Bowlish House

4

Wells Road, ,, Shepton Mallet, BA4 5JB

Price From 175.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • m whittam

  • March 2015

Disappointing

stayed here several times over the last 30 years and always loved it but its lost something (personality!), still clean, very comfortable beds and the thickest towels but atmosphere was very subdued - breakfast was strange too we were all whispering - don't think anyone felt comfortable maybe the new owners are new to the hotel business and it's always been packed restaurant /bar wise but it was totally dead (doors locked at 10pm on a Friday!) decided to eat out came back and there was no one in the bar or anything.

Shame as its a lovely place .

  • A Bell

  • March 2015

Alan

I have already recommended Bowlish House, the food and service was first class and hotel is full of character

  • David Griffiths

  • November 2014

Nice Place , Nice people, good food

  • Keith B

  • September 2014

Thoughtful hosts comfortable bed delicious food

We arrived late after walking all day and were greeted and taken in and fed in this gracious country manor house.

  • Roy Riccard

  • August 2014

good experience

very helpful hosts

good facilities

excellent location for touring a lovely area

  • Cristina H

  • August 2014

Charming

Beautiful building and gardens, tastefully restored, though it's still a work in progress.

Room quite comfortable, light-but-warm duvets especiallt appreciated. Breakfast delicious, owners and staff charming,

  • B Harris

  • November 2013

Hotel had just been taken over the previous week.

Very friendly owners, a lovely 'Olde Worlde' hotel. Spotless, faultless, A lovely hotel for a quiet getaway.

  • C Rishman

  • October 2013

A good example of a small hotel

We have stayed at Bowlish House on a number of occasions and have always been very pleased with the accommodation and service provided.

  • Grant M

  • September 2013

Excellent in all regards

Easy parking by the front door of this impressingly solid house.

Very warm welcome from Val then Chris showed us to our room, helping with luggage. Classy front room with 6 foot very comfy bed, arm shairs and roll edge bath in ensuite. Quite drink in the bar where we read over the dinner menu. Good choice - imaginative but not OTT. Food very well presented and tastey. Excllent wine list encouraged us to settle on the house red which was delicious.Good breakast. Accurate bill. Highly recommended for couples.