No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2 - 6 Morton Road , Exmouth, EX8 1AZ
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking.

The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd, Exmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way .Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
R Homer

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel with excellent customer service
The hotel upon arrival was clean and staff instantly friendly. The room was also very clean and bright and airy. The breakfast menu had excellent choices and again the staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, absolutely no complaints the staff were very helpful and the room was lovely.

Reviewed by
Kathleen Q

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, great location
Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding and found he hotel perfectly adequate for our needs. Parking was reserved for us as requested and the staff all very friendly and helpful. Bedroom and bathroom on the small side but we were only sleeping there and it was comfortable enough with tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the room. My only slight complaint would be breakfast finished too early at 9am, would have thought 10am more customer friendly.

Reviewed by
kate b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, let down by details
We had a good sized, bright, clean bedroom. Unfortunately the bathroom (loo, shower, sink) which was created by partitioning off part of the main room, was absolutely tiny, it was very hard to have a shower without bashing knees and elbows on the walls/fittings/door etc, so they have been marked down on that. Breakfast not bad, but could improve the quality of some of the ingredients and why do they only ever give you half a fried tomato? Convenient location for seafront and town and overall good value.

Reviewed by
Sally L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay with you. the staff were very friendly. Would stay there again

Reviewed by
Stephen Loman

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and relaxed
The Dolphin Hotel is large enough to have a comfortable bar in the evenings but small enough to feel like a B & B. We had a spacious family room with lots of red decor giving it a cosy feel. We had a lovely stay with nice breakfasts but our only complaint would be the bathroom. The bath was half sized so not big enough to relax in and the shower was attached to the mixer taps so hard to get the temperature right and then it would suddenly change mid shower. However it wouldn't put me off a return visit. The location is very handy for the beach and restaurant area and the welcome friendly.

Reviewed by
Rachel D

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed experience
Parking near to the hotel can be a problem at certain times of day. Very pleasant staff. Woken up at 3:30am on Sunday morning by someone knocking and shouting at front door waiting to be let in.
En-suite shower room had dated worn fittings.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Newport, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Receptionist was extremely helpful in regard to sorting out the car parking and ensuring we had everything we needed in our room. She also doubled up as the barmaid later that night and provided directions to the local facilities we needed. We paid for a twin but had a double and two singles in the same room which meant plenty of space and that was welcome. Comfortable room but there was no side table for the single bed by the window, a full length mirror would have been nice for My Wife.
The breakfast was functional but a bit lacking in taste although I am sure this was a minor blip in what was a comfortable and friendly establishment.

Reviewed by
S Swift

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3