No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Farthingloe B&B

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Great Farthingloe Farm, Folkestone Road, , Dover, CT15 7AA
The 10 guest bedrooms are all individually decorated with an emphasis on comfort and country style. Each room has lovely views of the surrounding country with deep set window sills and some still have working Georgian shutters. The sitting room and the attractively decorated dining room are available for guests to use at any time of day. There are chairs in the garden and guests are welcome to relax under the trees and enjoy the scenery.?? There have been farms and dwellings on this site since before the Doomsday Book. The present house is believed to be 1790’s in origin with some intriguing tales. We have a helipad and ample room for large vehicles including horseboxes and for exercising horses. Secure parking for cars and larger vehicles. Leave your car whilst on a cruise at £3.50 per day Known as the gateway to England, Dover welcomes millions of visitors from all over the globe every year. Explore Dover's rich heritage. The first “Cross Channel Ferry” was discovered here in 1992. The Bronze Age Boat is now on permanent display at the Dover Museum. Discover where the Dunkirk evacuation was masterminded from within the secret tunnels of the majestic Dover Castle. Come and see where the Romans lived in the well preserved remains of the Roman Painted House. For a breath of fresh air explore and wander along the famous White Cliffs and follow the path to the Lighthouse where Marconi made his first radio transmission. You can enjoy fantastic, breathtaking views from the top of the cliffs. This ‘iconic’ stretch of coastline has been voted Britain’s favourite and are a welcome sight to millions of travellers.
Picture of Farthingloe B&B, Dover at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
A wonderful house and surroundings. We had a lovely double bedroom with a bathroom - beautifully furnished and very spacious.
Owners are very warm and nice people.
We enjoyed our stay a lot.
Also - very good access to Dover - frequent buses or just few minute drive by car.

Reviewed by
Anna K

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning house in an odd location. Convenient for our weekend sightseeing.

Reviewed by
Melissa B

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Very nice location, in the country but closer to Dover. Looked after very well.

Reviewed by
L Stephens

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Farthingloe Review
I loved this bed and breakfast. The owners were wonderful and very friendly. I would recommend this B&B for anyone that is going to Dover to getaway from it all!

Reviewed by
Brenda H

From USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome on arrival,including a well received cup of tea! clean and comfortable room although bed was on the soft side. paid for b&b but had to catch early ferry so we were given handy packup which was nice,would stay again

Reviewed by
D Shaw

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting house with interesting history. Convenient for touring the area. Owners very friendly and welcoming, but seem to watch guests every move. No locks on bedroom doors! Room not cleaned during the day. Returned to damp towels, untouched bathroom, bins not emptied and bed not made. We felt it was overpriced for service received.

Reviewed by
Kathleen P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely find
While the access road is a little strange, the house and gronds are lovely and the hosts very attentive without being overly so. Nice to be greeted with tea and homemade cake. Room nice and bed very comfortable. Breakfast great. Location in a valley is quiet but only 5 mins out of Dover. Excellent location.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Friendly Welcome- Homecooked Food- Fantastic House
We arrived substantially earlier than expected but we were welcomed in and sat down to a cup of fresh coffee and homemade cake, they immediately accommodated us with an early check in even though we didn't ask, and there was no charge for this as in other hotels/bnb's, the house is great nicely tucked away from the road but only a few miles form the town centre.
Room was excellent and comfy and breakfast was fantastic with a wide range of food from cooked to cereals and breads etc, the owners are so friendly and will bend over backwards to keep you happy. the shared bathroom wasn't an issue as its all clean and modern. would definitely stay again, Best Value in area, you get more than you pay for here!

Reviewed by
thomas h

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location just out of town, but easy to get around
We travelled with a dog. He was welcomed at this place. He had place to run freely in the garden. The location suited us, just out of town with possibility of taking the bus. Possibility for walking starting at the door of the B&B. Very helpfull owners.

Reviewed by
Frederik S

From Hasselt, Belgium
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful welcome in a beautiful location!
After a damp and busy drive from Leeds to the ferry we were looking for somewhere functional to spend the night. What a surprise we had when we were greeted by such friendly people here!
Great location and good conversation was had in beautiful surroundings. Lovely, clean room and tasty breakfast in the morning. The next time we head to the continent we'll definitely stay here on the way!

Reviewed by
Ruth S

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.