No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wookey Hole Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Wookey Hole Inn Wookey Hole, Wells, BA5 1BP
On the edge of the Mendip Hills in the village of Wookey Hole surrounded by classic walking country and stunning scenery, The Wookey Hole Inn from the outside retains a traditional pub appearance while the restaurant, rooms and ambiance appeal to couples, families and groups of all ages.

The family-run free house is ideally situated close to the historic city of Wells, beautiful Ebbor Gorge and the many tourist attractions that Somerset has to offer.
The bar offers a selection of draught continental beers, stocks the best traditional cider and local ales in the region, and all can be enjoyed in the walled sculpture garden.

There are 5 spacious en-suite rooms with either a walk-in shower or free standing bath, all have comfortable king size beds, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. A limited number of camp beds are available to accommodate families.

Pet owners are asked to provide bedding for their well behaved furry friends.

There are three chefs who provide the restaurant with dishes that are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce to suit the seasons. PLEASE NOTE:The restaurant is open 7 days a week throughout the year only closing on Sunday evenings, Christmas and Boxing day.
Picture of The Wookey Hole Inn, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky Hotel
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Wookey Hole Inn. Still as good, the rooms are very spacious and the walk in shower is very quirky - the shower had very hot water too! The restaurant in the evening gets busy, so would recommend you book a table as soon as you arrive or before hand. You can see why they are busy though, the food is exceptional for an Inn in Wookey. They may not have a very vast menu, but what they do is superb. The Tempura Prawns are the best we ever had. They do not do breakfast as such, but you get a basket outside your door in the morning with cereal's, fruit, pastries, milk, orange juice which is a very nice touch. If you are a couple it lends to a romantic weekend away as you can have breakfast in bed, while watching TV - this is something that we don't do at home so makes a lovely change. If we ever stay in Wookey again, then we will go back to the Wookey Hole Inn with no hesitation.

Reviewed by
Beverley Noble

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Real Gem
We booked a room at The Wookey Hole Inn because we were walking the Mendip Way and were struggling to find accommodation that accepted dogs. We were very pleasantly surprised that The Wookey Hole Inn were happy for us to bring our canine companion, although by the time we checked in at 8.45pm, after a 25 mile walk, all he wanted to do was sleep! The standard of the room was excellent, the staff all lovely and the food was fantastic - the best fillet steak we have eaten in a long time.
Breakfast was a basket of pastries, cereal and fruit which arrived outside our door sometime during the night and was a perfect start to the day.
We were glad we found the hotel on Laterooms and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Carol Hughes

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
B Jones

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place, lovely people
Very hospitable, nice clean room, reasonable prices, excellent food

Reviewed by
simon h

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Good sized room and bathroom. Friendly service from people running it. Food was good, though we did have a long wait after ordering. Prices reasonable verging on a bit expensive (subjective I know.)

Reviewed by
Carl H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Post Glastonbury Festival stop
We happened upon this little gem of a hotel through late rooms as we were too tired to drive home after the festival. It was really wonderful, lovely beer garden with little fat Buddhas everywhere, felt quite spiritual and homely. The staff were very helpful, the rooms are nice if a little basic, could be 'boutiqued-up' a little for the price in our opinion. None-the-less it was comfortable, shame there wasn't a bath in our room, would have really enjoyed a soak. The restaurant is wonderful, we can not fault the food, fabulous chef. My husband was a little disappointed with the breakfast as it was just pastries, fruit and a mini box of cereal delivered to your room and left outside the door, let it down a little, especially as they have such amazing restaurant facilities. Bar was fun, atmosphere really nice and would recommend this hotel to anyone. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
L Dixon

From Merseyside, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful experience and a beautiful room, lovely staff and relaxed atmosphere
What a pleasant surprise the Wookey Hole Inn was,! Both my partner and myself were delighted with the chilled atmosphere, gorgoeus food and helpful staff. I will recommend it to my friends and look forward to staying there again. Thank you for a lovely night.

Reviewed by
Cathy Johnston

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my birthday weekend at whookie hole
This was a surprise trip for my birthday, i was so surprised by the room at the hotel, it was so quirky and different to anywhere i had ever been. The free standing bath was a joy, we filled it to the brim with bubbles as you would expect!! The breakfast in a basket was just amazing, considering we were above a very vibrant and busy pub the room was surprisingly quiet. The food was excellent in the pub too and the service very friendly, would definately recommend it.

Reviewed by
roger gretton

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great stay

Reviewed by
Sean C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Wookey
A wonderful place to escape to and a menu to match the finest in Somerset. You could not be made to feel more at home than here. The 'portal entrance' to the shower worked and looked so good. The breakfast basket delivered to your room is a great way to start the day and helps shake off the fine wine from the night before. Many thanks and love and peace.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next