No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HIGH STREET , SUTTON COLDFIELD, B72 1UD
With modern, elegantly furnished rooms, The Royal Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Sutton Coldfield. This classic Georgian building still retains some of its original features.

The Royal has excellent transport links and free off-road parking for guests. The Royal Hotel is an excellent choice for visitors to Sutton Coldfield, Birmingham city centre and the NEC.

Live music is played over the weekend, with late music Friday & Saturday.
Picture of Royal Hotel, SUTTON COLDFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but poor value
I was working for a day in Sutton Coldfield and the hotel was 3 mins from the station and 2 mins from where I was working, so the location was fantastic. However, my room was very poor value, particularly considering it was more than the prestigious Malmaison in central Birmingham! I booked the executive room, and there was little executive about it - by the main road so very noisy, but more to the point there was no cupboard for hanging clothes, no desk for working on, and a very uncomfortable and thin mattress. However, the staff were very friendly and it was a pub downstairs so the food was cheap and for that you got standard pub grub which is fine for the price.

Reviewed by
D C

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room had character but was lacking in storage space almost everything stayed in one's case.
Some low ceilings, albeit one warning notice, but I still managed to bang my head, other notices visible from the bed might be advisable. Full breakfast following adequate starters had a seriously undercooked egg, otherwise good. Following breakfast I chose scrambled egg which was good. Because of potential noise on friday night I had a reduced rate and was placed well away from the noise, actually I heard very little. Reception was very good and caring.

Reviewed by
Roger Hall

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too noisy

Reviewed by
Bernard F

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Reception lovely, lovely atmosphere generally, yes it was noisy because of the night club, but we were prepared for that, room very clean, would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From TAMWORTH, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern, central location, efficient service
The Royal Hotel is spotlessly clean and modern. Very spacious room. There were four of us - two adults two kids. The room was not cramped at all.
The one drawback is that because of central location some of the rooms - such as ours - are on the main road in and out of town. So a bit noisy. Maybe some rooms are quieter. Also we went on a Monday and the bars downstairs were empty. No idea what it would be like at a weekend.

Reviewed by
Jane F

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not really a hotel any more
Accomodation is completely innacessible to anyone with even moderate disability or with young children the stairs are very steep and with deep or high treads.
Rooms do not have phone to contact reception
Reception is not 24 hours, shuts about 8:30pm opens some time after 8 Am
Basically there are a few rooms over a Pub/Night club would suit late night revelers who need a pricy place to crash
On our first night I was told at 6:30 "no food sorry the kitchen is shut we get drinkers in from 7pm", according to the receptionist the following morning the staff were wrong but another member of staff said the "chef was ill and had gone home".
The doors to the restaurant were closed until I phoned the hotel then they were hastily opened, the breakfast was a lowest common demominator offering half a spoon of beans 2 very salty undercooked bacon 2 miniscule and flavourless sausages and and egg with overcooked shrivelled mushrooms and some toast, the second morning half a cooked tomato also apeared

Reviewed by
john d

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its a night club with rooms
Room is very basic. Tv mounted behind bed! Staff where great but warned me of the DJ playing until 3am in the bar. Not the staffs fault but I would question the 3 star rating.

Reviewed by
Mike F

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad hotel but has faults
On arrival we were welcomed by a happy and helpful receptionist. The good start soon petered out when on asking about eating was told "soorry no food avaliable, the kitchens shut", this was 5.30pm on a sunday afternoon !.
Our room was a good size, nicely decorated and well furnished, very clean as was the en-suite bathroom. Bed was not the most comfortable though.
In the morning, breakfast was from 7-9, but no-one on reception till 8 o'clock. Breakfast was ok.
Overall ok, would stay again, but would not be happy paying the normal £120 rate instead of £85 through laterooms.com.
Not really suitable for familys or quiet breaks as hotel is a bit of a noisy place at weekends

Reviewed by
Anthony Miller

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stylish but chilly
I stayed in the executive suite, and although it looked smart it was chilly for my entire stay. The heating in the room didn't work, i made this known to reception on my first morning. When i returned that afternoon i was told it was fixed, however it wasn't, and i spent a second chilly night. The spa bath also didn't work on my first night, and though it was fixed for my second night, it did emit some rather disturbing black substance from the jets. All round i found the hotel to be an attempt at style over any type of substance or comfort.

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From london, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for a night out!
This hotel is located perfectly for a night out.....we saw 3 live bands in various pubs within walking distance, then arrived back to the hotel in time to dance the night away until 3am! Got up for breakfast (which was plentiful) and couldn't tell that 5 hours earlier it was full of party goers! All in all, a great night away :)

Reviewed by
Jackie H

From Aberystwyth, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.