Reviews - The Wookey Hole Inn


Wookey Hole Inn Wookey Hole, Wells, BA5 1BP

Price From 156.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • r ley

  • August 2014

Break from the City.

Great location, excellent evening meal and atmosphere.

Room a little tired or unique :-) Very comfortable, very welcoming and relaxing. Buffet / cold breakfast was disappointing for the room price e.g. delivered to the room good but no hot food/fry up. As a whole room, staff, location evening meal top service.

  • Sandra Tullett

  • August 2014

Get a way from hussle and bussle

Very pleasant family run business.

Made very welcome on arrival. Food was first class and the service was excellent. Bed was comfortable and had a good nights sleep. The continental breakfast was enjoyable and enjoyed having breakfast in bed.

All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • G H

  • August 2014

Lovely staff, 'boho chic' atmosphere and decor, great food and interesting beers

  • Deborah J

  • July 2014

Something a Bit Different

Styled for two nights to explore caves at Wookey and Cheddar.

The Inn is clean, comfortable and quirky, faded in parts but that adds to its charm. We loved the tiled, oval shower entrance instead of conventional curtain or door. We were warned on arrival of a limited dinner menu because the regular chef was off yet we had an excellent meal - plenty of choice, tasty food and good wine. Full works must be fantastic. We only missed dinner on the second evening because we went to see friends. The little touches make the Wookey a bit different - interesting pictures and knick-knacks in the bar, original ideas in our room and the breakfast basket delivered to the room. Friendly, helpful

and cheerful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Caroline Gwatkin

  • July 2014

Thank you for a great time..... Just a couple of suggestions.

For a hotel in this category I have a couple of suggestions that would make it an all round success.

Firstly towel rails (or hooks) in the bathroom would help a lot. I also found the bathroom lighting a bit of a challenge when trying to apply make-up. Secondly, if breakfast is to be eaten in the room then there should be a table to eat it off. Not everyone likes eating in bed. Personally I loved the Danish pastries but my husband would have appreciated something less sweet.

Other than these 2 comments I thought the hotel was exceptional, very friendly staff and a comfortable room. Our evening meal was delicious. Thank you for making our weekend escape so successful.

  • Pam B

  • May 2014

Enjoyable stay

Stayed very briefly over the Bank Holiday.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was very sweet.

  • Sue Walker

  • May 2014

Nearly good ...

Nice spacious, clean room - but - being a short person trying to get in and out of a bed with a wide wooden shelf around it has left my legs covered in bruises.

Breakfast delivered to your room, lovely idea just a shame there wasn't a small table and chairs to sit and eat it. The room was a bit tired looking and needs a freshen up. If the rooms were refurbished and the furniture changed I would stay again.

  • sheena f

  • May 2014

Chic oasis

Fabulous funky room, the breakfast basket in the morning outside your room was a delightful change to the usual cooked breakfast you feel obliged to eat , which meant a more leisurely get up and go in the morning to the rush and leave you normally have to do.

lovely setting and nicely friendly staff. happily recommend and stay there again


  • morgan b

  • April 2014

absolute gem!

One of the quirkiest little places I've ever stayed in.

Rooms are huge, beds are very comfy and the portal showers are very unique. Lovely touch by the very sociable owners leaving a basket of continental breakfast outside the door in the morning. Also, our 3 course meals was some of the best food I've tasted. All round great experience. Would highly recommend

  • Lee H

  • March 2014

What a great hotel

What a perfect place to stay, great funky rooms, super friendly hosts, fantastic food in the bar, lovely little picnic basket left outside your room for breakfast, I don't why you'd ever look to stay elsewhere if visiting the area, the Wookey Hole Inn is superb, I can't recommend it enough.