The Thatched Tavern

4

Steep Hill Maidencombe, Torquay, TQ1 4TS

Price From 237.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • r gibbs

  • April 2015

a lovely stay

We spent one night at The Thatched Tavern and has a great stay.

The room was very nice and overlooked the lovely gardens at the back of the property. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent. Probably the best breakfast we have ever had anywhere. We would definately return.

  • stephen nagy

  • December 2014

peace and quiet at last excellent

  • j amos

  • August 2014

amazing little find

The Thatched Inn is a lovely pub in a great location.

The hosts and staff couldn't make you feel more welcome .Food excellent and room luxurious. Our 2nd visit-we will be returning.

  • I Riley

  • August 2014

hidden gem

Quaint, lovely large room, fab food,great staff and excellent service.

Will definitely be back

  • dean p

  • July 2014

Forget The Hotel Chains

Why go in a plastic corporate hotel chain or a tired seaside hotel when you have somewhere like the Thatched Tavern which oozes character.

Set in a little hamlet called Maidencombe a few hundred yards from the sea, this historic buiding has plenty of charm with all the mod cons. When you have only 2 guest rooms you know the service will be great and we were not disapointed. Fiona & Mick take real pride in this place. The rooms are spotless and the gardens are kept beautiful. The food was to a great standard. Only 15 minutes drive to Torquay it is an ideal spot for a weekend getaway. We are already planning our next trip..!

  • Mike M

  • April 2014

March wind and sea

Beautiful location (once you've found it!).

Very peaceful and silent after the bar has closed. Might be noisy at weekends I suppose, I went midweek. Lovely room and a great bed in which I slept for 11 hours straight through. Friendly service and a large selection of wine by the glass which is unusual these days. Tiny craggy cove of a beach which was totally deserted, freezing wind and sleet , I love the seaside in winter. Looked like a nice cliff walk but didn't have time to do that.

  • s scott

  • September 2013

Picturesque, peaceful and off the beaten track

What a pretty little tavern, not far from the sea, set in a peaceful hamlet.

The room was cosy and bed comfortable, we had a warm welcome.

We ate in the restaurant, delicious food, we shared a starter of warm camembert cooked with rosemary and garlic and served with toasted granary fingers. Followed by Steak and Ale pie indeed a speciality of the house. Thoroughly recommend. :-) Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The freshly cooked breakfast was very welcome after a early morning walk to the beach. A very pleasant stay and we look forward to our next visit.

  • joy a

  • September 2013

Little Gem

Room luxurious-quiet peaceful village--food and service excellent--beach 300 metres away--what's not to like.Will definitely be going again-a little treasure

  • Roberto M

  • June 2013

Extraordinary experience

Location is fantastic, same for the structure which is famous as a tavern.

We can confirm the bed and breakfast experience is as fantastic as the tavern itself.