Reviews - Grapevine Hotel


Grapevine Hotel, Sheep Street, Stow on the Wold, GL54 1AU

Price From 239.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • M laight

  • March 2015


Very pleasant staff hotel lovely food very nice had a wonderful time

  • Roy Briscoe

  • March 2015

A gem in the Cotswolds

We found the Grapevine to be exactly what we wanted.

A warm welcome. Friendly and efficient staff. A very nice room and bathroom . Good food well served

We could not want anything more.

  • A Clark

  • December 2014

December 2014.

All staff very helpful.

Food very good. Nice ambience. Room comfortable. Old building with plenty of character. Bath with over-the-tap shower but no shower curtain (Room 8) so if you shower floor will get wet. Some blown light bulbs in room. Minor poinrs made more relevant by the high standard of everything else.

  • R Bowers

  • December 2014

Short Winter Break

Booked this hotel last minute, as let down by other accommodation in the area.

We love Stow on the Wold and this hotel is well placed for shopping, eating and relaxing. Good access to other Cotswold towns as well. Staff were polite. Room was very comfortable and well provided for. Breakfast choices were excellent.

  • Judy T

  • October 2014

Excellent service and accommodation...

Beautiful accommodation and accommodating friendly staff.

I would highly recommend ...

  • C Gill

  • May 2014

Weekend experience

My wife and I arrived mid afternoon on Saturday.

As we didn't know how to access the car park, we had to speak to the receptionist who gave us directions. The car park entrance was in a parallel road. The receptionist, like all the staff, was very helpful. The room was above the bar. It had a low ceiling in keeping with the houses in the Cotswolds. However it was clean and adequate for our visit. We enjoyed a great meal in a small bistro opposite the hotel. In the morning we experienced the setting for breakfast. It was lovely with the glass roof covered on the inside by the grapevine from which the hotel derives it's name. The English breakfast was piping hot, having been cooked to order. We really enjoyed our short stay and look forward to returning soon.

  • B Scott

  • April 2014

A Little Tired

Prime location - great for visits to Bourton on the Water and Bicester Outlet Shopping.

However, the hotel needs to up its game, the room was a little tired (especially the carpet ) and grubby (especially the windowsills). Service in the Grapevine Restaurant is not consistent - 45 minutes is rather a long time to wait for your main course and. a full English breakfast was brought to the table before yogurt and fruit were finished the next morning. The hotel is priced at the top end of the market but does not fully deliver.

  • Robert L

  • March 2014

Dinner Time?

Having spent a while chatting and discussing the menu given to us as we came into the restaurant area with my other half we were ready to order.

The waiter was quick to come over since it was not too busy. Then quickly pointed out we were using the wrong menu. We were then given another menu to start all over again. When we did finally choose our order we had a hard time attracting the attention of the few staff that were there. Not a very good dining experience but then I guess if your staying somewhere like Stow you can always eat out...I would.

  • Julie R

  • February 2014

Stunning Weekend...Fabulous location...a warm and welcoming hotel,with friendly staff .Amazing food

Had a warm and friendly welcome Greated by Friendly welcoming staff....Excellent room...fabulous bathroom with excellent quality of toiletries.

Beautiful location a great place to stay....amazing food and service

Great weekend break

Look forward to returning .

  • Lisa White

  • January 2014

lovely hotel in a fantastic position

The superior room we stayed in was beautiful, lovely d├ęcor and furniture.

The room was very spacious with a very good bathroom, a double sink and a very good powerful shower. My husband my 12 year old son had a lovely 2 night stay here. The breakfast was very good even offering us a vegetarian choice with veggie sausage on the menu. The only down side we had that the person serving in the bar was not very friendly and on the 2nd night of our stay he turned the music and the lights off even though we were still sitting there half way through our drinks at about 10.45pm. We found this extremely rude not to even say anything about closing.