No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast

4Visit England Assessed Farmhouse Ratings explained
Fern Cottage, 188 Shortwood Hill Pucklechurch, Nr Bath, BS16 9PG
Situated just outside of the quiet rural village of Pucklechurch Nr Bath, Fern Cottage is a National Award Winning bed and breakfast run by its passionate proprietors, Sue and Pete, only 20 minutes drive from the centres of Bath and Bristol. Fern Cottage is a restful rural retreat for those wishing for a weekend away from it all, and also a fantastic option for those in the area on business. Set within a pretty conservation area and surrounded by beautiful countryside in 2 acres of gardens.

Fern Cottage has proudly received 20 Awards, the most recent being on 20th May 2013 at the Visit England Awards for Excellence 2013, where we were named as one of the top 5 bed and breakfast businesses in England in the Bed and Breakfast of the Year category and received the Highly Commended Award.

The Awards we have received to date are for our food, service and hospitality. We have received the Enjoy England Breakfast Award, as well as "Finalists" in Bed and Breakfast/Guest Accommodation of the Year from South West Tourism Excellence in Tourism Awards several years' running and South West Bed & Breakfast of the Year from the Taste of the West Food & Drink Awards (2 years' running where we were up against other GOLD winners from 6 counties). We received the GOLD from Taste of the West Food & Drink Awards for 3 years' running. These Awards are only given to bed and breakfasts whose service, food and hospitality are excellent. We are also graded 4 STAR top SILVER from Visit Britain for Quality and Service to Guests. We received a SILVER for Taste of the South West, from the South West Excellence in Tourism Awards, coming second to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen in Cornwall.

Good food is a passion at Fern Cottage, and guests can enjoy an exceptional quality breakfast, using local, home grown, home-made and organic produce. The Fern Cottage breakfast menu was complimented on by top Chefs Gary Rhodes and Michael Caines on the UKTV programme Local Food Heroes, on which Sue was a Finalist for the whole of the South West.

We have a separate dining room purely for our guests, so you can take as long as you like over breakfast while you enjoy Sue's Award Winning breakfast made with home made, home grown and local ingredients. We have many Awards because of the extensive range and quality of our breakfast menu. Apart from the starters of Sue's home made Granola, fresh fruit salad, home made date/banana/walnut yogurt, you can choose from either a full cooked breakfast which includes maple cured bacon, old english rare breed pork sausages, "heavenly devilled kidneys", home made potato cake, our own delicious eggs, grilled tomatoes and sauted fresh mushrooms. Or you could try one of our Specials, either our Baked Egg, naturally dry cured smoked haddock with home made potato cakes, grilled tomato, and one of our own hen's eggs poached or our delicious herb omelette with bacon, grilled tomato and mushrooms.

Fern Cottage nestles within a two acre smallholding with the added benefit of being just 20 minutes from the centres of both Bath and Bristol. For those enjoying a leisurely break, Fern Cottage is in an ideal base from which to explore Bristol, Bath, Lacock, Castle Combe, Tyntesfield, Dyrham Park, Longleat Stonehenge, Cheddar and the Cotswolds.

Fern Cottage offers complimentary parking to all guests. There are four double en-suite rooms (two with king size beds) enjoying panoramic countryside views and located at ground floor level. This beautiful accommodation reflects the high standard of quality, attention to detail and offers affordable luxury which is complemented by excellent food and service. We have superior quality mattresses and luxurious bedding. Guests arriving at 4pm are offered a complimentary home-made cream tea on arrival. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities including Miles tea, coffee, hot chocolate, Darjeeling tea, Earl Grey tea, decaffeinated tea and each day you will have Sue's home made chocolate cookies freshly made that day placed in your room.

Stay at Fern Cottage and you can also take advantage of a 10% discount on the 2 hour sessions for the Thermae Bath Spa, or why not enjoy the hot tub situated in the garden with fantastic views from the log cabin, whatever the weather!

