Reviews - Thatched Tavern


Steep Hill, Maidencombe,, Torquay, TQ1 4TS

Price From 261.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Sheila B

  • August 2015

Beautiful accommodation in a lovely setting

The tavern is really pretty.

The setting is lovely. The staff were really helpful and attentive. The room is really clean and has everything you could possibly need. The food is brilliant well presented and really tasty and hot. The breakfast was yummy and cooked individually. Altogether lovely!

  • Mark W

  • June 2015

Perfect hospitality

A delightful pub serving high quality food and providing wonderful location.

Owners and staff all extremely welcoming and attentive. Rooms provided every comfort could wish for.

  • r gibbs

  • April 2015

a lovely stay

We spent one night at The Thatched Tavern and has a great stay.

The room was very nice and overlooked the lovely gardens at the back of the property. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent. Probably the best breakfast we have ever had anywhere. We would definately return.

  • stephen nagy

  • December 2014

peace and quiet at last excellent

  • j amos

  • August 2014

amazing little find

The Thatched Inn is a lovely pub in a great location.

The hosts and staff couldn't make you feel more welcome .Food excellent and room luxurious. Our 2nd visit-we will be returning.

  • I Riley

  • August 2014

hidden gem

Quaint, lovely large room, fab food,great staff and excellent service.

Will definitely be back

  • dean p

  • July 2014

Forget The Hotel Chains

Why go in a plastic corporate hotel chain or a tired seaside hotel when you have somewhere like the Thatched Tavern which oozes character.

Set in a little hamlet called Maidencombe a few hundred yards from the sea, this historic buiding has plenty of charm with all the mod cons. When you have only 2 guest rooms you know the service will be great and we were not disapointed. Fiona & Mick take real pride in this place. The rooms are spotless and the gardens are kept beautiful. The food was to a great standard. Only 15 minutes drive to Torquay it is an ideal spot for a weekend getaway. We are already planning our next trip..!

  • Mike M

  • April 2014

March wind and sea

Beautiful location (once you've found it!).

Very peaceful and silent after the bar has closed. Might be noisy at weekends I suppose, I went midweek. Lovely room and a great bed in which I slept for 11 hours straight through. Friendly service and a large selection of wine by the glass which is unusual these days. Tiny craggy cove of a beach which was totally deserted, freezing wind and sleet , I love the seaside in winter. Looked like a nice cliff walk but didn't have time to do that.