No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Empire Hotel

44 West 63rd Street , New York, 10023
This landmark hotel has been completely renovated with an original combination of design styles, mixing modernism with an Old World attention to detail. Guestrooms are spacious and bright, with stunning views of Lincoln Center and Broadway.

The 422 richly appointed guest rooms at The Empire Hotel represent a new standard in New York City boutique hotel accommodations.

Each room combines the earth tones from Central Park and the dignified modernism of Lincoln Center to provide effortlessly sophisticated comfort. Beds draped in Italian linen embody restful elegance, while animal-print cushions contribute edgy accents. Rest and unwind in the virtuoso comfort of The Empire Hotel.
Picture of The Empire Hotel, New York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Empire slipping slightly
I stayed with my partner on the weekend of the 2nd of May.
Overall the stay was satisfying. However for future bookings I think it's important to note the following;
We stayed on the top floor and either beside us of below there seemed to be a club. The music was so clear you could hear the words of the songs not just the beat through the walls. Its a crowded city so i could accept this although please don't bank on a quite and relaxing sleep!
We also experienced problems with the shower meaning a cold one on a couple of occasions.
Other then this the hotel was nice, clean and the staff were helpful not that we had to much involvement with them.

Reviewed by
Bonnie W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a

Reviewed by
P Riedler

From , USA
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room

Reviewed by
Gayle M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needing a bit of TLC
I booked this hotel after seeing it on late rooms, thinking it was at a great price. However, what laterooms fails to tell you is that yes, there is a surplus of 15% city tax but then there is a tonne of other taxes imposed bringing your bill to an extra $100!!!! It was not worth the extra money, the radiator was so loud that we could not sleep, the chairs were a total mess and had been left in the room as it was no longer pretty enough for the bar clearly, and it was so dusty! The location is great, the bar is good but was very quiet when I went up on my birthday. Overall a good hotel but was not the best we had stayed in for being the most expensive. Everything needs a revamp and brought up to date and needs a good clean!

Reviewed by
Natalie F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good city break
Bar is really fun and open late. Staff are super friendly. Great location with subway links and the park.

Reviewed by
Ralph K

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 night New York trip
We enjoyed our stay, good location for reasonable price for Manhatten. Fantastic concierge, he couldn't have been more helpful. Decor could do with updating and the rooms could've been a bit cleaner.

Reviewed by
E Rodger

From Bungay, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rip off
7 dollar for a water....

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ärger mit der Rechnung, lauter Generator oder was auch immer im Innenhof
Der Preis wurde als Gesamtpreis inkl aller steuern ausgewiesen. Im Hotel musste ich dann trotz weitreichender Diskussionen mit den Angestellten und dem Empfangschef die Steuern draufzahlen. Das ist jetzt nicht das letzte Wort was ich in dieser Sache spreche, denn ich werde die zuviel bezahlten rd. 200 Dollar zurückverlangen. Wer es im Endeffekt zahlt ist mir egal, ich jedenfalls nicht, notfalls werde ich einen Rechtsanwalt mit der Sache beauftragen. Das Zimmer war zum Innenhof und sehr laut weil dort irgendein Generator einen horrenden Lärm verursachte. Meine Freunde haben weniger bezahlt und bessere Zimmer gehabt.

Reviewed by
Marion T

From 12557 Berlin, Germany
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gute Lage, kleine, dunkle und laute Zimmer
überteuert, dunkel, kleine Zimmer, nur die Lage ist gut

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From Germany
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.