No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LANSDOWN ROAD , BATH, BA1 5EH
Dating back to 1770, and holding grade 2 listed status, The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a beautifully preserved, stone-built Georgian building , tall and elegant with high ceilings and ornate, intricate plaster work, believed to be one of the oldest hotels in Bath. With delightful views over the Georgian part of the city and the wooded hills beyond, The Lansdown Grove is in a superb location being just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bath with all the magnificent historic buildings and stunning architecture it has to offer.

The Hotel boasts beautifully refurbished public areas including comfortable lounges with adjacent bar, and a spacious and elegant dining room offering a choice selection of mouth watering dishes each evening from both our "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus . We are also blessed with having some beautiful gardens within the Hotel grounds including a secluded and relaxing patio area and garden terrace. Free Wi-Fi access is also provided throughout the Hotel.

All our bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and contain everything you would expect from a modern establishment, including en-suite bathrooms, TV, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Wifi access and facilities to make a hot beverage.
Picture of The Lansdown Grove Hotel, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival the man behind the desk was not particularly friendly or helpful in regard to parking my car.
On departure we were ignored by a different gentleman at the desk as he served anotber customer and did not answer tbe question I had asked. However there was a female member of staff who was present at both times and she was efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Karen Fisher

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and lovely rooms
Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Very close to the centre of Bath, with parking. Had everything I needed; wifi, nice big room, decent shower etc. Breakfast was very good also.

Reviewed by
J Barry

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect location
After a long drive we received a warm welcome, our every need was addressed and we were made to feel at home and relaxed.

Reviewed by
LARRY MEAGHER

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel
Only stayed for one night but it was really good. Some of the fittings. e.g. bathroom tiles and squeaky floorboards need some attention but overall the hotel has a real touch of class. We liked it.

Reviewed by
Richard O

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent breakfast, very quick and efficient service in the hotel.

Reviewed by
David H

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with a bygone charm, that was good value, clean, friendly, in a great location, with Parking

Reviewed by
Mark Boon

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated but clean
There are negatives and positives about the hotel, on the negative side it was well overdue a refit as the decor is very dated and worn. The food is nothing special and not very well cooked althought there was plenty of it. Trying to be a three/four star hotel when at most it would warrant a two at very best. On the positive side, stunning views from the third floor over Bath. The rooms were very clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I'm glad I got the room at a reduced rate as I'd have been sorely disappointed if I'd paid full price.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather tired and in need of repainting and carpeting. Areas that had been decorated are mismatched and old fashioned.except for back car park and extension which bizarrely looked smart and modern. Nice position overlooking town.
Spacious room with double and single bed. Plenty of hot water for bath.
Some staff helpful but others rather unfriendly.

Reviewed by
Rebecca D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good basic hotel
A nice quiet hotel for a short visit to Bath. It's built on several levels, frpm what seems like several different houses, so it's a bit confusing to navigate. Our room had a good view over the city. It was quiet and reasonably furnished, although in need of a little refurbishment. The breakfast was standard English - fry-up, toast and marmelade, etc. Ok, apart from the vegetarian sausage, which I can't recommend! But beware if you're thinking of walking down to the city center - the walk back up is a killer! Parking in the center is very restricted, so if you're at all doubtful, get the Park-and-Ride bus on the way back.

Reviewed by
J Moyles

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room smelt funny and Breakfast was cold
When we arrived at the hotel, the reception was dimly lit and not very welcoming. The receptionist gave us our room key, which the fob looked cigarette stained and melted. We got into the lift, which was only big enough for 2 people and a case. It was covered in carpet which was really dark and not very nice. This smelt of cigarette smoke. Upon finding our room, we opened the door to a very unwelcoming smell. It smelt like an old peoples home. We had a look around, and went into the bathroom. This absolutely stunk, smelt unclean and like mould was growing. We looked up and on the ceiling was a stain from what looked like a leak which hadn't been dealt with.
We went for breakfast the next morning, and were given a menu. We ordered a full English breakfast, and were both asked if we wanted it straight away or if we wanted to cereal first. We both wanted some cereal first. I went up to get some cereal and I hadn't even sat down when our breakfasts were delivered to our table. The food was warm only, in fact it was colder than that. The half a tomato was longer than the sausage and it was just not very nice. The best part was the poached egg. We left the restaurant and collected our things, checked out and never looked back! - Wouldn't recommend and definitely wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
C Mawby

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next