No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LANSDOWN ROAD , BATH, BA1 5EH
Dating back to 1770, and holding grade 2 listed status, The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a beautifully preserved, stone-built Georgian building , tall and elegant with high ceilings and ornate, intricate plaster work, believed to be one of the oldest hotels in Bath. With delightful views over the Georgian part of the city and the wooded hills beyond, The Lansdown Grove is in a superb location being just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bath with all the magnificent historic buildings and stunning architecture it has to offer.

The Hotel boasts beautifully refurbished public areas including comfortable lounges with adjacent bar, and a spacious and elegant dining room offering a choice selection of mouth watering dishes each evening from both our "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus . We are also blessed with having some beautiful gardens within the Hotel grounds including a secluded and relaxing patio area and garden terrace. Free Wi-Fi access is also provided throughout the Hotel.

All our bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and contain everything you would expect from a modern establishment, including en-suite bathrooms, TV, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Wifi access and facilities to make a hot beverage.
Picture of The Lansdown Grove Hotel, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde worlde charm
What a lovely hotel. My wife loves Jane Austen and this hotel evoked that for her. So was already great result. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was a Superior and was roomy and comfortable and quiet. The shower was over a bath which is as good as it can be. Breakfast was as per usual, nothing special but staff were friendly and attentive.

Reviewed by
R Patrick

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Single room is functional but decoratively tired esp. the stained bath.

Reviewed by
Jon B

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand and very pleasant
The hotel is of grand proportions and my room was excellent with spacious high ceilings and all modern facilities. I also had French windows that opened onto a terrace - lovely as the weather was very warm.
The service was good although it did feel like being in a foreign country - even the argument going on in the kitchen was in a foreign language.
There was plenty of parking and the hotel is very convenient for the centre of Bath - I would recommend.

Reviewed by
Barbara Jones

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, very friendly staff, beautiful dining room setting

Reviewed by
D Anstey

From Slough, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well priced and very convient for seeing Bath

Reviewed by
S Jenkins

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Good overnight parking, very pleasant & helpful staff & a great breakfast. What more could you want for an overnight stay ( except for a shower unit in the room, as at 85 I find clambering in & out of a bath a difficult exercise)

Reviewed by
C Brown

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit tired
Stayed at the Lansdowne Grove Hotel in Bath for 1 night in May. The room was clean and spacious but the bathroom particularly and the communal areas - reception, corridors and (carpeted-wall) lift were all very tired. Other residents commented on it as we passed them in the corridor too. Breakfast was perfectly fine so if you can't find anywhere else then its okay and clean (if you don't mind the big hill down and back to Bath centre which we didn't) but I'm not sure it was worth the £114 we paid per night.

Reviewed by
Rachael P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff

Reviewed by
t drewson

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay :)
Nice place would stay again :)

Reviewed by
james g

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable overnight stay
Customer service was excellent at this hotel, especially reception and bar staff. Room a little pricey but large extremely clean room. Dinner in restaurant was a bit disappointing and difficult as placed next to a (seemingly drunk) complainer and food was not the best (but we were eating late). However breakfast was great so overall our choice of hotel, for our overnight Bath city break, was a good one.

Reviewed by
G Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next