Reviews - Ellenbank Hotel


Ellenbank Hotel birkby, Maryport, CA15 6RE

Price From 124.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C wood

  • September 2015

A flying visit ..

Great location, friendly and professional staff and would use the hotel again...

  • Deborah C

  • August 2015

Short stay

Very friendly & welcoming, food was great plenty too.

Would love to stay again, hopefully will have done rooms in the main

Building to stop in. Building got plenty of character,

  • David M

  • July 2015

one night stay at the elbank Hotel

Stayed for one night Me my partner and our 11yr old.

We found all the staff we came into contact very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is ok for the money, it is a little tired in parts but being a old Victorian building I guess it cost a lot to maintain. Our room was basic but beds were comfy and the room was warm and clean. Could not envisage a long stay here as room and hotel had very little facilities. Breakfast was a little bit of a let down very little choice and poor ingredients.

  • m gray

  • March 2015

i will return!

the wonderful building, wonderful location, exceptional service, just great.

  • David Tipping

  • August 2014

Good, but not Outstanding

A middling hotel with friendly staff and reasonable cleanliness.

The TV in the bedroom did not work. We enjoyed a good evening meal at a fair price - roast beef and Yorkshire pudding with a generous selection of vegetables. However, the full English breakfast was high on quantity but low on quality - tinned tomatoes, poor bacon and sausages. We would stay again if visiting the area but it would not be an automatic choice.

  • Ruth Bedford

  • June 2014

Trip to Maryport

First time in years - my trip to Cumbria was wonderful.

The hotel was in large grounds with a wonderful outlook. Staff were very kind and helpful. Would definately visit again. Ruth

  • Alan S

  • May 2014

Lovely place but needs much TLC

We had no complaints about the family room, lovely view, and it was big enough for our needs, once the cot was removed.

The beds were comfortable and we had a good nights sleep until the traffic started up in the morning. The full English breakfast and the service in the morning could not be faulted. However, the snooker room that was advertised was not available, and despite being advise that the bar was open until 11pm at night, we arrived back at the hotel at 9.30pm on our second evening to find this closed. All in all this is a very old building that could be made soooo much more inviting. For a Bank holiday weekend the place was dead, we only saw 2 other guests.

We booked this last minute and it was the only place left available in the North Lakes area, we only needed a comfortable bed and a decent breakfast to set us up for a days walking, and that's what we got.

  • Colin Chapman

  • May 2014

Enjoyable weekend

A lovely old building with character,yes it could probably do with some TLC in places but this does not detract from the quality of the accommodation.The staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfast and evening meals were of high quality.I would certainly recommend the Ellenbank as a perfect base for anyone exploring West Cumbria or the North of the Lake District and we certainly intend to stay again next year.It would certainly suit anyone looking for a quiet and private place to stay.

  • v haley

  • May 2014

relaxing and refreshing stay

I enjoyed my stay at the Ellenbank hotel .

The location was ideal for my work the hotel , the hotel was quite and relaxing ,the room was clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful and friendly. overall my stay was good value for money .