No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beauchief

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
161, Abbeydale Road South , Sheffield, S7 2QW
A warm welcome from the team at the Beauchief Restaurant & Hotel, Sheffield. Our unique former Victorian railway hotel is steeped in history and nestles in landscaped gardens close to Sheffield and the picturesque Peak District.
Here at The Beauchief we offer a number of stylish, versatile spaces including a restaurant, six boutique hotel rooms, a lounge, private dining, a large garden, function room with private bar and terrace and the Cellar Door pub. We provide a range of bespoke services and aim to cater for all requirements.
Our experienced chefs are constantly developing the contemporary seasonal menus using fresh, locally-sourced produce. We offer a wide variety of award-winning Thornbridge Brewery beers and an extensive wine list in our bar and restaurant areas.
The Beauchief’s dedicated events team has years of experience and would be pleased to discuss your needs and take you on a tour of our extensive venue.
Picture of The Beauchief, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service
We was passing through Sheffield on a journey around in Britain and choose to stay at Beauchief, where I had stayed twice before about 10 years ago at two conferences. It has got a new owner since and has change a lot since and is no longer so typical english anymore as it used to be. It's more french alike. We got two doubles at the 3th floor, the are no elevator. They were hot because of the hot weather and we could not open the windows. The 4 polled beds were very nice. The food served in the restaurant was exellent and we had very good service.

Reviewed by
K Jørsing

From Haderslev, Denmark
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
The staff were excellent - really polite, friendly and helpful at all times and I couldn't fault them in any way. The room was pretty clean, although there were little things that would have made me score it top points had they been done - like a layer of dust on pipes, dusty lights and a large mould patch on the ceiling. The shower curtain was missing and the panels weren't sufficient for the very powerful shower which meant a bit of mopping up after, but otherwise the facilities were good. Minor niggles, but not enough to spoil the stay.

Reviewed by
Michelle H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for overnight stay and convenient location for our visit. Large room ( 4 poster bed) - spartan shabby chic style but quite comfortable, shower over bath a bit awkward to control, but bath fine. Accommodating bar staff. Food at breakfast excellent - lots of choices, Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Roger W

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location with a good bus service
My experience of the hotel was not good. one day my room wasn't made up. The only meal I ate in the hotel was breakfast. when I went into the restaurant which wasn't busy but only one waiter on duty. A couple follow me in, my order was taken then the couples however their meal was served before mine.
Sadly I left a pair of shoes behind realising my mistake I phoned within 24 hours of checking out phoned and spoke to a female receptionist who said that no shoes had been handed in and put the phone down. I phoned again the next and spoke to a male, I gave the reason for phoning and thought my request reasonable asking that housekeeping to check the room the next time they were up on the floor. He took my phone number and I'm still waiting to hear!!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Bell

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very satisfactory

Reviewed by
michael naylor

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel
For a restaurant with rooms this was exceptional. Staff very helpful and very friendly, nothing too much trouble. The restaurant was very good great menu and well cooked and very well presented. Above average food at a very reasonable price.Overall avery good stay at a very reasonable price. Would recommend the experience to any of my friends.

Reviewed by
o hill

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, great food
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was second to none and the building clean and well presented. The room was fine but sleep was interrupted by early and erratic plumbing noises below us and the windows didn't drown out the sound of traffic which was surprisingly busy from 5am Sunday morning....I'd not hesitate recommending it as a great social/eating experience but perhaps not to stay over.

Reviewed by
K Yule

From Llanfairfechan, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Tricky one this one. I think the hotel was under new management as it was clear that many of the staff were learning the ropes. despite this I cannot fault the enthusiasm of everyone though, the waiting staff in the restaurant were more than helpfull with knowledge of the menue and confident to make suggestions on what to eat. I had the occasional visit from the chef who was interested in the choice of food I made and after I'd eaten it again interested that it was to my liking. The munu was just perfect for me with many dishes I just couldn't decide on. Oddly for me I chose the gourmet steak burger which was absoultely to die for - Try it you won't regret it. As a business traveller I did find breakfast a little odd as I'd paid for breakfast as part of my room rate but there was no buffet at least on the continental bits, fruit, cereal, fruit juice etc thing to help myself to and no explanation of what I needed to do as all I was presented with was a menue with a good choice but prices by the side of every item. I think unless they do put on a cold buffet continental breakfast with hot food to order then the system they currently run at least needs explaining. I will stay here again as the hotel is such a beautifull building and very well furnished and confortable to relax in both in the main lounges and the room which incidentally was the wedding suite . . .wasn't I the lucky one !!

Reviewed by
Keith S

From Polegate, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was bistro style and did not offer a great variety of healthier options. Room was not cleaned during our second day as we were changing for a funeral and no one came back later. we requested a 'take away' breakfast as we had to leave early to catch a plane home this was not provided as it should be as part of B&B deal. Other wise service and food were very good

Reviewed by
marilyn K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very impressed from first impression to leaving will definitely return

Reviewed by
g cooper

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next