No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wood Norton

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Worcester Road A44 Wood Norton, EVESHAM, WR11 4YB
A fine Grade II listed Victorian house located in the Vale of Evesham with easy access to historic Worcester, Regency Cheltenham and Shakespeare’s Stratford-upon-Avon.
The Wood Norton is a boutique hotel with royal connections, having been built originally as a hunting lodge for European Royalty in 1897. In 2012, following a complete restoration, The Wood Norton will once again be at the center of hospitality in Worcestershire.
The fifty bedrooms will offer everything from stately three roomed suite’s in the hall to beautifully crafted bedrooms in Pear Tree Mews.
In the hall, The original oak parquet, paneled walls and exquisite fireplaces all vie for your attention – enter The Wood Norton Bar though and prepare to be dazzled by the specially commissioned pewter bar and the eclectic mix of old and new. In The Restaurant at The Wood Norton, superlative British cuisine will be on offer – nurturing local producers and ingredients - in a relaxed professional environment; both of these rooms looking out over the dining terrace or formal gardens and the view beyond – a real window on Worcestershire

With all of this style The Wood Norton is the perfect venue for weddings and any other kind of private celebration - board meetings, conferences and other corporate events.
Picture of The Wood Norton, EVESHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay in beautiful surroundings
The hotel is very imposing as you arrive at the entrance. Inside has been done sympathetically with a great result.
The bedroom was well equipt and clean although there were cobwebs on the ceiling which have obviously been overlooked.
We had lovely service particularly at breakfast where the choice is good and very tasty. The eggs benedict are well worth a try.
Take time to wander through the gardens as they are beautiful and more is being done in other areas of the grounds to extend them.
We had a lovely all round stay and would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wood Norton.
I have now stayed at two "Bespoke hotels" the other being Wyck Hill House. Wood Norton is a recently refurbished hotel with an on going land scaping to the rear.. We stayed in the "Pear Tree" apartments on the second floor which are all redecorated and comfortable. For people with walking difficultys could find the incline to the apartments and stairs a bit of an effort as no lift is available. The main building is very nice indeed and a stay in a room their would be preferable although more expensive. Staff are very helpfull and breakfast excellent. The main visiting attractions are not to far away, so overall not a bad location, but Wyck Hill House is preferable for us.

Reviewed by
MARK GARNER

From LEICESTER, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, clean, comfortable room. Excellent nights sleep. Excellent evening meal. Breakfast service not a good.

Reviewed by
Jo R

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend at Wood Norton
A very enjoyable weekend.
We were in Pear Tree Mews room and I did think it might be worthwhile upgrading in case they were not as good as we hoped for but we couldn't have been more wrong The room was as good as any hotel we have stayed in it just wasn't in the main house. The food in the restaurant was superb fine dinning with service to match, one lady did comment on the portions but if you want a large plate of pie n chips stay somewhere else. We are already planning another weekend there.

Reviewed by
S Cross

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Upon arrival we were greated by a wonderfully imposing and enchanting building which was steeped in history and set in well kept grounds. The helpful receptionist furnished us with an info pack that held details of the hotels long history. The bar was very modern and plush and drinks were what I consider to be very reasonable for a hotel. Our room was large and we sank into the bed, it was unbelieveably comfy - due to the cosy topper and excellent pillows. Behind the bar area was a snooker room along with various cosy snugs all with detailed wood pannelling and log fires. Our cooked breakfast the following morning was a little slow to arrive and it tasted like it had been reheated. The second morning service was better and the breakfast was too!
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would love to re-vist in the winter. The only let down was that it was haunted and it didn't have a spa and pool.

Reviewed by
Carrie S

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Country House Hotel
Set in wonderful grounds this beautifully restored country house hotel provides an excellent base for exploring the Cotswolds and Worcestershire countryside. Combining this with the excellent restaurant and attentive staff makes this the ideal destination for rural break.

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary break
Visited this hotel last year on the opening week fab place .have just been back for 20th anniversary got a free upgrade couldn't fault anything.staff friendly food excellent everywhere spotless will be returning next year .

Reviewed by
Pauline Barr

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is full of character and set in a great location, staff and level of service is excellent, rooms are very comfortable. Hope to visit again.

Reviewed by
Peter Fowler

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we expected
We stayed in the courtyard annexe, very modern, clean and extremely comfortable beds. Tv was a bit hit and miss but didn't really matter to us. We ate at the bar, the menu was very unexciting and not much to choose [no chicken] we had the steak, good value but hate eating off wooden boards. Table far too small for four people to dine in comfort. The breakfast was very good, nice choices and good service from all staff. Enjoyed our stay. it was good value at the reduced rate we paid.

Reviewed by
Barbara B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Experience
A very nice romantic break. The Hotel was full of character and the quality of the room was very good. I would happily recomend the restaurant as well as the food and service were top notch

Reviewed by
DAVID HADLEY

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next