No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wookey Hole Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Wookey Hole Inn Wookey Hole, Wells, BA5 1BP
On the edge of the Mendip Hills in the village of Wookey Hole surrounded by classic walking country and stunning scenery, The Wookey Hole Inn from the outside retains a traditional pub appearance while the restaurant, rooms and ambiance appeal to couples, families and groups of all ages.

The family-run free house is ideally situated close to the historic city of Wells, beautiful Ebbor Gorge and the many tourist attractions that Somerset has to offer.
The bar offers a selection of draught continental beers, stocks the best traditional cider and local ales in the region, and all can be enjoyed in the walled sculpture garden.

There are 5 spacious en-suite rooms with either a walk-in shower or free standing bath, all have comfortable king size beds, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. A limited number of camp beds are available to accommodate families.

Pet owners are asked to provide bedding for their well behaved furry friends.

There are three chefs who provide the restaurant with dishes that are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce to suit the seasons. PLEASE NOTE:The restaurant is open 7 days a week throughout the year only closing on Sunday evenings, Christmas and Boxing day.
Picture of The Wookey Hole Inn, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
That's all

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Excellent inn, with large room. Decor was slightly quirky, but very good.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break from the City.
Great location, excellent evening meal and atmosphere. Room a little tired or unique :-) Very comfortable, very welcoming and relaxing. Buffet / cold breakfast was disappointing for the room price e.g. delivered to the room good but no hot food/fry up. As a whole room, staff, location evening meal top service.

Reviewed by
r ley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get a way from hussle and bussle
Very pleasant family run business. Made very welcome on arrival. Food was first class and the service was excellent.
Bed was comfortable and had a good nights sleep. The continental breakfast was enjoyable and enjoyed having breakfast in bed.
All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Sandra Tullett

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, 'boho chic' atmosphere and decor, great food and interesting beers

Reviewed by
G H

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something a Bit Different
Styled for two nights to explore caves at Wookey and Cheddar. The Inn is clean, comfortable and quirky, faded in parts but that adds to its charm. We loved the tiled, oval shower entrance instead of conventional curtain or door. We were warned on arrival of a limited dinner menu because the regular chef was off yet we had an excellent meal - plenty of choice, tasty food and good wine. Full works must be fantastic! We only missed dinner on the second evening because we went to see friends. The little touches make the Wookey a bit different - interesting pictures and knick-knacks in the bar, original ideas in our room and the breakfast basket delivered to the room. Friendly, helpful
and cheerful staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Deborah J

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you for a great time..... Just a couple of suggestions.
For a hotel in this category I have a couple of suggestions that would make it an all round success. Firstly towel rails (or hooks) in the bathroom would help a lot. I also found the bathroom lighting a bit of a challenge when trying to apply make-up. Secondly, if breakfast is to be eaten in the room then there should be a table to eat it off. Not everyone likes eating in bed. Personally I loved the Danish pastries but my husband would have appreciated something less sweet.
Other than these 2 comments I thought the hotel was exceptional, very friendly staff and a comfortable room. Our evening meal was delicious. Thank you for making our weekend escape so successful.

Reviewed by
Caroline Gwatkin

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Stayed very briefly over the Bank Holiday. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very sweet.

Reviewed by
Pam B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chic oasis
Fabulous funky room, the breakfast basket in the morning outside your room was a delightful change to the usual cooked breakfast you feel obliged to eat , which meant a more leisurely get up and go in the morning to the rush and leave you normally have to do.
lovely setting and nicely friendly staff.
happily recommend and stay there again
thanks

Reviewed by
sheena f

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly good ...
Nice spacious, clean room - but - being a short person trying to get in and out of a bed with a wide wooden shelf around it has left my legs covered in bruises. Breakfast delivered to your room, lovely idea just a shame there wasn't a small table and chairs to sit and eat it. The room was a bit tired looking and needs a freshen up. If the rooms were refurbished and the furniture changed I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sue Walker

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next