Reviews - The Headland Hotel



Price From 109.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality



  • September 2015

holiday break

The hotel was very good and we would stay there again.

However, the service at breakfast was unacceptably slow. We wanted to leave early and arrived at breakfast at 8 am, when it opened. We were one of the first people to arrive. Even though the restaurant was not particularly busy, we waited a very long time to get served. We could only order tea/coffee and cereal to start with. When this arrived I asked the waiter if I could order the cooked breakfast and was told that I couldn't. The cooked breakfast finally arrived at 8.35 am. The breakfast was nice but the waiting of 35 minutes and the attitude of the waiter was poor.

  • Janet F

  • September 2015

Anniversary break

On arrival we found that a coach party had just arrived and the queue for check in stretched through the bar area and beyond, however we were allowed to leave our luggage, whilst we had a drink, after a very long journey.

We were then found in order that we could be ticked off the list. The room was disappointing as it was in the basement and therefore no view of the beautiful surroundings. We were able to book a table for dinner, although the dining room closed at 8.30pm. The food was good with full table service at both dinner and breakfast. Bar service in the evening on Saturday and Sunday was not very good due to a wedding on Saturday which took over the whole of the main bar area and Sunday due to an incident in one of the rooms which had to be dealt with by the barman the only member of staff who appeared to be on duty. Luckily we had booked outside events for both these evenings.

  • Andy Morrell

  • August 2015

The Headland Hotel

Hotel is very OAP orientated.

Reception girl told me I couldn't eat in restaurant even though I only wanted a table for one as I didn't book. I then went to the bar and they said there were plenty of tables in the restaurant so took me through. I wish they didn't though. Waiter put a menu in front of me and literally gave me 2 minutes too choose. He then came back with my pre-made prawn starter in 1 minute, which was vile. I sent it back and had too walk into town too get a decent meal. Not impressed to be honest. View from the front out to sea is really impressive though.

  • christopher harding

  • July 2015

The Headland Hotel

Stay was very enjoyable having to share facilities with a noisy weeding party was not acceptable.

  • debbie miles

  • May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room was small but clean and we'll maintained with a fabulous view. The food was incredible 5* standard. Will definitely return.

  • janet Long

  • September 2014

Staff excellent, service, questions solved all 100%.

Arrival and entering the hotel the important appearance and atmosphere immediate. Within minutes room key number directions needs etc. all sorted. Tea on the terrace excellent service again. Clean well presented room again staff excellent.

Amazed at the garden very relaxing and beautifully maintained. Hotel set in a beautiful area, adds to the relaxing needs of a break.

  • s cureton

  • August 2014


Nice hotel but a little tired in places.

Wifi does not work in the rooms and heard a number of people complaining about this. Some hair in the bath.

  • S Clivaz

  • August 2014

Enjoyable relaxing 4 day break

Good clean hotel, nice atmosphere in pleasant surroundings.

We only booked bed and breakfast so we can not really comment on the food, but breakfast was good. We would stay again if going to Torquay. Be prepared for the hills if you plan to do any walking. Evening entertainment was good on a couple of nights, especially Lynsey Newton (a voice like Karen Carpenter).

  • Alan P

  • July 2014

Booking online

The room rate was advertised at a reduced rate.

We booked and when we got to the final payment page it showed the higher rate. We booked then called laterooms. The individual we talked to couldn't find the web advertised rate but we kept the booking because it was a genuine last minute booking. Ten minutes later the hotel called, apologising for the mix up an offering us the reduced rate. The following morning when we checked out we were billed the higher rate so had to go through the whole thing again. The hotel apologised once more and gave us the published reduced rate. It all seemed rather unnecessary.

The only option for dinner was a fixed price 6-course meal, not something either of us wanted so we opted for sandwiches in the bar. The billing problem aside, the hotel staff were polite and considerate and made us feel welcome. The room was comfortable and the included breakfast was excellent. The location is away from the town so requires a walk or transport down into Torquay.

  • Matt H

  • June 2014

Excellent location

Excellent location, friendly staff.

Located on the coast, beautifully quiet location but close to Torquay town centre. The view from the room was amazing and it was a perfect base for exploring the Torbay area.