No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Thatched Tavern

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Steep Hill Maidencombe, Torquay, TQ1 4TS
The Thatched Tavern, nestles in the heart of Maidencombe, a pretty picture postcard village in the Torbay countryside but only 300m from the beach and South West Coastal Path.

Our two newly refurbished cosy rooms have been designed with your comfort in mind and are situated on the first floor of the Original 15th Century Grade II listed Cottage part of the building. An idyllic retreat where you can relax and unwind.

During your stay, drink or dine in the cosy bar and cottage with roaring log fires in the winter, our light and airy restaurant or Al Fresco in the fantastic award winning garden that surrounds the pub.

Mick , Fiona and their team pride themselves on providing warm, friendly and attentive service in a relaxed atmosphere.
Picture of The Thatched Tavern, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing little find
The Thatched Inn is a lovely pub in a great location. The hosts and staff couldn't make you feel more welcome .Food excellent and room luxurious. Our 2nd visit-we will be returning.

Reviewed by
j amos

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hidden gem
Quaint, lovely large room, fab food,great staff and excellent service. Will definitely be back

Reviewed by
I Riley

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Forget The Hotel Chains
Why go in a plastic corporate hotel chain or a tired seaside hotel when you have somewhere like the Thatched Tavern which oozes character? Set in a little hamlet called Maidencombe a few hundred yards from the sea, this historic buiding has plenty of charm with all the mod cons. When you have only 2 guest rooms you know the service will be great and we were not disapointed. Fiona & Mick take real pride in this place. The rooms are spotless and the gardens are kept beautiful. The food was to a great standard. Only 15 minutes drive to Torquay it is an ideal spot for a weekend getaway. We are already planning our next trip..!

Reviewed by
dean p

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

March wind and sea
Beautiful location (once you've found it!). Very peaceful and silent after the bar has closed. Might be noisy at weekends I suppose, I went midweek. Lovely room and a great bed in which I slept for 11 hours straight through. Friendly service and a large selection of wine by the glass which is unusual these days. Tiny craggy cove of a beach which was totally deserted, freezing wind and sleet , I love the seaside in winter! Looked like a nice cliff walk but didn't have time to do that.

Reviewed by
Mike M

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picturesque, peaceful and off the beaten track
What a pretty little tavern, not far from the sea, set in a peaceful hamlet.
The room was cosy and bed comfortable, we had a warm welcome.
We ate in the restaurant, delicious food, we shared a starter of warm camembert cooked with rosemary and garlic and served with toasted granary fingers. Followed by Steak and Ale pie indeed a speciality of the house. Thoroughly recommend. :-) Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The freshly cooked breakfast was very welcome after a early morning walk to the beach.
A very pleasant stay and we look forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by
s scott

From newquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Room luxurious-quiet peaceful village--food and service excellent--beach 300 metres away--what's not to like.Will definitely be going again-a little treasure

Reviewed by
joy a

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extraordinary experience
Location is fantastic, same for the structure which is famous as a tavern. We can confirm the bed and breakfast experience is as fantastic as the tavern itself.

Reviewed by
Roberto M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.