No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wookey Hole Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Wookey Hole Inn Wookey Hole, Wells, BA5 1BP
On the edge of the Mendip Hills in the village of Wookey Hole surrounded by classic walking country and stunning scenery, The Wookey Hole Inn from the outside retains a traditional pub appearance while the restaurant, rooms and ambiance appeal to couples, families and groups of all ages.

The family-run free house is ideally situated close to the historic city of Wells, beautiful Ebbor Gorge and the many tourist attractions that Somerset has to offer.
The bar offers a selection of draught continental beers, stocks the best traditional cider and local ales in the region, and all can be enjoyed in the walled sculpture garden.

There are 5 spacious en-suite rooms with either a walk-in shower or free standing bath, all have comfortable king size beds, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. A limited number of camp beds are available to accommodate families.

Pet owners are asked to provide bedding for their well behaved furry friends.

There are three chefs who provide the restaurant with dishes that are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce to suit the seasons. PLEASE NOTE:The restaurant is open 7 days a week throughout the year only closing on Sunday evenings, Christmas and Boxing day.
Picture of The Wookey Hole Inn, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Stayed very briefly over the Bank Holiday. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very sweet.

Reviewed by
Pam B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chic oasis
Fabulous funky room, the breakfast basket in the morning outside your room was a delightful change to the usual cooked breakfast you feel obliged to eat , which meant a more leisurely get up and go in the morning to the rush and leave you normally have to do.
lovely setting and nicely friendly staff.
happily recommend and stay there again
thanks

Reviewed by
sheena f

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly good ...
Nice spacious, clean room - but - being a short person trying to get in and out of a bed with a wide wooden shelf around it has left my legs covered in bruises. Breakfast delivered to your room, lovely idea just a shame there wasn't a small table and chairs to sit and eat it. The room was a bit tired looking and needs a freshen up. If the rooms were refurbished and the furniture changed I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sue Walker

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolute gem!
One of the quirkiest little places I've ever stayed in! Rooms are huge, beds are very comfy and the portal showers are very unique. Lovely touch by the very sociable owners leaving a basket of continental breakfast outside the door in the morning. Also, our 3 course meals was some of the best food I've tasted. All round great experience! Would highly recommend

Reviewed by
morgan b

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Offbeat friendly but missing some normally available features

Reviewed by
D Cameron

From Pewsey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great hotel
What a perfect place to stay, great funky rooms, super friendly hosts, fantastic food in the bar, lovely little picnic basket left outside your room for breakfast, I don't why you'd ever look to stay elsewhere if visiting the area, the Wookey Hole Inn is superb, I can't recommend it enough.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place is no hole!
Made to feel really welcome and shown to my quirky room! The room was large, colourful and clean. The quality of the food was excellent which came with excellent service. The continental breakfast was huge and varied which is delivered in a basket to your room. Shame they don't do a cooked breakfast as I can imagine it would be immense. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the opportunity arose?

Reviewed by
S Thorley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with a great atmosphere. Nice attention to detail. Staff very welcoming. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the restaurant was busy. Our room was the room was a bit cold though. Would definitely stay there again though.

Reviewed by
Lynn Tapley

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly. Very nice and cosy room, creative style.
Bathroom could do with a hook or rail for towels, extra shelves and a mirror with more light. Other than that, very nice.

Reviewed by
Elke S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

simple but efective
The room was large and the bed comfortable - and there was space for the dog. The old-fashioned bath was a treat and the water was hot. Although this is a busy pub/restaurant, the room was quiet. Downside. The room was gloomy/ There was simply not enough light. It was impossible to read in bed. One light did not work at all. But we slept well and, for one night, it worked for us.

Reviewed by
Peter Whittle

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next