No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2 - 6 Morton Road , Exmouth, EX8 1AZ
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking.

The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd, Exmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, clean, comfortable and inexpensive
This hotel was situated in easy walking distance of the beach and town centre. We had a pass for free parking in a car park around the corner. The room was clean and well stocked with tea and coffee and toiletries.The bed was large and comfortable.The en suite was a tight squeeze but clean and recently updated. Breakfast was very tasty and the girls serving were friendly and helpful.
It was very reasonable priced.

Reviewed by
S Longley

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don,t hesstitate book your break at the Dolphin Hotel NOW.
Due to illness,my wife had to spend her time alone at this hotel. She found the staff friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble and they made her feel comfortable and not out of place as a single guest. Breakfast. was freshly cooked and plentiful.

Reviewed by
R Ford

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Very friendly staff. A lovely room and very nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Jo Brett

From Robertsbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in Exmouth
On arrival we found there was limited parking but we were greeted by a very cheery receptionist who sorted out parking for us and allowed us to check into our room early. We found the accommodation fairly snug but comfortable, clean and extremely adequate for our short stay. Would definitely choose this hotel again for all of the above and the proximity to the town centre which was a short walk.

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would stay here again
All aspects of the hotel were first class, the room was very clean which is most important to us, staff were helpful and friendly, there was plenty of choice for breskfast and all was well cooked and presented, I reserved a parking space and this was clearly signed when we arrived. I would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Polly S

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review of hotel
I found the staff friendly and warm. There was a good mix of guests staying at hotel which is very close to beach.

Reviewed by
C Halliday

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recomended
Very nice room, comfy beds, breakfast excellent, and friendly service with a smile. What more could you ask for. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate (pleased the kids) in the room with biscuits, nice touch. Parking was a bit of a hike. Will visit again.

Reviewed by
n taylor

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly, room and furniture tired looking... Shower had signs of mould in grouting. It was clean but could do with overhaul. For the money it was not brilliant but as only staying one night and in peak season.. It was not worth making too much fuss. But if we had been staying longer would have lodged comment. Breakfast very good and could not fault helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Philip Thomas

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average accomodation in a great location
The best about the hotel is its location, only being about 5 mins walk to the beach front. The hotel is on a very quiet street with other B&Bs and the staff were friendly and very welcoming to our party. Parking has to be reserved and they did this for us when we confirmed. Laterooms don't tell you that you pay the first night on booking then the rest when you get there but that's what happens.
The hotel itself was ok, just rather tired and dated. Rooms were of an adequate size - we had a family room which consisted of one double bed and two singles, a couple of chest of drawers and a wardrobe. The ensuite bathroom really let the room down in our opinion, the shower didn't work properly and the hot water was scalding hot. Mid shower, the water temperature would switch from icy cold to piping hot and no amount of adjustment would fix it! The bathroom itself was clean and towels changed daily but the bathroom was very dated and had a slightly stale urine smell about it. Beds were fairly comfortable but all if us itched like mad every morning so not sure what was going on there!
The breakfast was good, with a good selection of cooked and continental items. We had the full English which was done to our satisfaction, just could have been a little more generous with portion size maybe. All in all a good enough base to rest our heads. Didn't really feel it was value for money given the price paid but hey its the UK so we're used to it!

Reviewed by
R Lobban

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in Exmouth
A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very pleasant venue, and very convenient location. I particularly enjoyed the sliced, fried mushrooms which I had for breakfast, along with all the usual. They were very tasty, and in generous portion. Slight drawback was hearing the extractor fan from the next room's shower or toilet, at rather too early an hour.

Reviewed by
PETER C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next