No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Journeys Kings Cross

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
54-58 CALEDONIAN ROAD , LONDON, N19DP
Stylish backpacker’s accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour’s walk along the beautiful Regent’s canal to Camden’s famous market, bars and nightclubs

Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and enjoying our weekly free pancake nights and the occasional jam session. The kitchen’s well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV, comfy sofas and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge.

Dorm beds each with their own power, light ,set of curtains and lockers are available for security . For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set ,flat screen TV\ DVD player and safe.

FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast.

King’s Cross station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford street is just 10 minutes by tube
Picture of Journeys Kings Cross, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Excellent value for money. Will always be my first port of call when visiting London on a budget.

Reviewed by
B Wareing

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Journey Kings Cross Review
This was the first time I had stayed in a hostel since I was a teenager and never alone, but this was a lovely place to stay. It was clean, friendly and actually pretty cosy.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Stirling

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meh
It's good if you're here only a few nights I'd say, or you're not picky at all. The room I was in was tiny, crowded, and dusty because of all the people coming and going; the upper showers were burning hot in the morning; sheets had stayed unchanged after being told they would be; and it was not uncommon to have noise in the middle of the night. No lockers in the rooms, also. However the location, near St Pancras, is pretty good, and I'm not sure if there're better places around at the same rates. This hostel is also pretty good for meeting diverse people in the evenings.

Reviewed by
Jean L

From France
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay for what you get
The staff were friendly and helpful, the place was clean and tidy just right for a night or two stay over.

Reviewed by
Stephen Curtis-Sundas

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel review
It wasn't a great hostel, I was in a room of 15, pretty crowded obviously, and the price was higher than a 6 bed, more clean, hostel near hyde park, which unfortunately was fully booked.
The only good things were being close to King's cross and candem town. For the rest, a crappy hostel.

Reviewed by
Jose Manuel B

From Malta
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but acceptable
basic accomodation with clean bedroom, with shared in everyway toilets and grim kitchen, no hot water, washing up liquid, just hand swill dishes for next user probably not the best. Would benefit from a dishwasher.

Reviewed by
James G

From Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dive - standard double
What absolute dive this was. I am aware it is a hostel, and was of course expecting little. Arrived in room to find blind snapped off the window and on the floor, unable to put back on window. So we were woken as soon as the sunset at 5am!. Towells on the bed both had some sort of red stains on them (probably blood from the last murder victim,
Oh and a nice 1pound charge if you wanted to dry yourself with somebody else's blood). Window wouldn't even shut properly, which means you could hear all of the traffic outside kinga cross station. One of the busiest train stations in Europe.
Yea it's cheap, but seriously pay abit extra and actually get a nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Tim L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Bad
I was there but they have to tell clearly that is a hostel because in the late room site it is a single room with £12.50 and when i went there find it a hostel .

Reviewed by
Mina S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Service and Room, Great Value
Prompt and friendly service from staff. Only one minor glitch during stay and it was sorted with an upgrade to a 5 bedded room so thank you. There was breakfast available, I just didn't go for it. Superb value for money at very short notice. Definitely would consider returning.

Reviewed by
Angus S

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
Exactly as described. Great location and one of the better hostels I've stayed at.

Reviewed by
Ben M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next