No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rock and Bowl Hostel

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
22 NELSON STREET , BRISTOL, BS1 2LA

In a huge 1930's building in the heart of Bristol you'll find our hostel, the Lanes and the GimmeShelter Vintage shop all in one! Situated on the top two floors of this historic building in the city centre, our backpackers hostel is a great base for your stay in the city.

General Information
* Earliest check-in is 15:00 - you can arrive earlier and use the facilities if necessary
* Identification required at check-in - only UK drivers' licence, passport or identity cards accepted
* Check-out is strictly before 12:00

Picture of The Rock and Bowl Hostel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got what I paid for.
This was my first stay in a hostel & will probably be my last. Really missed the privacy most that ensuite provides but for what I paid - £18 for 1 night -have no real complaints.

Reviewed by
Heather H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute budget accommodation
Good for the price

Reviewed by
eustas c

From hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for 1 night as we were going to a music event, which happened to be in the club downstairs. The hostel common rooms ard spacious with plenty of seating. Smoking balcony overlooks the club courtyard So you get a great vibe. As a consequence some of the rooms can be noisy. No facilities in the rooms but beds were very comfortable. Check out by 12 which was great as as its not easy packing with a hangover! ! Top place to stay on a budget. Will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Michelle H

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not going back nor will recommend
the staff is really friendly, toilet slightly below average...spacious communal area provided with books and board games...
in general, the accommodation give us an insecure feeling.(there is a no drugs sign in the toilet which we have never seen it in the toilet in other hostels)...there was loud music from pub next door at midnight...which sucks because we planned to sleep early and walk around bristol in the morning...however we end up too tired and didnt see much...

Reviewed by
T LEE

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not cleaned

Reviewed by
sara d

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hostel accomodation
I stayed in a four bed mixed dormitory with one other male occupant. There are definitely no frills here but the accommodation was clean, comfortable and it worked for me. Security was adequate but a padlock would secure the under-bed locker.
Showers were great, located on the next floor up. Entry to other areas is by crypt-tag encoded for your room.
I was informed prior to making the booking that this was located in a student area and was pre-warned about the noise. I accordingly took ear plugs so this didn't present a problem.
Staff were very helpful.
Whilst it would be wrong of me to recommend this hostel to all-comers it represents good value accommodation to those who are prepared to accept hostel life.

Reviewed by
jeff h

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd happily stay here again

Reviewed by
Katrina B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Bowled' over by the Rock and Bowl Hostel!
This is a hostel I would really recommend. I have not stayed in a hostel for about 5 years and I was initially apprehensive but I'm so glad I did!
The hostel is clean, spacious, in a very central location to Bristol's City Centre and the staff are incredibly friendly. One staff member (Magdalena) greated me with the most warming friendly smile upon meeting her (despite having done a night shift). She was a credit to the hostel.
The dormitories were clean and comfortable, there were numerous shower facilities and the kitchen space was great.
I met a group of cool backpackers on my first night who invited me out (completely at random) to listen to a live band playing and to a night club. After dancing until the early hours, I returned blissfully satisfied about my first stay in this marvellous city.

Reviewed by
David Beall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great hostel - great location, friendly staff, clean room and good facilities all for a very reasonable price...what more could you ask for? thank you

Reviewed by
Katherine Bradbury

From Exeter Uni, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Of course you get what you pay for and in this instance, all I needed was a bed for the night. The facilities are really basic and I would say that certain areas of the accommodation are in need of repair.

Reviewed by
R Cockshott

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next