No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
WENTNOR VILLAGE , BISHOPS CASTLE, SY9 5EE
the crown inn is set in a beautiful position overlooking the Long Mynd in the shropshire hills, the views from here are breathtaking.
we are lose too all walking routes advertised on the shropshire tourism board, from the rear of the pub you can see the gliding station
on top of the long mynd. the local area is ideal for walkers, cyclists, gliding enthusiasts and golf. points of interest are also the stiper stones, onny valley. Local historic towns of church stretton, ludlow, bishops castle,much wenlock, ironbridge (telford) and shrewsbury are all within a 30 minute car rise
Picture of The Crown Inn, BISHOPS CASTLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place and great food

Reviewed by
s fleming

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break
Overall a nice stay, with friendly staff.
The decor was tired as would be expected with a very old pub.
I liked it and the room was very clean.

Reviewed by
kevin r

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, made to feel very welcome. Food excellent. Beds very comfortable

Reviewed by
Mo S

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


will ask for a room at the back next time, as over the bar is noisy, but ends at12.00 on the dot enjoyed the stay very much, interesting conversation with the very hospitable landlords. will definitely come again. food was great and very plentiful.

Reviewed by
Linda Brannan

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation and delicious food
Booked here after reading the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed at all. The owners are friendly and helpful, the copious amount of food served was excellent and the room was large and airy with ample supplies of coffee and tea. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country pub
Small country pub, this was out second visit.
Food great and plentiful, and reasonably priced, owners and staff could not be more helpful.
Made to feel welcome and relaxed. Room clean and tidy.
Could not recommend it more.
Fantastic country retreat.

Reviewed by
Brian Lange

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Imagine a quaint old Country Inn
The Crown is the quintessentially old Shropshire pub with a good selection of well kept ales on draught and a kind seduction of local tales from caring staff and friendly locals with a genuine interest in providing hospitality helping you to enjoy your stay.
Great value too!

Reviewed by
R Matthews

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Personal Touch
We read the reviews before booking at Late Rooms and were not disappointed. The hosts were attentive and the 2 day stay was very good value for money. The room was clean and whilst it was comfortable for my wife, I found the bed restrictive (I'm 6 foot 3 inches). However, the owners are aware of this and are soon to refurbish the bedroom we used (Room 2). It was a peaceful stay and we ate well - the breakfasts are a high standard as were the restaurant meals. Guests at the pub have reserved tables and the food served was better than 'normal' pub food. We dined on mussels, sea bass and the mixed grill - all of which were well-cooked and tasty. Thank you.

Reviewed by
I Moore

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and Friendly Experience
Very friendly pub with great food and plenty of menu choice, the place has a real buzz about it and very welcoming.
We stayed one night to extend a weekend trip bike racing and had a lovely full English breakfast the following morning.
The room was very clean, quiet (even above the pub) and the bed was very comfy once I found it under the mountain of cushions
The shower was basic but did the job and was very clean

Reviewed by
Sam Matthewman

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Steve and Sean every helpful and welcoming.
A most enjoyable stay and excellent pub food.

Reviewed by
john w

From Bexley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next