No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2 - 6 Morton Road , Exmouth, EX8 1AZ
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking.

The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd, Exmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More a glorified B&B than a hotel
The hotel looks attractive on the outside but is rather tired and dated inside. The mattress was lumpy, the en-suite was cramped and there was occasionally a bad smell from the drains oustide the window. The breakfast, although plentiful, was not very good quality but the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Anne J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night stay
This is a very good value short stay hotel : comfortable, clean, up to date , quiet rooms and a better than average breakfast. Convenient to Exmouth town centre - several restaurants.

Reviewed by
John Dagg

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff
The service at The Dolphin is excellent. I phoned for advice on parking and was offered a reserved space in the car park, when we arrived the receptionist was very welcoming. Every member of staff had a bright smile. The only quibbles are minor and probably would have been sorted out if we had complained - the room didn't have a hairdryer and the sausages at breakfast on the first day tasted as if they had been on the warmer for too long. Overall a very nice stay and I would go back.

Reviewed by
Deborah S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend Break
Ideal hotel for what we wanted..... near the town centre & seafront. We got a generous discount by advance booking. Staff were friendly, helpful & efficient. We (my wife & I) she shall probably stay at the Dolphin again when next in town.

Reviewed by
C Ledger

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dolphin Review
Hotel was pleasant we had a nice room and it was near the beach. The only downside for us is that we were not told that breakfast was served on a Sunday between 8am-9am. Checkout was at 10am so we thought we would have breakfast just before we needed to checkout only to be told it was finished. We were not even offered a cup of tea/coffee although our mistake we should of asked when breakfast was. I definitely think the hotel needs to extend its breakfast hours especially on a Sunday if you have been out for the night before!!!!

Reviewed by
S Duncan

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our British/Canadian get-together
For the period ie 2 nights we were staying things were fine however we did feel that the breakfast was very basic, especially as this is a B&B Hotel. Need to send clients out non a high,

Reviewed by
Brian Sage

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for town & sea front
Friendly place, would use again.

Reviewed by
m c

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really helpful staff in arrival sorted us out with a car parking space as hard to park. Room was ample enough for an overnight stay and comfortable. 5 mins walk into town and seafront. Breakfast was good and quick service. Will use this hotel again as worth the price!

Reviewed by
kim sanders

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business
Another good little find, I spend my time finding these little places rather than stay in Premier Inns (which is my companies preferred choice!). Would use this one again.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Durham, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside hotel
Comfortable room. Good location. Friendly staff. Reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Alice P

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next