No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Torbay Court Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stearthfield Road , Paignton, TQ3 2BJ
A warm and friendly welcome is assured on your arrival at the Torbay Court Hotel.
Unique in every respect, famed for its feeling of friendliness
and comfort. The Torbay Court Hotel makes the ideal
setting for your holiday, this and every year.
Centrally situated in Torbay, only a few minutes level walk
from Paignton seafront and town centre, in a quiet cul de sac away from the
noise of traffic and the holiday crowds. The restaurant offers full table service with a varied daily
menu of traditional meals.The large bar lounge is open every night and includes
entertainment most nigthts.The comfortably appointed en - suite bedrooms all have
colour televisions, shaver points and complimentary
tray of tea and coffee
(We are going through a refurbishment as we have just taken over the hotel. )
Picture of Torbay Court Hotel, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
25% recommended this accommodation to a friend 25% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Torbay Court Hotel
We booked the Torbay Court Hotel because we attended a wedding near by. I called the hotel in advance and asked for an early check in around 11am. The lady said yes no problem at all, but when we arrived at 11.30 the room was still not ready. I work at a hotel reception myself so I know early check-ins are not always possible, but the lady agreed on it so we counted on it. When we finally got the room we've noticed there was no shower gel and shampoo, which is something basic and expected from a 3*hotel. So we had to rush and I couldn't wash my hair properly and the taxi we ordered was 20mins late. We made it to the wedding after all, but it was definitely not a pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Fabienne M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again !
Old hotel , unclean , noisy . I will never go there again even if it was free ! I couldn't wait to leave this place .

Reviewed by
EVELYNE M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typical Budget Hotel
They say you get what you pay for,Sam the Receptionist was very professional in her manner.
She showed me the room and to say it was small was an understatement.
There was one bar of soap and half a toilet roll. Stains splattered on the wall to the left of the bed.
Staying in an hotel on your own without any other guests, is very lonely and a bit frightening.
Wont stay there again but many of you will.
Remember you get what you pay for. :(

Reviewed by
steve davies

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
We only stayed for one night as personal problems compelled us to leave early. The hotel is very nice and has good facilities. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Had a great evening with the entertainment as well.

Reviewed by
Gary T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car Parking
Car Parking was advertised as on site however, there is only parking for a few cars yet they have 48 rooms, when we arrived we could not park at all not even on the streets as they were also full. Car parking on site was the only reason we booked this hotel, very disappointed, feel mislead

Reviewed by
A Light

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty Disgusting
This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I had to wait forty minutes before I was given a cup of tea and that was only when I got off my seat to complain. Breakfast when I did get it was greasy and eggs were hard. Plates still had stains on from a previous breakfast. Curtains fell down in my room and we had to put them back up. The bedside lights had been moved and the original wires were supposed to be protected by a plastic box but the box was loose and anyone could have touched the wires. Do not know if they were still live. Room was supposed to be a double and this was so small they did not have a chest of drawers to put any clothes in. Can't say a good word about it or the staff.

Reviewed by
J HAMMONDS

From Kidderminster, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed!
Quality of breakfast poor. Pot of tea and coffee just left on table to help yourself to, stewed andlukewarm, I'm a real teapot and one mouthful was enough.
Room was small but was very clean and bed was comfortable .
On minus side hot water is scalding hot, need to address it seriously before someone has an accident. Instructions on how to use shower in bathroom so obviously aware of situation. I followed instructions but mid shower cold went off and I was left to jump out as water was boiling hot. Hotel full of mature holiday makers and wouldn't be able to jump out like me! Improvements need to continue but quality of breakfast a d water issue need to be addressed urgently.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Torbay Court Hotel, Paignton
After an apparent problem with the hotel fax machine the receptionist treated us like somehow it was all our fault. She said that our booking had not come through and we were obliged to pay by card on arrival. After a six hour drive this was just what was needed (not). During our two night stay we discovered that there was no hot water to the bathroom sink taps in the evening and a coat hook on the room door was loose and upside down. In addition after finding out what the hotel Wi-Fi pass code was we found that the signal was too weak to use in our 2nd floor hotel room.

Reviewed by
David H

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dog friendly
We recently stayed for two nights with our dog. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and Tilly got lots of fuss made of her which was great. I understand the hotel is going through a period of refurbishment which will make a big difference once completed. The room was adequate for our needs with a wonderful big flat screen tv which we were delighted with. The bed, however, was not the comfiest we have slept in. At breakfast, even though the dining room was packed with a coach party, we were welcomed and attended to almost immediately. We enjoyed breakfast. Whilst the decor is very outdated and shabby, we believe this was reflected in the price so in effect you get what you pay for when booking this hotel. We had a very enjoyable stay, thank you.

Reviewed by
D Such

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Where not too stay
The only good thing about this hotel was the staff, when we got to our room there was a bare electric wire in the wall, the safety cover had fallen off and had not been replaced. The room was far to small for a double bed as you had only 20" or so either side and the furniture was old we could buy better in a second hand shop. we would never stay there again and would certainly not recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
C Rowberry

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.