No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ellan Vannin Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
31 LOCH PROMENADE , DOUGLAS, IM1 2LY
Centrally located on Douglas’ historic Loch Promenade, Ellan Vannin Hotel overlooks Douglas Bay and The Tower Of Refuge, a 19th-century structure built on a partially submerged reef. The beach can be reached in a 30-second walk, as well as the main shops of Douglas town centre.

The main ferry terminal is only a 5-minute walk from Ellan Vannin, as well as Gaiety Theatre. Kayaking, sailing and diving can all be enjoyed along the coast, and basking sharks, dolphins and seals can often be spotted.

A panoramic view of the Victorian façade around Douglas Bay is featured in all seafront rooms. All rooms include free Wi-Fi, an en suite bathroom and a TV. A hearty full English breakfast is served in the dining area, and guests can also relax in the homely lounge area.
Picture of Ellan Vannin Hotel, DOUGLAS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ellan Vannin Hotel
Overall we enjoyed our stay and the great location near the sea. However there were a few issues. The towel rail in our bathroom was only warm at the bottom, and we think it needed to be bled. The pillows weren't that comfortable and the bedding was itchy. We also couldn't understand why (in the hotel manual) it said that a complimentary breakfast was a benefit of staying at The Ellan Vannin. When we read the breakfast menu, (despite saying it was complimentary) we were told we had to pay an unreasonable amount if we wanted to have breakfast there. We found this misleading. The size of the room was fine and the bathroom was clean, but the bath mat was very frayed. There were a few black streaks on my duvet too. For the price I paid, the room was good.

Reviewed by
J Graham

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a hotel
Booked this for an overnight stay to attend a family party in Douglas. We will be returning for a longer stay. Excellent accommodation, lovely staff, good food, and fantastic value for money. Have recommended the hotel to other friends who visit the Island regularly.

Reviewed by
B Coward

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 5 day short break
We had a fabulous time while we were staying at the Ellan Vannin. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The only downside was the room we were given was at the top of the hotel and the stair were too much, but it would not stop us staying there again

Reviewed by
R Birch

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, good food, ask for front rooms
Located to one end of the promenade with good views of the bay, rooms are very clean and have two single beds put together to form a very large double (rooms west 11 and south 3). Staff very friendly and helpful, Paul makes a very good barman. The above rooms are at the rear of the hotel, all the waste water pipes run down the walls in the small courtyard, so every time someone in the hotel showers or flushes the toilet it sounds like a waterfall outside the window. Enjoyed the 3 day break.

Reviewed by
deborah j

From Aberaeron, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Enjoyable Stay
Spent a very enjoyable time here. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Breakfast was a real treat, everything to your order. The double bed was so large I had to text my wife if I wished to speak to her. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Gavin L

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely return!
Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, beautiful sea view from my room which was clean and comfortable with free chocolates!! Stay here, it's lovely.

Reviewed by
Zoe D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location with helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. The décor looked tired in places. Definitely great value for money.

Reviewed by
J Dring

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and a sea view !

Reviewed by
Sue D

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
very good clean accommodation, good breakfast, decent free wifi, good location.

Reviewed by
Phillip W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel central to everything .would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
r brophy

From portlaoise, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next