Reviews - Temple Farmhouse B&B


Temple Farm Swinithwaite, Leyburn, DL84UJ

Price From 167.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Nicola T

  • July 2015

Temple Farm review

Temple Farm, is a beautiful farmhouse, that has been sensitively restored by its owners Chris and Dawn.

The house and garden are lovely. Chris is an excellent host. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable.

  • M Plant

  • June 2015

Historic Farmhouse

A peaceful location and amazing views from our spacious bedroom.

We woke up to the smell of baking bread and the breakfast was fresh, plentiful and tasty.

  • Zoe H

  • April 2015

Perfect weekend break

Could not fault Chris & Dawn at all.

The rooms and food were lovely and the recommendations for places to visit were great.

  • Andrea S

  • March 2015

I have got to be honest here!!!

Sadly neither my partner or I rated this B and B.

A beautiful magnificent house and a pleasant owner but our experience could not be compared to previous reviews. Into the driveway we thought we'd made a wrong turn. our first impression was one of neglect and sadly this continued inside. Entering the front door we were first met by a room with a head high room partition, like from open plan offices, we could see junk poking it's head up above. Into the hallway we saw a dirty looking towel on the floor in front of the door at the bottom of the stairs. Up the stairs the shabbiness continued, everything looked tired. But the thing that really upset us was the smell, a heavy smell a combination of damp, chemicals, rotting, mothballs. We did consider moving to another B and B but lack of money made us stay. We tried to laugh it off as an experience but that was hard as we'd looked forward to this break for some time, in fact I was in tears over dinner in Leyburn, as I knew I'd not get much sleep in this environment. The one thing that I did really enjoy though was sitting on the window seat for several hours looking out at the beautiful view and wondering about how many people had sat where I'd sat over the centuries. I feel mean writing this but I'm doing it because I don't want other people to have to go through what we experienced and I want the owners to give their business some well over due TLC. Get rid of the junk and clutter, find out what's causing the horrendous damp smell, give your home some love, get rid of the towel get a draft excluder, get rid of the cracked falling to pieces plant pots where you park cars. I adore rustic, shabby chic, traditional farm houses don't get me wrong but this property feels neglected and is in desperate need of some attention.

  • Janine K

  • March 2015

Great atmospheric farmhouse

  • Nick B

  • December 2014

Lovely farmhouse B&B in the Dales

Very friendly couple, nice room, quaint free-standing roll-top bath.

Rooms were kept nice and warm though it was freezing outside.

Minor niggle, the cobbled yard and entrance way are quite uneven if you're either unsteady on your feet or it's dark.

  • P Poels

  • October 2014

Beautiful region.

Good for long walks through the fields. Very friendly owners of the farmhouse. Delightful meals for breakfast. The only minor point was the noise of the traffic. The house is situated very close to the road, so we had to close our window.

  • Craig Bartle

  • June 2014

A wonderful stay at a fantastic B&B!

My wife and I stayed here on 20 June 2014 and we couldn't have been happier.

Couldn't fault anything. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, Our room was large and comfortable with access to a lovely bathroom including roll top bath. We slept very well in a very comfortable bed and got up to a lovely breakfast, served up on a large kitchen table exactly to our liking including freshly brewed coffee and fresh home cooked bread. As a vegetarian, I was especially pleased to be offered veggie sausages as a breakfast option too. We stayed with my mother and father in law who also thought this was one of the nicest B&Bs they've stayed in. Thanks for a great stay, I hope we'll be back again sometime. Don't think twice, just book a room.

  • Carmen C

  • May 2014

Have no hesitation in booking this wonderful guesthouse.

Looking for a night away, we went for the pin-in-the-map strategy: the right look for the right price and a nice location we'd not yet visited.

And so we came to booking a night at the Temple Farm Guesthouse in Leyburn. What a find. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted by our extremely genial host who showed us through his wonderfully well-appointed house to a beautiful and very spacious room with a gorgeous wooden bedstead and very well-stocked tea & coffee making facilities. Across the corridor was the room's private bathroom and I can honestly say that I've stayed in bedrooms that were smaller than the bathroom alone. The polished wooden floor was the perfect setting for the free-standing roll-top bath. At breakfast, after a wonderful night's sleep, we made our way down to the farmhouse kitchen where our host prepared a delicious and very substantial breakfast and we joined other guests at the central kitchen table. A wonderful way to feel like a true guest. All in all it was a fantastic guesthouse that exceeded all our expectations and we would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Temple Farm to anyone visiting the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

  • Kenneth Allen

  • March 2014

Walking in Wenslydale

Wenslydale is a beautiful part of the Yorkshire dales a perfect place for country side walks.

Temple Farm house is a good place to stay after a long day's walk, very comfortable and clean with an excellent breakfast in the large kitchen of an old charismatic building.