No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Torguish House

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Torguish House Daviot, Inverness, IV2 5XQ
PLEASE NOTE: LAST CHECK-IN IS 10PM.
Please also telephone for directions - sat-nav does not work so well in the Highlands!

Torguish House Inverness B&B Accommodation and self catering cottages offer the perfect base from which to explore the Highlands of Scotland. Situated 4 miles South of the Capital of the Highlands, Inverness, in the beautiful surrounds of Daviot, it is the perfect base for sight-seeing to the coasts of North, East and West, all of them an easy day trip through some of the most beautiful and spectacular scenery of Scotland. Loch Ness, Skye and the Orkney Islands are all easily accessible for day excursions.

Torguish House has 8 rooms, all en-suite offering the widest possible choice to suit your individual needs.Torguish House is set in wonderful garden grounds directly off the main A9 routes North and South. Special features include the chickens and other bird life wandering freely within the garden grounds.

Each room in Torguish is named after a famous Scottish Clan, and Alistair Maclean novels are in evidence in each of the rooms - the famous author lived here for the majority of his childhood years. The house was built prior to the Jacobite uprisings of 1715 and is a fine example of the architecture of the time.

We are biker friendly and perfectly located for those biking or cycling the country end to end.Undercover motorcycle parking with secure ground anchors are provided. No pets are permitted in either Torguish House or in the cottages. Torguish House + self catering cottages are strictly no smoking.

Mike, Angie, Ben and Siobhan provide a warm Highland welcome and the best of Scottish cooking in providing a breakfast to remember with their porridge being a particular favourite of the guests.
Picture of Torguish House, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly and with bags oif character & charm.
Greeted warmly at the door, the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Situated in a very rural setting, the house had a very relaxed, peaceful atmosphere inside & out. Cosy bedrooms with cosy beds, and a full, tasty breakfast each morning, what more could you ask? We arrived as guests and left as friends.

Reviewed by
Keith Wood

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and nice room
not too keen on the sausages,otherwise no complaints !

Reviewed by
Gabriel Sempill

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Amazing Find of a Very Special Guest House
My group (2 married couples on motorcycles) arrived at the postcode at the gate of a field in the middle of nowhere. But a quick phone call to Michael (the owner of Torguish) and we were guided in to one of the most unusual and delightful guesthouses we have every encountered. Log fire burning in the hearth, antique vehicles and artefacts everywhere. The owners (Michael and Angie) are Motorcycle fanatics and welcome bikers with open arms. Fellow guest and biker John from Shetland shared happy stories of bikes and life with us. Angie (Michael's wife) gave us a lift to the local restaurant in the evening (Colluden) with fine pub food and then back to share a bottle of whisky over more stories. The rooms were all individual - even noted that Alistair McClean the famous author used to live here - were we in his childhood bedroom where he conceived all those amazing stories!. Querky, comfy, vehicle and biker friendly, antique laden, just perfect. And breakfast was sensational with porridge, haddock, kippers, haggis and black pudding to die for. On departing there was a photocall - standing in a row outside the front door with Micheal and Angie and our new found friends. So all in all we felt very special. Will recommend to all friends and am looking forward to coming back next May (2015). Nick, Grace, Kevin and Mae.

Reviewed by
M Draper

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Torguish House, Daviot
Lovely overnight stay. Hotelier very friendly and helpful. Recommended local restaurant and booked table for us. If you follow the instructions and ignore the sat nav directions the house is very easy to find sitting on the side of the A9. Bedroom nice and comfortable with ensuite. Breakfast very good and kept us going all day. Thank you

Reviewed by
C KILLEN

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely accommodation. we'll definitely come back!

Reviewed by
Christia C

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magical Alladins Cave
Excellent service and facilities provided by Ben and Siobahn. Couldn'tmeet a more helpful and friendly couple.The house is not for those looking for a bland bed for the night but more for those who approach life from a slighly different, more vibrant less beige angle! Highly recommended and shall definetly be back.

Reviewed by
Hugh Gorman

From Erskine, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of charm
Friendly and dedicated personal customer service. Flexible and hugely helpful. Couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewed by
E Morgan

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay here.....nothing was too much trouble for Mike....he even cooked us a full breakfast on New Year s Day. Very interesting house.....rooms were beautifully done. Would we go back...we certainly would!!

Reviewed by
Jude Collins

From cupar, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magical, wonderful place!
My second time visiting, and can't wait to go back again! Great hosts, beautiful setting, what more could one want?

Reviewed by
M Browning

From Vail, USA
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and friendly B&B
We stayed 2 nights at Torguish House which although close to the A9 is a very quiet and peaceful place to stay. The house and grounds are full of things to look at and makes this guest house stand out from other run-of-the-mill places to stay. The room itself was lovely, the bed was comfy and it was very clean.
The owners are really friendly and chatty. Our breakfasts were cooked to order and were delicious.
Overall a really nice B&B which I would stay at again and recommend to my friends and family.

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Dunfermline, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next