No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wood Norton

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Worcester Road A44 Wood Norton, EVESHAM, WR11 4YB
A fine Grade II listed Victorian house located in the Vale of Evesham with easy access to historic Worcester, Regency Cheltenham and Shakespeare’s Stratford-upon-Avon.
The Wood Norton is a boutique hotel with royal connections, having been built originally as a hunting lodge for European Royalty in 1897. In 2012, following a complete restoration, The Wood Norton will once again be at the center of hospitality in Worcestershire.
The fifty bedrooms will offer everything from stately three roomed suite’s in the hall to beautifully crafted bedrooms in Pear Tree Mews.
In the hall, The original oak parquet, paneled walls and exquisite fireplaces all vie for your attention – enter The Wood Norton Bar though and prepare to be dazzled by the specially commissioned pewter bar and the eclectic mix of old and new. In The Restaurant at The Wood Norton, superlative British cuisine will be on offer – nurturing local producers and ingredients - in a relaxed professional environment; both of these rooms looking out over the dining terrace or formal gardens and the view beyond – a real window on Worcestershire

With all of this style The Wood Norton is the perfect venue for weddings and any other kind of private celebration - board meetings, conferences and other corporate events.
Picture of The Wood Norton, EVESHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing couple of days
Quiet location, suited for couples, newly planted grounds which will look good in years to come, bar food good, service with a smile, rooms large and comfortable well cleaned. Would go back.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special weekend get away!!
All aspects of the hotel superb.A very relaxing atmosphere.Staff very friendly and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was excellant.

Reviewed by
M Mckechan

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spectacular hotel
we were late booking accomodation for trip to cheltenham and found this hotel by chance. Recently opened as hotel in autumn 2012, we stayed in annexe which was close to main hotel. Hotel itself is spectacular both inside and out, our annexe bedroom was very large with large bed and large bathroom and extremely clean. Breakfast was served in the hotel and staff were very helpful and friendly - not a bother to ask for extra toast etc or something not quite like the menu was offering. We had meal in the hotel on thr first night and that too was lovely. No full length morror in room was only comment from my wife but i was told that these have been ordered!! Would definitely stay again and have recommended to friends.

Reviewed by
David A

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Costly
Beautiful but very expensive for what you get

Reviewed by
D Loveridge

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newly refurbished but lacking the X factor
We arrived expecting to have a room in the main hotel, but were given a room in the annex to the rear of the property. We were not shown our room or given an offer of assistance with baggage particularly when the parking is a trek. The hotel is still under refurbishment? and although the room was clean we found that the toilet seat was not fitted properly and the shower screen leaked badly onto the floor. The quality of the finish in the bathroom was not as good as you would expect of a newly refurbished hotel. We were not felt to feel particularly welcome and subsequently decided to have our evening meal elsewhere. Although the hotel was clean and tidy it lacked warmth/appeal and the lack of any open log fire did not add to the the experience. If you don`t mind having breakfast with the BBC trainees it`s OK................

Reviewed by
S Walsh

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel has gone a recent refurbishment.the rooms we stayed in the annexe were still part of the historic building.high ceilings very large comfortable bed with a very high standard of soft furnishings.the hotel car park is on a steep slope so i had to drop my mother at reception before parking so not recommended if both the party have walking difficulties.the breakfast was superb very high standard using local ingredients but wasnt happy with bucks fizz thrust upon us as we entered dining room but thats just personal preference.

Reviewed by
N Ford

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel - clean, modern and picturesque.
It was very difficult to fault this stay! Picturesque property and surrounding area, welcoming friendly staff, hotel rooms and facilities were clean and modern, and reasonable food.
Only a couple of negative points that I could pick up on really. Firstly, the hotel car park is a few hundred metres from the main hotel. It isn't a problem upon arrival, as you can unload in the drop off area, but when coming/going on following occasions, it's a little annoying. Especially when it's raining! The second slight fault we found was with breakfast on the first day (of a two day stay). Maybe the restaurant was a little understaffed, but we spent a long time waiting for our initial order to be taken, and then even longer until any hot drinks arrived. When the cooked breakfast did finally arrive, my partner was a little puzzled to find that she was only given a single poached egg and half a potato cake. Whilst she did ask for only these items from the breakfast, it seems as though common sense should prevail a little, and a reasonable portion of each be served. I took the entire cooked breakfast option, and was given the same sized portions of egg and potato, along with 8 other items... More annoying than anything though!

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with a great future
Lovely setting (one can ignore the road) when mature the landscaping will be excellent.
Some teething niggles, but very comfortable, and well thought out. A fascinating building, which has great appeal. Any temporary glitches more than compensated for by the excellent staff, who strike just the right note.

Reviewed by
PG S

From Sturminster Newton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice break
It was a lovely place to stay, it didn't feel like your conventional hotel as we were actually staying adjacent to the main building. Room was better then we expected and given that it only opened in Autumn 2012 there was good service all round. Though, it was a little too warm at times and no breeze when we opened the window, the lighting was little to dark in the room. Overall, it was a wonderful break with lovely restaurants nearby in evesham and worcester - we ate out as the hotel prices were too expensive.

Reviewed by
R Ali

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel Excellent
A wonderful hotel with lots of potential. The hotel had been open 4 weeks when we stayed. A beautiful hotel with lots of history and original features that have been retained during their recent refurbishment
We stayed in the Pear Tree mews annex and the rooms were amazing, contemporary and very comfy. Food was wonderful we ate in the bar but the standard was restaurant quality and the desert was really tasty ! Service was excellent from all staff, especially the bar. The team there are very keen to make your stay a memorable one. The gardens were still being landscaped but we will be back to see how they have developed next year. Fantastic place!

Reviewed by
Alison Ashworth

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next