You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Headland Hotel

3

DADDYHOLE ROAD, Torquay, TQ12EF

Price From 83.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Andre

  • August 2016

Friendly staff and nice location

The Headland Hotel is situated up on a cliff-side high above the sea.

A nice ocean breeze greets you as you approach the entrance, and friendly staff greets you as you check-in. The kids enjoyed the indoor pools that are meant for individuals swimming laps. Since no one else was using them at the time, we didn't feel like we were taking them away from those wanting to swim laps. I would recommend the hotel for families, friends, couples, or just some time away. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the nearby trails.

  • Shirley S

  • July 2016

Excellent staff, lovely room but............

We booked this hotel on personal recommendation of friends who have stayed there several times; it's location and its heated outdoor swimming pool.

We only found out 1 week before our visit that the pool is no longer there, even though the website still includes it in the list of facilities. We were upgraded to a royal room which had a wonderful view over the bay and was super except for the large pumped air vent outside the window which 'hummed' from 7am-9pm and the room was immediately above the bar/entertainment area. We were trying to watch a film on Sunday evening but couldn't enjoy it due to the singer belting out old songs below us. The biggest disappointment was that the hotel seems to cater mainly for elderly coach parties, of which there were 2 all the time we were there, and which meant the noise level at meal times was loud and the music playing over the speakers in the lobby was of old songs such as Edith Piaf 'je ne regrette rien'. The most modern song was Lionel Richie's 'Hello'. (And before anyone accuses us of being unsympathetic youngsters - we are aged 61 & 67!). On the plus side, the staff were excellent, the food good and the massage I had to start my birthday was very enjoyable but sadly we won't be returning to this hotel.

  • C Littlewood

  • June 2016

Lovely hotel with nice sea views and gardens. Breakfast time was very chaotic

Breakfast was like organise chaos which is okay if the breakfast's where made to order as I thought but they weren't, they where cold and poached eggs where hard.

The toast looked liked they'd been taken from other toast racks people had left. On my first morning I thought it was because it was busy so went down to breakfast later and it was quieter, but unfortunately the breakfast were the same again if not even worse. So glad I didn't have a lunch or evening meal if the breakfasts where such a disaster.

  • J STEELE

  • September 2015

holiday break

The hotel was very good and we would stay there again.

However, the service at breakfast was unacceptably slow. We wanted to leave early and arrived at breakfast at 8 am, when it opened. We were one of the first people to arrive. Even though the restaurant was not particularly busy, we waited a very long time to get served. We could only order tea/coffee and cereal to start with. When this arrived I asked the waiter if I could order the cooked breakfast and was told that I couldn't. The cooked breakfast finally arrived at 8.35 am. The breakfast was nice but the waiting of 35 minutes and the attitude of the waiter was poor.

  • Janet F

  • September 2015

Anniversary break

On arrival we found that a coach party had just arrived and the queue for check in stretched through the bar area and beyond, however we were allowed to leave our luggage, whilst we had a drink, after a very long journey.

We were then found in order that we could be ticked off the list. The room was disappointing as it was in the basement and therefore no view of the beautiful surroundings. We were able to book a table for dinner, although the dining room closed at 8.30pm. The food was good with full table service at both dinner and breakfast. Bar service in the evening on Saturday and Sunday was not very good due to a wedding on Saturday which took over the whole of the main bar area and Sunday due to an incident in one of the rooms which had to be dealt with by the barman the only member of staff who appeared to be on duty. Luckily we had booked outside events for both these evenings.

  • Andy Morrell

  • August 2015

The Headland Hotel

Hotel is very OAP orientated.

Reception girl told me I couldn't eat in restaurant even though I only wanted a table for one as I didn't book. I then went to the bar and they said there were plenty of tables in the restaurant so took me through. I wish they didn't though. Waiter put a menu in front of me and literally gave me 2 minutes too choose. He then came back with my pre-made prawn starter in 1 minute, which was vile. I sent it back and had too walk into town too get a decent meal. Not impressed to be honest. View from the front out to sea is really impressive though.

  • christopher harding

  • July 2015

The Headland Hotel

Stay was very enjoyable having to share facilities with a noisy weeding party was not acceptable.

  • debbie miles

  • May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room was small but clean and we'll maintained with a fabulous view. The food was incredible 5* standard. Will definitely return.

  • janet Long

  • September 2014

Staff excellent, service, questions solved all 100%.

Arrival and entering the hotel the important appearance and atmosphere immediate. Within minutes room key number directions needs etc. all sorted. Tea on the terrace excellent service again. Clean well presented room again staff excellent.

Amazed at the garden very relaxing and beautifully maintained. Hotel set in a beautiful area, adds to the relaxing needs of a break.