The Cumberland Hotel

4

2 BELLE ISLE STREET, WORKINGTON, CA142XQ

Price From 106.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (19)

58% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • shaun mcmahon

  • April 2015

Room was clean but needs updating,good service at breakfast,quality of my breakfast was ok.

  • trevor newton

  • September 2014

poor

The bed sloped.

The sausage on the breakfast was the cheapest of the cheap. Although the carpark was almost empty i was asked to move from the unreserved bay as that was the owners. But worst of all was not being given a key for the outside door and being told that if i came back late i would have to phone the owner to come and let me in...i was too polite to do this and cut my nightout short to be back for cerfew. It actually reminds me of youth hostels from my youth. This all would have been accepable for 30 quid but at 55 i feel ripped off!

  • B Cooper

  • September 2014

Clean, but very dated throughout, but excellent staff

  • Manuela H

  • September 2014

old building, very friendly couple

+ very dog friendly

+ very helpful

- wifi (extra charges) vanished every few minutes

  • M Barker-Platt

  • August 2014

In general Ok

We thought that in general the hotel was acceptable, the breakfast was not too good but the restaraunt food was fine.

The staff in general were very friendly and helpful.

  • L King

  • July 2014

Comfortable

I just needed a quiet place for an overnight stay in a busy schedule This was a well cared for hotel, with tasteful and comfortable decor and furnishings, and quietly attentive staff.

  • I Taylor

  • February 2014

Not The Ritz

Stayed here for a few nights.

Nothing special, could be picky and point out a few bits that need to be addressed, but nothing to make a fuss over. Food was good, be aware that this premises caters for coach tours with what appears to be more elderly folk, so be prepared to work round them. Staff did great job in trying to look after them and other guests. Little over priced for the stay I thought, but was a convenient base for me.

  • C Hanraads

  • February 2014

good place to stay

I found this hotel to be friendly, relaxed and reliable with atmosphere well worth staying again

  • R Brown

  • November 2013

You get what you pay for

I was disappointed with my stay at the Cumberland, the service was fine, the owners, we met the husband on arrival and his wife in the evening, I was with a colleague and we asked for separate bills as they were to be processed through work, I gave my card details and was told that there would be nothing taken off the card until we were checking out, we had an evening meal there which was average for me (rib eye steak) but my colleague had the mussels which should have been in a creamy sauce, they weren't, it was more like water, she found a piece of plastic in her meal and told the young waiter who did not have a clue what to do, nothing happened.

At breakfast, which was very good, the waitress gave ma a bill which had both of our rooms on and our meals and the full amount had been taken from my card, there was no one around to change this to separate bills which we had requested originally. I had to put the spare blanket under my fitted sheet as I could feel every spring in the mattress, the heating was not working and there was no hot water in the morning for a shower, the bar was a bit pricey bit OK, I got exactly what I paid for, a cheap overnighter in Cumbria.

  • Brian Davies

  • October 2013

Not very cheap but cheerful

Bit of a dated hotel.

Really handy for the station and town. £50 for the room. Would have been a great hotel when built, but hasn't had much maintenance since the 1950s. I'd stay there again, but wouldn't take a lass, if I was trying to impress her. The lounge looked like my Nan's front room.