No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beauchief

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
161, Abbeydale Road South , Sheffield, S7 2QW
A warm welcome from the team at the Beauchief Restaurant & Hotel, Sheffield. Our unique former Victorian railway hotel is steeped in history and nestles in landscaped gardens close to Sheffield and the picturesque Peak District.
Here at The Beauchief we offer a number of stylish, versatile spaces including a restaurant, six boutique hotel rooms, a lounge, private dining, a large garden, function room with private bar and terrace and the Cellar Door pub. We provide a range of bespoke services and aim to cater for all requirements.
Our experienced chefs are constantly developing the contemporary seasonal menus using fresh, locally-sourced produce. We offer a wide variety of award-winning Thornbridge Brewery beers and an extensive wine list in our bar and restaurant areas.
The Beauchief’s dedicated events team has years of experience and would be pleased to discuss your needs and take you on a tour of our extensive venue.
Picture of The Beauchief, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
This hotel has friendly but poorly trained staff. Our room was fine and everyone was kind but the systems (or lack of them) meant very inefficient service in the restaurant. There were no burgers left (it was the evening of Father's Day so they'ed been busy) and we were told they no longer serve lemon meringue pie even though the menu showed it. No one person seemed to be responsible for our table so three people dealt with us but didn't communicate with each other. It's "good enough" but go with your eyes open.

Reviewed by
Irene B

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beauchief, Sheffield
An old building, slightly shabby away from the main areas, but tastefully decorated, well appointed with friendly and helpful staff. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and moderately priced.

Reviewed by
J Lonie

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel with great food
Very friendly staff. Great food, and many options making choice difficult. The room was comfortable, however, the road noise was a nuisance even for a good sleeper!

Reviewed by
Carolyn B

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Myself and my partner stayed at the beauchief after a charity ball in sheffield, the staff were more than helpful. We stayed in a double room, it was small but cosy and impeccably clean. We had to call reception for some cups to go with the coffee but it was sorted immediately. I'd definitely recommend this hotel again. The restaurant also looks beautiful though we didn't have chance to fine on this occasion.

Reviewed by
Amy R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Over the years I've driven past the Beauchef many times, this was our first stay, we should have stayed years ago. Service was excellent - we were even introduced to some a great new band!

Reviewed by
Derek T

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
We travelled as a family for an overnight stay , it was a great little beak, staff, food, accommodation was as expected if not better,
We would definitely visit again

Reviewed by
andrew E

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beauchief Hotel Sheffield
Excellent in every way

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Ambleside, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Our room was really lovely althought it was on the top floor (4 flights of stairs and the last flight was steep) but we were informed of this before we booked as I had asked for a lower floor room if possible when I made the booking. The service and staff were excellent and could not be faulted in anyway. There was a couple of large number parties that were there for food at the time we requested to eat but we still got excellent service and was not rushed or ignored in anyway. Our stay was to coinside with a family Christening that we holding their reception in one of the rooms at the hotel so we returned after 90 mins to another part of the hotel and we were not disappointed in anyway with either the food or the service. All in all it was really lovely stay at this hotel and was enjoyed by both my self and my husband.

Reviewed by
Win G

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have booked again already !
Good service, food, place and, (as my husband says), beer. We have booked again and recommended it to friends.

Reviewed by
N Dibley

From Clacton on Sea, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sheffield's Little Gem
Great little boutique style hotel, just south of Sheffield. Very tastefully decorated with good food menu in both dining room and bar. The staff were excellent and really helpful. My colleague and I arrived just after 9 pm and althoug the bar usually stopped serving food at this time, Hayley on reception spoke to the chef who agreed to us ordering food after we had checked in and had time to freshen up. The rooms were stylish and comfortable and I appreciated the tea, freshly ground coffee and home made biscuits left in the room. Breakfast was amazing. The only minus was the poor fitting windows, as the hotel is situated at a road junction and the noise from passing vehicles early in the morning was a bit annoying. That said it would not prevent me from stopping here again. Great value and a little gem of a place.

Reviewed by
Karen Wilkinson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next