No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bulls Head Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4 MILL STREET , CONGLETON, CW12 1AB
The Bull's Head is an archetypal town centre tavern - welcoming, popular and lively. Its impressive size has allowed a feeling of 'two pubs in one' with a more traditional feel to the front, whilst the rear offers a more contemporary setting where you can enjoy a wide array of drinks.

Typically representative of a quality inn, the Bull's Head also offers accommodation with 11 en-suite guest rooms available for long or short stays, at competitive prices.

Adjacent to the main pub is the Bridestone suite, an impressive function room capable of catering for all occasions including weddings, birthdays and corporate events.

The Bull's Head offers:
•Selection of lagers
•Wine by the bottle
•Selection of freshly brewed coffees
•Attractive function room
•11 en-suite bedrooms

**** Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day no breakfast will be served at the hotel ****
Picture of Bulls Head Hotel, CONGLETON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AWLFUL STAY
We stayed here on Valentines night, and the hotel was awful. We was taken by the trademans entrance with graffiti! The room was filthy, had hair in sink, and also in the bath. The bed is rock hard, my boyfriend has a split disc and he was in so much pain with the hard mattress. The pillow cases had yellow staines on and they smelt. The fire alarm went off 6 times during the night, no chance of sleeping. We couldnt see a member of staff when it went off, didnt know if it was a fire drill or a real thing. Wasnt told by receptionist how to contact anyone in an emergency. Overall this b and b is awlful and I dont recommend staying here. This hotel was recommended by my boyfriends mother, who stayed there before. well what can I say, chose another hotel.

Reviewed by
Giovanna C

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Excellent value for money. Very friendly although as I am from Congleton (I now live in Scotland) I know some of the people working there. Food is very good particularly the breakfast and highly recommend it particularly if you like a large breakfast.
A negative point is that the room I was in was a little dated and in need of a refresh although I understand the current owners are new and took over what was a run down pub/hotel. The pub are has already had a full refurbishment. These thing do take time. Will definitely stay again particularly as it is very convenient for the town centre.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Stay
You could hear the disco quite clearly, but to be fair they advertise that it will happen and they do finish when they say they will.
It is not luxury but for my stay (visiting family in Congleton over Christmas, which is by no means a holiday location IMHO) it provided everything I needed. The staff were pleasant, polite and helpful and the room was clean, a comfortable temperature and the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
Selwyn Owen

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location, cosy and friendly service
This was my first night away from my daughter and hubbie visiting relatives so I was nervous as a lone traveller. The manager was really helpful and put me at my ease. I had an evening meal which was nice but a huge portion. Had a comfy sleep and bathroom was clean and fine. A good value hotel in a great location. I would definitely go back when visiting my family.

Reviewed by
Wendy F

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just avoid!!!
Dreadful accommodation and customer service ~ will never re visit!! br />Dirty, ceiling peeling, pillows are mega foldable:( windows don't open, stinks of fust bath handle broken and music bouncing the floorboards until 3am ~ avoid!!! lots of rebels outside and police activity staff very unhelpful ~ even sent me into a toilet with no loo roll when cleaning?? just pathetic really!!

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally OK although a little dated and tired. Is OK if using as a base to work from.

Reviewed by
David M

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful
The room had obviously seen better days about 20 years ago and it would have been nice to have a window or a bathroom door that shut. It was very odd to read a sign saying not to drink the tap water and there was a stain on one of the bed sheets. The customer service didn't really exist but on the upside there were plenty of tea and coffee supplies in the room

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

road noise!!
I stayed in room 101,not a great start,considering the bulls head is a public house,I arrived at 10.20 and the place was closed,had to phone up to get in,roo clean but dated,road noise from 6am unbearable,one of the windows had a broken catch and had been screwed shut....i don't think I'll be staying again

Reviewed by
pat d

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory pub accomodation for short visit
Good welcome from bar staff. En-suite double room was showing signs of age as was the decor in the corridors surrounding. However was comfortable enough for a short stay and Congleton has many pubs, bars and restaurants in the evening. Not the Bull's Head though which was shut up and in darkness at 10.20 when we called back for a last drink. Breakfast was basic but adequate and did not leave you hungry. Price was more than you would pay at a Premier Inn or Travelodge if booked in advance and really speaking the accomodation did not quite warrant it.

Reviewed by
J Scholes

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little or no customer service and poor cleanliness
Room was of a good size with ample amenities (tv, kettle, hair dryer etc). However there were patches of mould on the ceilings and walls, with the bathroom being particularly unclean. Staff seemed unengaged and we were basically told not to walk through the pub itself but to keep ourselves to a 24hour access door which led to the carpark via a dingy staircase. At no point did we feel welcomed and we certainly didnt feel safe to leave the room during the night. Breakfast was very basic, not bad food but highly unorganised

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next