No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grapevine Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Grapevine Hotel, Sheep Street , Stow on the Wold, GL54 1AU
The Grapevine Hotel is set in the historic market town of Stow-on-the-Wold, amid the warm honey coloured Cotswold stone buildings and rolling countryside, this 17th Century hotel has become justly renowned for its warm hospitality and fine dining.

Named after the ancient vine that shades the hotel’s Conservatory restaurant (the second oldest indoor grapevine in the land, over 110 years old), The Grapevine Hotel also has 22 individually furnished bedrooms, La Vigna Brasserie and the Gigot Bar.

Stow on the Wold is a thriving town and the Grapevine is the perfect base for exploring the best of the Cotswolds.
Picture of Grapevine Hotel, Stow on the Wold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden Gem
Stayed here for a couple of nights on the way back from a family gathering. We love the Cotswolds and the laterooms deal was good enough. Excellent location with parking behind which is a bonus for Stow. Had a meal on the first night and were absolutely astounded by the quality and presentation of the food. 'Nouveau Cuisine' so you need three courses! An added bonus was 25% discount with the Gourmet Society. Wifi worked and room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was also good although the black pudding disappeared from the full English without any explanation! Would definitely stay here again (at the Laterooms rate!)

Reviewed by
Simon R

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No personality, disorganised staff
On check in the lady seemed not interested in us, the only comment was do you need dinner because you will need to book a table. On later speaking with another guest they had the same question re booking a table. When questioned the lady said they would organise a chef. This is the peak season August and they need to organise a chef. Breakfast staff were disorganised there was very little fruit, 1 small plate and you had to ask them to fill it up. Toast was given ad hoc to people who just sat down, but others were waiting as we were, the breakfast we ordered was cold, and without toast was colder when it arrived.
Check out was the same as the check in, same lady. She never asked regarding the stay, probably knew what response she would get.
Awful experience.

Reviewed by
G W

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely twin ground floor room with our own terrace, our doors opened out onto it, this was a lovely surprise. The bathroom was beautiful with a spa bath much needed after a day of walking. Breakfast was really nice and the staff were all helpful. We had a great two day stay and would recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
s clark

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel for a short stay in the Cotswolds
We had a fantastic 2-night stay in this Cotswolds hotel. We were lucky enough to be upgraded so got a luxury room with a 4-poster and a large bathroom. All v clean and comfortable, and perfectly situated. We didn't eat there in the evening but the breakfasts were excellent. I would definitely consider the Grapevine for another short stay, and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
D Glennon

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
Stayed 1 night and glad it was just 1. The Bathroom was very tired indeed, Painted tiles with flaking paint to reveal the original colour beneath, miss Colour matched Batroom suite with white sink and Bath but dark cream wc, no blind or curtains over the window (obscured glass) with mold and peeling paint around tatty metal frame. Room ok size but had mold on wall in corner, Bed like a Marshmellow. Was supposed to be a 'Superior' room........i'd hate to see a'Standard' one.

Reviewed by
Graham W

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast - room could have been better
The hotel is in a great location and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.
I was a bit disappointed with the room and have stayed in much better rooms for less money. The bed was very uncomfortable and noisy. Also, on arrival, the bath had hair in it.

Reviewed by
M Baker

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room, lovely town and breakfast was also excellent. brilliant location too (with parking)

Reviewed by
T GUEST

From Stourbridge, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired decor needs attention
Room decor tatty torn curtain,bathroom tatty and needs refit called superior room,definitely not superior.expected more not reflected by pics on hotel website

Reviewed by
S Cook

From Bromsgrove, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought the hotel was OK

Reviewed by
P Rolfe

From Basingstoke, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2