No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LANSDOWN ROAD , BATH, BA1 5EH
Dating back to 1770, and holding grade 2 listed status, The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a beautifully preserved, stone-built Georgian building , tall and elegant with high ceilings and ornate, intricate plaster work, believed to be one of the oldest hotels in Bath. With delightful views over the Georgian part of the city and the wooded hills beyond, The Lansdown Grove is in a superb location being just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bath with all the magnificent historic buildings and stunning architecture it has to offer.

The Hotel boasts beautifully refurbished public areas including comfortable lounges with adjacent bar, and a spacious and elegant dining room offering a choice selection of mouth watering dishes each evening from both our "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus . We are also blessed with having some beautiful gardens within the Hotel grounds including a secluded and relaxing patio area and garden terrace. Free Wi-Fi access is also provided throughout the Hotel.

All our bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and contain everything you would expect from a modern establishment, including en-suite bathrooms, TV, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Wifi access and facilities to make a hot beverage.
Picture of The Lansdown Grove Hotel, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Bath
The decor was a little tired, but the staff were lovely and my room was fantastic with superbe views over the whole of Bath. My room was also light and sunny and the ensuite perfect for a well deserved bath.
The garden was great to relax in in the evening sun before dinner - my stay couldn't have been better.

Reviewed by
JULIA C

From NR. Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and value but needs updating
Room was large, comfy bed, plenty of storage and chairs etc, big TV and decent size bathroom.
Our room had access to the rear car park which made loading up the car easy, however, it would have been good to have been told this when checking in to save carrying our baby and all our luggage around the hotel.
The hotel could of done with some updating and decorating but it was clean. Staff were helpful.
Wi-fi worked OK in our room but was patchy downstairs in the restaurant.
Breakfast was included and there was a good selection.
The hotel location was good for exploring Bath - it is up a steep hill but then so is everywhere in Bath!

Reviewed by
Jonathan D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great room and lovely staff! Only let down was the breakfast was pretty poor
This is a great hotel and we loved our room. It was really clean and the staff were really nice and helpful. Breakfast was the only negative! It was not nice at all and my hubby couldn't eat his. It's a great location and great for keeping fit with the climb back up! Would stay there again but wouldn't have a hot breakfast

Reviewed by
Emma Plumley

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideally situated in Bath
Well situated in Bath.Very good value for money and well presented; also found the staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
patrick m

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent last minute stop-over in Bath
I've often driven past this hotel on one of the main roads in and out of bath but neverv stayed there til now. It was a great place - easy to get to and park. Very good value for money. Room was queit and comfortable with a lot of period features and great view. Bathroom was huge. Very close to town and an easy walk in (down-hill) and cheap taxi back. Breakfast was part buffet and part freshly made and was perfect. Can't recommend the place enough. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
David S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
Stayed here on a Sunday, restaurant was nice and full, all staff attentive and smart, room was great (particularly for the price) and nice big bathroom. I could hear everything from the rooms around me though so not for light sleepers! It's quite a hike up a hill but it's a nice walk. The hotel, while very clean, is a little dated though and could do with a refurb.

Reviewed by
Kirsty H

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel - book it
Wow - what a great stay we had here. This hotel for me had everything - right from the minute we walked in the door we were granted by a super helpful receptionist who promptly sorted us a map with Bath attractions and the bus schedule without us even asking! This Hotel was central to all the tourist attractions you would want to visit in Bath - it's all within walking distance. Our room was so large and my partner and I joked we had room for 2 other people in our bed and soundproofing was great - no noise from other rooms. The bathroom had all we needed including an awesome shower and was clean and well decorated. The breakfast service was exemplary, we were greeted as we entered and promptly sorted out with toast and a fresh pot of tea (or coffee) and you could help yourself to continental or order your full English how you wanted it.
I read a few reviews on LateRooms.com that said a downside was there were a lot of old people - and there was. I think we were the only couple under 65, however that didn't bother me, older people are polite and don't make a racket in their room. Plus when we stay in a Hotel we hang out in the city, not our room. So if you're after an incredibly comfortable room with all the high class service that comes with the price I say book it.

Reviewed by
Paula M

From Kilgetty, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, will use again.
Last minute birthday treat for my hubby, lovely building, friendly staff, let us leave the car in the car park while we spent the day in bath which saved a fortune. Lovey room with balcony and fab view and easy to get to the car park. Fab breakfast in the morning. ( could do with fitted bed sheets) .
Would recommend it for everyone. Thank-you for a great stay, will use again.

Reviewed by
Paula Atkinson

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed Stay
I have stayed in many hotels and have not enjoyed any as much as my time at this one. Staff were excellent and the location perfect for a stay in Bath as there is plenty of parking available at the hotel.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough if you want a relaxing stay and like the feel of a proper old style hotel environment.

Reviewed by
gavin h

From Tonypandy, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet get away
The room was nice, the shower was particularly good. Breakfast was ok but nothing to shout about.

Reviewed by
M Blandford

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next