No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LANSDOWN ROAD , BATH, BA1 5EH
Dating back to 1770, and holding grade 2 listed status, The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a beautifully preserved, stone-built Georgian building , tall and elegant with high ceilings and ornate, intricate plaster work, believed to be one of the oldest hotels in Bath. With delightful views over the Georgian part of the city and the wooded hills beyond, The Lansdown Grove is in a superb location being just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bath with all the magnificent historic buildings and stunning architecture it has to offer.

The Hotel boasts beautifully refurbished public areas including comfortable lounges with adjacent bar, and a spacious and elegant dining room offering a choice selection of mouth watering dishes each evening from both our "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus . We are also blessed with having some beautiful gardens within the Hotel grounds including a secluded and relaxing patio area and garden terrace. Free Wi-Fi access is also provided throughout the Hotel.

All our bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and contain everything you would expect from a modern establishment, including en-suite bathrooms, TV, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Wifi access and facilities to make a hot beverage.
Picture of The Lansdown Grove Hotel, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather tired and in need of repainting and carpeting. Areas that had been decorated are mismatched and old fashioned.except for back car park and extension which bizarrely looked smart and modern. Nice position overlooking town.
Spacious room with double and single bed. Plenty of hot water for bath.
Some staff helpful but others rather unfriendly.

Reviewed by
Rebecca D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good basic hotel
A nice quiet hotel for a short visit to Bath. It's built on several levels, frpm what seems like several different houses, so it's a bit confusing to navigate. Our room had a good view over the city. It was quiet and reasonably furnished, although in need of a little refurbishment. The breakfast was standard English - fry-up, toast and marmelade, etc. Ok, apart from the vegetarian sausage, which I can't recommend! But beware if you're thinking of walking down to the city center - the walk back up is a killer! Parking in the center is very restricted, so if you're at all doubtful, get the Park-and-Ride bus on the way back.

Reviewed by
J Moyles

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room smelt funny and Breakfast was cold
When we arrived at the hotel, the reception was dimly lit and not very welcoming. The receptionist gave us our room key, which the fob looked cigarette stained and melted. We got into the lift, which was only big enough for 2 people and a case. It was covered in carpet which was really dark and not very nice. This smelt of cigarette smoke. Upon finding our room, we opened the door to a very unwelcoming smell. It smelt like an old peoples home. We had a look around, and went into the bathroom. This absolutely stunk, smelt unclean and like mould was growing. We looked up and on the ceiling was a stain from what looked like a leak which hadn't been dealt with.
We went for breakfast the next morning, and were given a menu. We ordered a full English breakfast, and were both asked if we wanted it straight away or if we wanted to cereal first. We both wanted some cereal first. I went up to get some cereal and I hadn't even sat down when our breakfasts were delivered to our table. The food was warm only, in fact it was colder than that. The half a tomato was longer than the sausage and it was just not very nice. The best part was the poached egg. We left the restaurant and collected our things, checked out and never looked back! - Wouldn't recommend and definitely wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
C Mawby

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
It was pleasant stay and i will come back again. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
EILEEN N

From SPALDING, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lansdown Grove, Bath
Friendly, helpful and professional reception. Breakfast good, reasonably priced and promptly served. Room clean, comfortable and roomy and serviced smoothly & unobtrusively. A very pleasant stay in a beautiful city.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Bath
The decor was a little tired, but the staff were lovely and my room was fantastic with superbe views over the whole of Bath. My room was also light and sunny and the ensuite perfect for a well deserved bath.
The garden was great to relax in in the evening sun before dinner - my stay couldn't have been better.

Reviewed by
JULIA C

From NR. Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and value but needs updating
Room was large, comfy bed, plenty of storage and chairs etc, big TV and decent size bathroom.
Our room had access to the rear car park which made loading up the car easy, however, it would have been good to have been told this when checking in to save carrying our baby and all our luggage around the hotel.
The hotel could of done with some updating and decorating but it was clean. Staff were helpful.
Wi-fi worked OK in our room but was patchy downstairs in the restaurant.
Breakfast was included and there was a good selection.
The hotel location was good for exploring Bath - it is up a steep hill but then so is everywhere in Bath!

Reviewed by
Jonathan D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great room and lovely staff! Only let down was the breakfast was pretty poor
This is a great hotel and we loved our room. It was really clean and the staff were really nice and helpful. Breakfast was the only negative! It was not nice at all and my hubby couldn't eat his. It's a great location and great for keeping fit with the climb back up! Would stay there again but wouldn't have a hot breakfast

Reviewed by
Emma Plumley

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideally situated in Bath
Well situated in Bath.Very good value for money and well presented; also found the staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
patrick m

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent last minute stop-over in Bath
I've often driven past this hotel on one of the main roads in and out of bath but neverv stayed there til now. It was a great place - easy to get to and park. Very good value for money. Room was queit and comfortable with a lot of period features and great view. Bathroom was huge. Very close to town and an easy walk in (down-hill) and cheap taxi back. Breakfast was part buffet and part freshly made and was perfect. Can't recommend the place enough. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
David S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next