No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bulls Head Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4 MILL STREET , CONGLETON, CW12 1AB
The Bull's Head is an archetypal town centre tavern - welcoming, popular and lively. Its impressive size has allowed a feeling of 'two pubs in one' with a more traditional feel to the front, whilst the rear offers a more contemporary setting where you can enjoy a wide array of drinks.

Typically representative of a quality inn, the Bull's Head also offers accommodation with 11 en-suite guest rooms available for long or short stays, at competitive prices.

Adjacent to the main pub is the Bridestone suite, an impressive function room capable of catering for all occasions including weddings, birthdays and corporate events.

The Bull's Head offers:
•Selection of lagers
•Wine by the bottle
•Selection of freshly brewed coffees
•Attractive function room
•11 en-suite bedrooms

**** Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day no breakfast will be served at the hotel ****
Picture of Bulls Head Hotel, CONGLETON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful
The room had obviously seen better days about 20 years ago and it would have been nice to have a window or a bathroom door that shut. It was very odd to read a sign saying not to drink the tap water and there was a stain on one of the bed sheets. The customer service didn't really exist but on the upside there were plenty of tea and coffee supplies in the room

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

road noise!!
I stayed in room 101,not a great start,considering the bulls head is a public house,I arrived at 10.20 and the place was closed,had to phone up to get in,roo clean but dated,road noise from 6am unbearable,one of the windows had a broken catch and had been screwed shut....i don't think I'll be staying again

Reviewed by
pat d

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory pub accomodation for short visit
Good welcome from bar staff. En-suite double room was showing signs of age as was the decor in the corridors surrounding. However was comfortable enough for a short stay and Congleton has many pubs, bars and restaurants in the evening. Not the Bull's Head though which was shut up and in darkness at 10.20 when we called back for a last drink. Breakfast was basic but adequate and did not leave you hungry. Price was more than you would pay at a Premier Inn or Travelodge if booked in advance and really speaking the accomodation did not quite warrant it.

Reviewed by
J Scholes

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little or no customer service and poor cleanliness
Room was of a good size with ample amenities (tv, kettle, hair dryer etc). However there were patches of mould on the ceilings and walls, with the bathroom being particularly unclean. Staff seemed unengaged and we were basically told not to walk through the pub itself but to keep ourselves to a 24hour access door which led to the carpark via a dingy staircase. At no point did we feel welcomed and we certainly didnt feel safe to leave the room during the night. Breakfast was very basic, not bad food but highly unorganised

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in the center of town
Good if you like it loud as is above the pub and on a main road, we found it very noisy
And you can NOT drink the tap water ?

Reviewed by
M Ward

From Matlock, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bulls Head
Nice place and good breakfast but, sadly, the landlord was leaving after 20 years in the pub some two days later.

Reviewed by
J Ivins

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget room
Hotel really dated could do with major overhaul but the room was a good size everything worked and we just needed a bed for one night so cannot really complain. We did not eat there so cannot comment on quality of food. Disco night is loud and noisey and expect the usual fights when its over but it did not go on for too long and as we had been at a party and got back late it was not much of an issue.

Reviewed by
Christine A

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disturbing
When we booked for a Saturday night stay, it advertised that they had Discos only on Friday nights. When we paid the bartender in cash, he put the money in his pocket and not the till. He asked us if we wanted breakfast, we said yes, and he charged us £5 each, then told us breakfast start at 10am. We told him we had to leave by 8am, and he shoved the £10 note back with a grudge. He then put us in the room right above the disco dancing floor, and the music boomed away, we not only heard the really loud music and drumming, we felt the floor and the bed shaking. After the music finished at 2am, the drunkards started frighting and smashing bottles just outside out windows, and it went on till 3am. The next morning we left early, and had a very good breakfast two doors away in Wetherspoons for only £2.60 each at 7.30am.

Reviewed by
Belinda N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bulls head ...breakfast !! what breakfast ???
bulls head was a very convenient location as we were at a wedding in the next street .the room was clean tidy and well kept and we had a good nights sleep HOWEVER the next morning we were told breakfast would be at 10 then we were told 9 ,either time far too late .....as we had already paid for breakfast I asked for refund on it as by 9.30 the cook still hadn't appeared .. he then did appear in a slightly worse for wear state ,when I asked for refund he grumbled complaining he hadn't got to bed till 5 ,couldn't see how this was my problem !!! Room was very good suggest you avoid the breakfast though !!

Reviewed by
william scott

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night
We stayed on a Saturday night and there is a disco until approx 2 a.m. So was rather noisy, but we were warned beforehand so did not bother us. The rooms were very tired and dated but quite clean. The beds were very comfortable that was the main thing, the landlord was very helpful.

Reviewed by
Sue F

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next