No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LANSDOWN ROAD , BATH, BA1 5EH
Dating back to 1770, and holding grade 2 listed status, The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a beautifully preserved, stone-built Georgian building , tall and elegant with high ceilings and ornate, intricate plaster work, believed to be one of the oldest hotels in Bath. With delightful views over the Georgian part of the city and the wooded hills beyond, The Lansdown Grove is in a superb location being just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bath with all the magnificent historic buildings and stunning architecture it has to offer.

The Hotel boasts beautifully refurbished public areas including comfortable lounges with adjacent bar, and a spacious and elegant dining room offering a choice selection of mouth watering dishes each evening from both our "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus . We are also blessed with having some beautiful gardens within the Hotel grounds including a secluded and relaxing patio area and garden terrace. Free Wi-Fi access is also provided throughout the Hotel.

All our bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and contain everything you would expect from a modern establishment, including en-suite bathrooms, TV, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Wifi access and facilities to make a hot beverage.
Picture of The Lansdown Grove Hotel, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suited us
Would certainly recommend the Ambassador rooms which we had, and we were also pleased that the hotel managed to fulfil our requests for adjoining rooms and a reserved parking space. The staff were friendly and helpful and, whilst the hotel is a steep walk back from the centre, there is a bus service which stops right outside for anyone who finds it too much.

Reviewed by
John T

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rugby special
All good. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
J Godwin

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel 15 min downhill walk to city centre. Taxi back less than a fiver.

Reviewed by
Michael Skinner

From Staines, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lansdowne Grove - a great find
Having decided on a short break to Bath it only remained to find nice accommodation. We didn't want to do 'budget' and felt that the price we wanted to pay would get us somewhere nice. We weren't disappointed.
Every member of staff we met was courteous and helpful, giving us useful information about travelling to and from the hotel and places to visit in the City.
We parked the car in an allocated bay (which was ours for the duration) and forgot about driving until we left. The location was perfect for visiting the City with a bus service every 15-minutes. If feeling energetic it's an easy 20 minute walk downhill from the hotel (passing a great bookshop on the way) and a slightly longer uphill return journey - it IS a steep hill, which is the only minor negative I could think of after a day sightseeing.
We booked a superior double room which opened onto a lovely semi-private terrace with walkways to the beautiful upper garden then steps down to the main garden.
Food was prepared to a high standard and the service was prompt with staff genuinely interested in our needs without being intrusive.
With hindsight our regret is that we booked only two nights and Lansdowne Grove will definitely be our first choice for future visits to Bath.

Reviewed by
Raymond W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/A

Reviewed by
Hugh S

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
D Forsyth

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The hotel is well located and on arrival a parking bay had been allocated for us. The person at night reception was very helpful. The room (we had a superior double) was well positioned in a quiet part of the hotel and very comfortable. The staff were very polite and friendly and there is a lovely garden area outside the breakfast room. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
M Monteregge

From Kingston Upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel, with any easy walk to the town, 10 minutes, slightly more up hill on the way back but it's a nice walk. Great staff, rooms were good and breakfast was better than good. All in all a pleasant stay and we will go back. Only negative is that carpets were all dated. A really friendly place.

Reviewed by
Jon Ramsey

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel, friendly staff
The hotel was lovely to stay at, and great value for the short (10 minute) walk into town. Just be aware how steep the hill is if you're planning to walk *back* too!

Reviewed by
Gareth A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night for the races....
The 3 stars at the door are probably about right for this hotel. Bed was very comfy, bathroom clean etc but oh so warm! Even with the fan found in the wardrobe the room was so hot....tantalisingly placed air con controls in the room just rubbed it in! Breakfast was good. We had a drink in the bar after we got back from the races which was slightly lacking in atmosphere but never fear for loud, disruptive guests. This hotel seems to be used as a coach trip base so the clientele are of the older age bracket. So a peaceful stay, useful for the racecourse....walk into town is downhill but us whipper snapper didn't find it touch of a problem getting back up ;-) We'd stay again if we were in bath again.

Reviewed by
Rosie C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next