The Beauchief

0

161, Abbeydale Road South, Sheffield, S7 2QW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Jørsing

  • August 2014

Good service

We was passing through Sheffield on a journey around in Britain and choose to stay at Beauchief, where I had stayed twice before about 10 years ago at two conferences.

It has got a new owner since and has change a lot since and is no longer so typical english anymore as it used to be. It's more french alike. We got two doubles at the 3th floor, the are no elevator. They were hot because of the hot weather and we could not open the windows. The 4 polled beds were very nice. The food served in the restaurant was exellent and we had very good service.

  • Michelle H

  • April 2014

Pleasant stay

The staff were excellent - really polite, friendly and helpful at all times and I couldn't fault them in any way.

The room was pretty clean, although there were little things that would have made me score it top points had they been done - like a layer of dust on pipes, dusty lights and a large mould patch on the ceiling. The shower curtain was missing and the panels weren't sufficient for the very powerful shower which meant a bit of mopping up after, but otherwise the facilities were good. Minor niggles, but not enough to spoil the stay.

  • Roger W

  • February 2014

Fine for overnight stay and convenient location for our visit.

Large room ( 4 poster bed) - spartan shabby chic style but quite comfortable, shower over bath a bit awkward to control, but bath fine. Accommodating bar staff. Food at breakfast excellent - lots of choices, Would stay again.

  • Elizabeth Bell

  • December 2013

Good location with a good bus service

My experience of the hotel was not good.

one day my room wasn't made up. The only meal I ate in the hotel was breakfast. when I went into the restaurant which wasn't busy but only one waiter on duty. A couple follow me in, my order was taken then the couples however their meal was served before mine. Sadly I left a pair of shoes behind realising my mistake I phoned within 24 hours of checking out phoned and spoke to a female receptionist who said that no shoes had been handed in and put the phone down. I phoned again the next and spoke to a male, I gave the reason for phoning and thought my request reasonable asking that housekeeping to check the room the next time they were up on the floor. He took my phone number and I'm still waiting to hear!!

  • michael naylor

  • November 2013

very satisfactory

  • o hill

  • November 2013

An excellent hotel

For a restaurant with rooms this was exceptional.

Staff very helpful and very friendly, nothing too much trouble. The restaurant was very good great menu and well cooked and very well presented. Above average food at a very reasonable price.Overall avery good stay at a very reasonable price. Would recommend the experience to any of my friends.

  • K Yule

  • September 2013

Great staff, great food

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was second to none and the building clean and well presented.

The room was fine but sleep was interrupted by early and erratic plumbing noises below us and the windows didn't drown out the sound of traffic which was surprisingly busy from 5am Sunday morning....I'd not hesitate recommending it as a great social/eating experience but perhaps not to stay over.

  • Keith S

  • September 2013

My Stay

Tricky one this one.

I think the hotel was under new management as it was clear that many of the staff were learning the ropes. despite this I cannot fault the enthusiasm of everyone though, the waiting staff in the restaurant were more than helpfull with knowledge of the menue and confident to make suggestions on what to eat. I had the occasional visit from the chef who was interested in the choice of food I made and after I'd eaten it again interested that it was to my liking. The munu was just perfect for me with many dishes I just couldn't decide on. Oddly for me I chose the gourmet steak burger which was absoultely to die for - Try it you won't regret it. As a business traveller I did find breakfast a little odd as I'd paid for breakfast as part of my room rate but there was no buffet at least on the continental bits, fruit, cereal, fruit juice etc thing to help myself to and no explanation of what I needed to do as all I was presented with was a menue with a good choice but prices by the side of every item. I think unless they do put on a cold buffet continental breakfast with hot food to order then the system they currently run at least needs explaining. I will stay here again as the hotel is such a beautifull building and very well furnished and confortable to relax in both in the main lounges and the room which incidentally was the wedding suite . . .wasn't I the lucky one !.

  • marilyn K

  • August 2013

Food was bistro style and did not offer a great variety of healthier options.

Room was not cleaned during our second day as we were changing for a funeral and no one came back later. we requested a 'take away' breakfast as we had to leave early to catch a plane home this was not provided as it should be as part of B&B deal. Other wise service and food were very good

  • g cooper

  • August 2013

very impressed from first impression to leaving will definitely return