No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Willows

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
72 LYNDHURST ROAD , SOUTHAMPTON, SO40 7BE
Large comfortable family home situated on the edge of the New Forest. All rooms are ensuite with Freeview TV, WiFi access, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryers.

Situated in Ashurst, the Gateway to the New Forest, this bed and breakfast is the ideal location for walking, cycling and wildlife. It is within easy reach of the M27, and Ashurst (New Forest) Railway Station, on the main line from London to Weymouth. Ashurst has a variety of pubs and restaurants, all within walking distance of The Willows. Cycle hire is available at the Happy Cheese pub and access to the New Forest is a short walk away.

Local transport and the New Forest Tour Bus (summer only) enables guests, without a car, to visit the many tourists attractions and villages within the New Forest.

Picture of The Willows, SOUTHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Very clean and friendly although room and en suite very small for a larger person. Very good value along with a good choice of breakfast including traditional full English.

Reviewed by
Mark Wright

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and location
The Willows is an excellent B and B and M ade very welcome by Jackie on arrival with a cup of tea and peice of cake. Comfortable room and good breakfast and would stay again when in the area.

Reviewed by
T F

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous little B&B
Arrived after a hard day on a course, it took me an hour to find it in the dark without proper instructions (entirely my fault). Immediately I was offered a cuppa, this was despite the fact that there was a lovely supply of drinks available in the room including bottled water. I asked for decaf coffee and was promptly brought up a cafetiere of fresh coffee and a sumptuous piece of cherry and chocolate chip cake. Great booklet with menus from local restaurants for an evening meal and what discounts were available to people staying at the Willows. None of them more than 10 mins walk away. The breakfast had some great choices along with home made preserves for the toast. Very friendly landlady who obligingly photocopied me a map that got me back to my course the next day in 10 minutes. Thank you so much.

Reviewed by
Sharon Bradbury

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful B&B with character
Along the busy A35 stretch of road through Ashurst lies a lovely B&B called The Willows. Having not learnt to drive yet, my fiancé and I opted to travel by train. The walk to the B&B was only half a mile and really easy to find. We met Jackie when we arrived and she treated us with respect and a friendly attitude. She showed us around the B&B and got us checked into our room while explaining about the local area and the running of breakfast.
The double room we booked was a good size, presented to us in immaculate condition and very comfortable. We had free wifi which was quite fast and a tv with freeview so we had lots of choice for programmes to watch if we got bored. The room itself felt classic but the modern ensuite helped to give an overall contemporary feel. Even though the A35 road is right outside the B&B you don't notice the noise once you get comfortable. With the B&B being a few miles from lyndhurst, it meant easy access to the New Forest and a range of ways to explore it.

Reviewed by
Christine Mitchell

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place and good facilities
Lovely accommodation and easy parking made for a really nice few nights away. I usually struggle to sleep in every place I stay however the bed was perfect for me and I slept better than most places in the first night. The breakfast was nice and the service was nice and quick. All things put together make a very nice place to stay and I'd be happy to stay again if I holiday in this area.

Reviewed by
William S

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little willows
immaculate, excellently equiped, and very nice to have as a base for exploring

Reviewed by
T BRITTAIN

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Little Willows
Enjoyed our stay at the new self catering apartment. Excellent facilities. We tried all the local places for food- all very good- nice to have discounts off the bills with the local discount card.
Very handy to have the village shops just a short walk away. Central position for visiting the New Forest and the coast is a short drive away. Overall an ideal place to relax.

Reviewed by
Sheila W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will be going back

Reviewed by
Matthew O'Riordan

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay which suited our needs for a local point to visit the new forest show.

Reviewed by
jane hanks

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
We stayed in the new self contained accommodation, and I must say it was perfect. Everything you needed was to hand, lovely bright room and a great location for exploring The New Forest. I would highly recommend Little Willows and we hope to come back and stay again sometime soon. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next