No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cumbria Park Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
32 Scotland Road , Carlisle, CA3 9DG
Located in a quiet suburb of Carlisle, just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, this family-run Victorian Hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking.

The property is composed from a series of old Victorian style terraces and is situated on the remains of an ancient Roman Fort. It prides itself on providing a homely atmosphere with friendly staff.

Each en-suite guestroom is individually decorated and furnished, emphasising comfort, relaxation and the importance of a good night’s sleep.

Diners at the Conservatory Restaurant can look forward to enjoying a freshly prepared meal made from the finest locally sourced produce. Light snacks are also available from the Lounge Menu.

It’s only 5 minutes from Junction 44 off the M6 making it the perfect base from which to explore such attractions as Carlisle Castle and Cathedral, Hadrian’s Wall, Gretna Green and the Lake District National Park.

Picture of Cumbria Park Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exacttly as advertised, good clean single room.
warm reception , good food pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
R Collett

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the price
I don't want to be too harsh because basically my room was only £46, but it was a bit sparse. No wall decoration, a bedside table which was basically a stool covered in crumpled tablecloth and an old fashioned tele at the foot of the bed connected to dangling wires from a socket half way up the wall. The small bathroom had a small bath with an overhead shower that took 15 minutes to get to a useable temperature. There was a hair grip in the middle of the carpet so I'm assuming the room had not been vacuumed which always makes me wonder if anyone had bothered to change the sheets. Throughout the night there was a constant burping noise from some part of the hotel's plumbing.
I took advantage of the restaurant's £18 3 course meal deal which seems like a bargain but I guess you get what you pay for and I have to say I have had much better pub grub. I asked for a coffee and was offered a strong 'instant', which I declined, because apparently their coffee machine was broken. The staff however, were attentive and courteous and the ambience of the dining area is quite sweet.
I know I am 'picky' because I do like to stay in good quality accommodation so personally, I wouldn't rush to get back to the Cumbria Park, though as I said, it was ok for £46 I suppose. Like most establishments consolidating overheads, I suspect the hotel is slightly understaffed as there was only one harassed receptionist available at the morning check-out rush. Long queue, long wait to get away.

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay, nice hotel and endearing staff.
Very pleasant and well situated. Only few minutes from town and for a room looking onto the main road ours was quiet. It was a last minute booking but by no means a lower grade room. I would and certainly will return. One final point, what a comfortable bed!

Reviewed by
Ian Urquhart

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value Hotel
A great value hotel close to Carlisle centre, a good selection of rooms to choose from. Ideal for a overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
Room was very clean.
Decoration was very dated and the superior option was quite disappointing.
The bath and shower were very small and are in need of renovation. Noise could be heard from below including loud laughing up until around 11pm. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Dean B

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value but noisy with uncomfortable bed and not too great a breakfast
The hotel is reasonable value for what it is IF you can get a late rooms deal, but I don't think it's rack rate would be a fair price for my experience. I had a room at the front of the hotel, and like other reviewers found the traffic noise in the mornings to be really loud. Also, when my neighbour had a shower at 6am it seemed like I could hear every drop of water falling from the shower head - not ideal! Talking of showers, the water temperature was best described as warm, (sometimes tepid, sometimes slightly warmer than warm), but never hot, and always varying in temperature presumably as others in the hotel turned on their showers.
I found the bed to be uncomfortable, not particularly due to a fault with the bed itself, but because the hotel had chosen to put waterproof mattress protectors under the sheet that ruck up and form uncomfortable ridges to lie on.
The only meal I ate in the hotel was breakfast. The portion size and range of food in the 'Full English' was certainly adequate, but on both days my poached eggs had rock hard yolks and on one day my hash browns were virtually stone cold despite other items on the plate being steaming hot. To be fair the staff were more than willing to prepare fresh eggs and hash browns, but it shouldn't really have left the kitchen in that state in the first place.
On a positive note, it is a decent price with reasonable facilities and not too far from Carlisle city centre

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money. Nice quiet location. One of the comfiest clean rooms I've ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
P Long

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Décor very dated. Staff warm and friendly. Breakfast basic but pleasant, evening meal in the restaurant was good quality and very enjoyable. We was given a free upgrade on arrival .

Reviewed by
Heather F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
We had to move from our 'executive' room - a wedding party made the room intolerably noisy. We were moved to a 'superior' room...but the double glazed windows were draughty and let in noise from the main road...Staff and food excellent...rooms not good.

Reviewed by
John Davies

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haydn Review
I have stayed at this hotel many times and had good service, but this stay was far below standard.
1. Shower did not work very well and the controls know came of in your hands, I complained and the receptionist said she would get someone to come and look at it.
One hour I was still waiting but no one came due to delays with the maintenance man having to travel.
2.The bedroom window was locked and I was not able to open.
A bedroom is classed as a habitable room and has to be able to be opened for ventilation and means of escape I case of fire.
This was a serious Health and Safety issue which I pointed out to the receptionist.
3 The bed was not made up very wall.

Reviewed by
H Bannister

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next