Reviews - The Gate Hangs High


Whichford Road, Hook Norton,, Banbury, OX15 5DF

Price From 150.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Dean Elliott

  • November 2015

The Gate Hangs High-Review

Terrific staff.

Made us feel very welcome from the outset. The room was very comfortable and both food and pub atmosphere was first class. Excellent value for money.

  • Kevin C

  • October 2015

1st stay and not the last.

I had a short notice appointment near Banbury and found this place via late rooms.

The cost of the room was not high, which does make you wonder what type of place it was going to be. However I found the room clean, and warm after a long drive there. I had my evening meal in the restaurant and was impressed with the linguini. The breakfast was good however the only downside was it started at 8.30. Maybe I could have asked for it to be earlier but didn't as my appointment was not till 9 so thought I had plenty of time.

The only downside of my stay was the mattress was a little old, or well used and had a ridge down the middle where people don't normally sleep. But if you stayed to one side it was OK. The room was fitted out for a disabled person which was OK, apart from in the bathroom. The room is a wet room and the drain for the sink flows across the floor to use the shower drain. Albeit only a short journey from exit to drain hole. Not the best really to stand in your used mouth wash as you shower.

However I would use the pub again I would just ask for a different room.

  • S Waterhouse

  • September 2015

The Gate Hangs High

A lovely setting and quiet location.

The room was very comfortable. There were problems with the bathroom floor tiles lifting and held down with black tape. The back of the bath behind the taps needed attention and was grotty. The plumbing systems in room 3 and room 4 are extremely loud. I was woken up by next door's bathroom at 1am and 4am - so not a great night's sleep!!!. Good breakfast and friendly service.

  • Martin Jowett

  • July 2015


Suitable for my purposes

  • Terence John

  • May 2015

Very friendly welcome

This appears to be family run and as such has a very friendly atmosphere from the moment that you step in the door.

All requests are answered with a smile and I have to say that the quality of the food for the price was excellent. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant and an excellent breakfast choice. This pub/restaurant/guest house is in a very quiet location so not the place to go to if you want busy local nightlife but excellent if you want a quiet and relaxing short stay. On the Sunday after we left we went to the village of Hook Norton on the way through to Chipping Norton and it has to be said that it is a beautiful village. Recommended.

  • M Cook

  • February 2015

Friendly owners, cozy atmosphere. Good food, excellent beer.

Arrived during a motorcycle rally, we were camping in the pubs grounds.

Although crowded in bar area, my partner and I were made to feel comfortable & welcome.Would book again or would go just to eat the excellent food. Had a very pleasant stay.

  • stephen h

  • December 2014

Homely and peaceful with a very nice breakfast

  • Patrick M

  • October 2014

nice spot - good food and beer

  • Roger McKone

  • September 2014

Well worth a Visit

Great place to stay, rest and eat.

Service, drink and food excellent, accommodation very good but not excellent (some refurbishment?) but overall fine. Great stepping off point for exploring the area. Would choose to stay here again.

  • Roy M

  • September 2014

The Gate Hangs High

Accomodation block behind the pub was very comfortable, well equipped and clean.

Plenty of parking and Wi-Fi in the bar area. Food was generally ok. Had steak and chips on the second night but the chips were so heavily salted that I could not eat them. When I pointed this out they didn't offer a fresh portion - just knocked the chips off the bill, leaving me hungery after having half a meal.