Business people, please phone for single occupancy rates and availability
Picture of Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast, Nr Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best B&B I have stayed in
Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Sheila H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience

I originally searched by price to find this gem, but it was immediately apparent that we had found more than just a bargain. We rang ahead as we were running a bit late and were told not to worry, that all was fine. Sue greeted us upon arrival and we did the tour of her and Pete's lovely property, flanked by tilled fields and rolling slopes. Our well thought out suite had some chocolate brownies waitng for us - freshly baked of course, and was clean and comfy.
Breakfast was a home cooked extravaganza, with Pete and Sue seeing to our needs, and happily providing much appreciated local knowledge when asked.
All in all a wonderful experience. Many thanks!

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Smart

From Plympton Park, Australia
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay and were welcomed by the owners

Reviewed by
Kathryn R

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fern Cottage is one of the best places we've ever stayed at!
We stayed for 5 days at Fern Cottage. From the minute we booked, we knew we were going to enjoy staying there. Sue and Pete were lovely people - very approachable, friendly, nothing was too much for them (they even got up early for us on 2 days for an early breakfast!), and everything was with a smile. They knew the surrounding areas very well and it was clear they loved what they did. If you like wildlife, they had a lovely array of wild birds that you could watch while having breakfast. Our room was lovely, very clean and a nice, comfy kingsize bed, and you could sit in the porch with a glass of wine, or venture into the lovely garden and enjoy the sunset (and a handful of fresh damsons straight off the tree)! We slept like logs every night! Locationwise, it was easy to get to and travel around from. Excellent value for money too - no hesitation in staying at Fern Cottage again, in fact, I've recommended this place to a few friends. Thank you Sue and Pete for making our holiday so lovely in every way. Angie and Neil :)
ps. You absolutely HAVE to try out Sue's homemade Granola, jams and baked eggs for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Angie Davidson

From Swanley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful place very well run and maintained
A lovely clean, relaxing room, where the owners met me with a friendly welcome, and were always willing to help should one require this. A good night’s sleep was had, and with such a high quality breakfast there were no complaints from me.
The location itself has numerous places to explore, as well as being within an easy drive of both Bristol and Bath. My stay was a delight and I hope to return again someday.

Reviewed by
Shane E

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Sue and Pete are absolutely amazing at their jobs, they pay attention to every little details To make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Fantastic and plentiful breakfasts. Spotless, yet homely room. lovely garden to relax in the evening! Absolute 5 stars stay.

Reviewed by
Sally L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best b and b ever.
a great little family run b and b. made to feel welcome right from the start of our stay, and the breakfast better than anything a top hotel could offer. Will most def stay there again.

Reviewed by
a holton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great stay at fern cottage. Sue and petecwere so welcoming and friendly! Will definitely go back

Reviewed by
Verity Godsall

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Having read the reviews, we thought that Fern Cottage sounded lovely. Going there only served to prove that it is. We were met by Sue at the car and she gave us a tour then we were given tea and scones in the garden. Nothing was too much trouble for either her or Pete and the quality of service was first class. As others have said, the food was excellent (I want to have the granola every morning!) and we loved that there were different (home-made) jams to try each morning.
The room was neat, tidy and perfect for our needs.
We will be returning!

Reviewed by
C Clifford

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A step away from Heaven, total comfort and good feeling surrounded with the best of views.
We stayed at the cottage for three nights. When we arrived there we were met by Sue and Pete. Sue showed us to the room and then asked us to sit at the decking and brought us Tea and Scones. They couldn't do enough for us. We enjoyed it there so much, with good natural home grown ingredients for the breakfast, eggs collected thesame morning fresh from their own garden hens. The rooms were impeccably clean, with all the necessities including toothbrushes, combes, shower gels etc. for the client's use. Comfort in the room is a priority for the owners and it shows. We cannot find any fault with this place. It is like being in heaven. Sue and Pete are very knowledgeable about their surroundings and can help with advice on where to go and how to get there, including restaurants, pubs and places of interest.

Reviewed by
Noel Tonna

From San Gwann. , Malta
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next