Reviews - The Royal Britannia Hotel


The Harbour, Ilfracombe, Ilfracombe, EX349EE

Price From 104.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John G

  • November 2015

Amazing Views

We stayed in a double room overlooking the harbour, absolutely amazing - shame that we had to check out of the room by 12.00!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • John d

  • September 2015

Wouldn't choose again

Room was very dirty / dusty, we were moved to a cleaner room

  • William T

  • August 2015

Not what I expected

The room was large and basically clean and the bed was large and a was a four poster as sold, but it was very tired looking decor wise and the toilet in particular not the modern shiny temple of clean I would expect for the price we paid.

Best thing definitely the bay window with a great position over the harbour. In general not the modern boutique hotel I had anticipated at the room rate. Basically a seaside pub with a handful of old fashioned rooms. Would have been fine at 50 quid a night budget prices but not at the near 100 pounds with breakfast not included.

  • Jolanta W

  • June 2015

just nice and friendly :)

Lovely warm style room, modern bathroom

  • Robert G

  • March 2015

Highly recommended

The staff at this hotel are extremely inviting and will do all they can for you.

Just ask and if they can they will. I think we must have been upgraded as our room had a beautiful four poster and views off the harbour. I wish we'd stayed longer.

  • d williams

  • February 2015

a little dated but what should you expectt from an old building visited by Nelson?

The hotel was clean, adequate for our needs and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The rooms were a little tired and dated but it is an old building so they are limited to what they can do., The stair carpet has seen better days but was clean. Not particularly cheap at £59 per room without breakfast but but right in the harbour area. But all the hotel were around this price and from looking at the outside not much better.

  • Anne O

  • February 2015

Great stay

Only a one night stay, upgraded from a standard room on arrival to lovely room overlooking the harbour, large room , four poster bed.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, food good and freshly made, over all very enjoyable stay would stay here again.

  • Raymond Hogarth

  • February 2015


Arrived late the weather was really cold but the Britannia was warm and welcoming.

I awoke early the next day and was surprised to be able to get a great cup of coffee at the bar and decided to have a good look around. WOW what a great location overlooking the harbour and right in the middle of things. Went to the theatre on the second night to see my granddaughter in Grease what a treat. We all went back to the hotel to celebrate. I have travelled and stayed all over Britain and have rearly been so relaxed and had such a pleasurable stay. Britannia rules. !!!

  • J Bodman

  • February 2014

Great Stay at the Royal Britannia Hotel , On arrival we were given a free upgrade to the Lord Nelson Room, we had a King sized four poster bed and a view it the harbour lovely room which made our stay extra special.

Decided to have breakfast at the hotel on the sunday morning, very nice breakfast and friendly staff. Would recommend the hotel to others