No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wookey Hole Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Wookey Hole Inn Wookey Hole, Wells, BA5 1BP
On the edge of the Mendip Hills in the village of Wookey Hole surrounded by classic walking country and stunning scenery, The Wookey Hole Inn from the outside retains a traditional pub appearance while the restaurant, rooms and ambiance appeal to couples, families and groups of all ages.

The family-run free house is ideally situated close to the historic city of Wells, beautiful Ebbor Gorge and the many tourist attractions that Somerset has to offer.
The bar offers a selection of draught continental beers, stocks the best traditional cider and local ales in the region, and all can be enjoyed in the walled sculpture garden.

There are 5 spacious en-suite rooms with either a walk-in shower or free standing bath, all have comfortable king size beds, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. A limited number of camp beds are available to accommodate families.

Pet owners are asked to provide bedding for their well behaved furry friends.

There are three chefs who provide the restaurant with dishes that are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce to suit the seasons. PLEASE NOTE:The restaurant is open 7 days a week throughout the year only closing on Sunday evenings, Christmas and Boxing day.
Picture of The Wookey Hole Inn, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the inn, my hosts were welcoming and informal, just how I like it.
I only stayed one night, but if time had allowed I'd have stayed another.
The food served was of the highest quality. The mussels were plump and juicy and not overwhelmed or drowned in sauce which was a refreshing change, I followed with lamb served pink and tender with seasonal vegetables cooked to my liking and presented beautifully.
The room was basic but characterful, it had a lovely stone bay window with view and a roll top bath in the bathroom. It was warm and comfortable and homely.
I would recommend to anyone who enjoys great food and a homely unstressed style of service.

Reviewed by
Will M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great lil place
Stayed 1 night over Halloween added bonus of a party when we got there .
Lovely treat of food supplied no extra charge
Friendly manager , couldn't do enough for us , made us very welcome . Only complaint was ceiling damp in shower looked like it would fall through

Reviewed by
Vicki G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Very convenient to Glastonbury town, Wookey hole caves opposite the inn, good facilities for parking. The town of wells about : miles up the road. The food is lovely so are the staff, they are very welcoming. Room very spacious, would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey p

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Inn
When you first arrive, you realise that the Inn has a great character. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The room itself was tastefully decorated, if a little dark, but again, this shows the character of the Inn. The en suite bathroom was delightfully quirky, no lock on the beautiful reclaimed door, but when it's just the two of you, it is not a problem. Comfortable king size bed. Great continental breakfast, left in a basket outside the door to take at your leisure. The piece-de-resistance is the restaurant and bar downstairs. The staff are fantastic and the food....out of this world. Great stay.

Reviewed by
T Joy

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful - relaxing and very romantic
We stayed here 1 night over the weekend due to the location, and found this inn very relaxing, with great food, a huge and well-decorated room, great location and friendly customer service. I am constantly away for business, so have a wide experience of hotels - this means i can be very picky especially when it comes to customer service. But this inn was wonderful!
We had seen excellent reviews about the restaurant so decided to try it for dinner - delicious! I had the pan-fried duck and my fiance had the bubble and squeak cake, both cooked beautifully. Our waiter (afraid i can't remember his name apart from the fact he's from Essex!) was friendly and engaging, and made us feel very welcome. The decoration is unpretentious and quirky, and i thought it was of high standard for a small country inn.
The room was massive with a comfortable bed, cute and clever bathroom, big flat screen tv, with a VHS player and a huge VHS collection outside the room for us to choose from.
Well thought-out little touches were everywhere from biscuits and tea-making facilities in our room, to crayolas at dinner for my fiance and i to draw in-jokes on our paper table cloth, not to mention breakfast discreetly brought up to our room in a basket in the morning! Breakfast was quite large with packs of cereal, milk, fresh danish pastries, a big selection of fruit and orange juice. Perfect way to start the day - lazy breakfast in bed with a newspaper and the sun streaming in.
Bed was clean and towels smelled gorgeous. Although overall room cleanliness, I would say, is not 5-star hotel quality, for me, it was fine and completely made up for by the rest. Plus this is an unpretentious country inn, so we did not mind at all.
Overall, I could not recommend this inn more, and would say it is perfectly suited for a romantic weekend getaway near great sites (Glastonbury, Wells, Cheddar gorges, Bath etc).
We might be coming back to this area in a few weeks to see some family - if so, we are definitely staying here again.

Reviewed by
Isabelle M

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
That's all

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Excellent inn, with large room. Decor was slightly quirky, but very good.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break from the City.
Great location, excellent evening meal and atmosphere. Room a little tired or unique :-) Very comfortable, very welcoming and relaxing. Buffet / cold breakfast was disappointing for the room price e.g. delivered to the room good but no hot food/fry up. As a whole room, staff, location evening meal top service.

Reviewed by
r ley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get a way from hussle and bussle
Very pleasant family run business. Made very welcome on arrival. Food was first class and the service was excellent.
Bed was comfortable and had a good nights sleep. The continental breakfast was enjoyable and enjoyed having breakfast in bed.
All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Sandra Tullett

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, 'boho chic' atmosphere and decor, great food and interesting beers

Reviewed by
G H

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next