No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grapevine Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Grapevine Hotel, Sheep Street , Stow on the Wold, GL54 1AU
The Grapevine Hotel is set in the historic market town of Stow-on-the-Wold, amid the warm honey coloured Cotswold stone buildings and rolling countryside, this 17th Century hotel has become justly renowned for its warm hospitality and fine dining.

Named after the ancient vine that shades the hotel’s Conservatory restaurant (the second oldest indoor grapevine in the land, over 110 years old), The Grapevine Hotel also has 22 individually furnished bedrooms, La Vigna Brasserie and the Gigot Bar.

Stow on the Wold is a thriving town and the Grapevine is the perfect base for exploring the best of the Cotswolds.
Picture of Grapevine Hotel, Stow on the Wold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

December 2014.
All staff very helpful. Food very good. Nice ambience. Room comfortable. Old building with plenty of character. Bath with over-the-tap shower but no shower curtain (Room 8) so if you shower floor will get wet. Some blown light bulbs in room. Minor poinrs made more relevant by the high standard of everything else.

Reviewed by
A Clark

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Winter Break
Booked this hotel last minute, as let down by other accommodation in the area. We love Stow on the Wold and this hotel is well placed for shopping, eating and relaxing. Good access to other Cotswold towns as well. Staff were polite. Room was very comfortable and well provided for. Breakfast choices were excellent.

Reviewed by
R Bowers

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and accommodation...
Beautiful accommodation and accommodating friendly staff. I would highly recommend ...

Reviewed by
Judy T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend experience
My wife and I arrived mid afternoon on Saturday. As we didn't know how to access the car park, we had to speak to the receptionist who gave us directions. The car park entrance was in a parallel road. The receptionist, like all the staff, was very helpful. The room was above the bar. It had a low ceiling in keeping with the houses in the Cotswolds. However it was clean and adequate for our visit. We enjoyed a great meal in a small bistro opposite the hotel. In the morning we experienced the setting for breakfast. It was lovely with the glass roof covered on the inside by the grapevine from which the hotel derives it's name. The English breakfast was piping hot, having been cooked to order. We really enjoyed our short stay and look forward to returning soon.

Reviewed by
C Gill

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Tired
Prime location - great for visits to Bourton on the Water and Bicester Outlet Shopping. However, the hotel needs to up its game, the room was a little tired (especially the carpet ) and grubby (especially the windowsills). Service in the Grapevine Restaurant is not consistent - 45 minutes is rather a long time to wait for your main course and. a full English breakfast was brought to the table before yogurt and fruit were finished the next morning. The hotel is priced at the top end of the market but does not fully deliver.

Reviewed by
B Scott

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dinner Time?
Having spent a while chatting and discussing the menu given to us as we came into the restaurant area with my other half we were ready to order. The waiter was quick to come over since it was not too busy. Then quickly pointed out we were using the wrong menu! We were then given another menu to start all over again. When we did finally choose our order we had a hard time attracting the attention of the few staff that were there.
Not a very good dining experience but then I guess if your staying somewhere like Stow you can always eat out...I would.

Reviewed by
Robert L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Weekend...Fabulous location...a warm and welcoming hotel,with friendly staff .Amazing food
Had a warm and friendly welcome
Greated by Friendly welcoming staff....Excellent room...fabulous bathroom with excellent quality of toiletries.
Beautiful location a great place to stay....amazing food and service
Great weekend break
Look forward to returning .

Reviewed by
Julie R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel in a fantastic position
The superior room we stayed in was beautiful, lovely décor and furniture. The room was very spacious with a very good bathroom, a double sink and a very good powerful shower. My husband my 12 year old son had a lovely 2 night stay here. The breakfast was very good even offering us a vegetarian choice with veggie sausage on the menu. The only down side we had that the person serving in the bar was not very friendly and on the 2nd night of our stay he turned the music and the lights off even though we were still sitting there half way through our drinks at about 10.45pm. We found this extremely rude not to even say anything about closing.

Reviewed by
Lisa White

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
The hotel has a nice cosy feel but needs a little TLC, a coat of paint and some cleaning due to condensation windows wouldn't go amiss. The shower and sink had very little power and drizzled out. Staff very helpful however during a busy breakfast morning with only two people serving was quite poor. Tables were left uncleared, which is not vey appealing. The traditional breakfast was rather greasy too. It sounds quite negative but these things could be rectified very easily. I would recommend with prior warning of expectations.

Reviewed by
Stuart T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grapevine hotel - stow-on-the-wold
Really nice room with elegant furnishings and high quality bathroom.
We didn't have an evening meal although the breakfast was first class.
Would recommend this hotel. Location was quiet, on-site parking and within 200yards of the town centre square.

Reviewed by
Graeme L

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next