Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Michael Skinner

  • August 2014

Quality hotel 15 min downhill walk to city centre.

Taxi back less than a fiver.

  • Raymond W

  • August 2014

Lansdowne Grove - a great find

Having decided on a short break to Bath it only remained to find nice accommodation.

We didn't want to do 'budget' and felt that the price we wanted to pay would get us somewhere nice. We weren't disappointed. Every member of staff we met was courteous and helpful, giving us useful information about travelling to and from the hotel and places to visit in the City. We parked the car in an allocated bay (which was ours for the duration) and forgot about driving until we left. The location was perfect for visiting the City with a bus service every 15-minutes. If feeling energetic it's an easy 20 minute walk downhill from the hotel (passing a great bookshop on the way) and a slightly longer uphill return journey - it IS a steep hill, which is the only minor negative I could think of after a day sightseeing. We booked a superior double room which opened onto a lovely semi-private terrace with walkways to the beautiful upper garden then steps down to the main garden. Food was prepared to a high standard and the service was prompt with staff genuinely interested in our needs without being intrusive. With hindsight our regret is that we booked only two nights and Lansdowne Grove will definitely be our first choice for future visits to Bath.

  • Hugh S

  • August 2014


  • D Forsyth

  • July 2014

Excellent stay

Would recommend this hotel.

  • M Monteregge

  • July 2014

Overnight stay

The hotel is well located and on arrival a parking bay had been allocated for us.

The person at night reception was very helpful. The room (we had a superior double) was well positioned in a quiet part of the hotel and very comfortable. The staff were very polite and friendly and there is a lovely garden area outside the breakfast room. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Gareth A

  • July 2014

Charming hotel, friendly staff

The hotel was lovely to stay at, and great value for the short (10 minute) walk into town.

Just be aware how steep the hill is if you're planning to walk *back* too!

  • R Patrick

  • July 2014

Olde worlde charm

What a lovely hotel.

My wife loves Jane Austen and this hotel evoked that for her. So was already great result. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was a Superior and was roomy and comfortable and quiet. The shower was over a bath which is as good as it can be. Breakfast was as per usual, nothing special but staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Jon Ramsey

  • July 2014

A nice hotel, with any easy walk to the town, 10 minutes, slightly more up hill on the way back but it's a nice walk.

Great staff, rooms were good and breakfast was better than good. All in all a pleasant stay and we will go back. Only negative is that carpets were all dated. A really friendly place.

  • Rosie C

  • June 2014

Night for the races....

The 3 stars at the door are probably about right for this hotel.

Bed was very comfy, bathroom clean etc but oh so warm. Even with the fan found in the wardrobe the room was so hot....tantalisingly placed air con controls in the room just rubbed it in. Breakfast was good. We had a drink in the bar after we got back from the races which was slightly lacking in atmosphere but never fear for loud, disruptive guests. This hotel seems to be used as a coach trip base so the clientele are of the older age bracket. So a peaceful stay, useful for the racecourse....walk into town is downhill but us whipper snapper didn't find it touch of a problem getting back up ;-) We'd stay again if we were in bath again.

  • Jon B

  • June 2014


Single room is functional but decoratively tired esp.

the stained bath.