty manager came to see us and filled out a form detailing our concerns. She was shocked the restaurant had closed at 8 pm the night before and not at 9.30 pm and could not believe we had not been offered any food at all. She was also shocked we had been allocated a room directly above the disco and said normal policy was to put guests attending the function above the function room and to move other guests away from the noise. She was very apologetic and said she could not authorise a reduction in the bill but that the hotel manger could and that he would be in touch within 24 hours. 48 hours later we are still waiting. Given that we chose this 'small family run, quiet hotel' over the local travel lodge as we believed we would get a better level of service and a more peaceful night we couldn't have been more wrong.The disappointing level of customer service during and since our visit mean we would not visit this establishment again.

Reviewed by
graham w

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next