No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bede's Well Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
146, Bede Burn Road , Jarrow, NE32 5AU
Bede's Well Guest House will make you feel welcome at this small, family run business. We are ideally situated for everything Tyneside has to offer.

We are very proud of our high standards here at Bede's Well, with housekeeping and cleanliness high priority.

You will also find that all of our rooms are attractively decorated, and we have even been awarded a 3 star award in recognition of our high standards from Visit Britain (the national tourist board).

We strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay, so don't hesitate, book today!

We are on the outskirts of Jarrow, but are still within a short driving distance of South and North Shields, Gateshead and Newcastle.

We are also situated close to a Metro system so we are ideal if you want to explore Tyneside by public transport. Further afield, you will find historic Durham and Hadrian's Wall country which are also well worth a visit.
Picture of Bede's Well Guest House, Jarrow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend break
We stayed at this guest house for 2 nights bed and breakfast July 2013, Paul (the owner) met us on arrival and could not have made us more welcome ,the guest house is very clean and our room was large and very comfortable. Paul and the ladies who help him were very friendly and the breakfast was amazing. I would not hesitate to return to this guest house if I visit the Newcastle area again. Thank you Paul for an enjoyable weekend.

Reviewed by
Ellen M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, great location for both Newcastle and South Shields. The owner of the B&B (Paul) was very helpful and friendly. Will most definitely return if needing accommodation in Newcastle area again! Very Impressed with this little gem of the North!!

Reviewed by
Laura D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Friendly
I received a warm welcome from the owners and a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Bernadette M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have been before and will stay again - very friendly people

Reviewed by
j amron

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay; clean, fantastic level of quality of facilities available, great breakfast and most importantly, for us, very affordable. Also in a nice area and fairly close to Jarrow station but this was not an issue as the owner called us on the day and offered to pick us up at the station, which he did. And offered to take us back when we went out and took us to the station on our way home. Lovely chap. Will definitely go back, should we make the trip to Newcastle again.

Reviewed by
B Kerr

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight visit
Overall, this was good value for money, especially as we were upgraded to an en-suite room. But it's a bit let down by the details e.g. Only one tea/coffee mug in a family room, no handy socket for the kettle so you have to boil it on the floor, no extractor in the en-suite and a very slow waste outlet on the shower so you end up stood in 2" of water. Good breakfast though and the owners are exceptionally nice and friendly people. Oh, and you need to know that there is quite a strong background smell of cigarette smoke. Convenient for Newcastle - Metro station is a short distance away and then a 15 minute journey.

ManagementResponse

We are obviously disappointed with this review as we continually strive for high standards of customer care and presentation. We have addressed the detailed issues within the review, and we are disappointed with these oversights. (for example, there are extension leads in any rooms if you require them and for convenience) However, we always appreciate notification of any customer problems as soon as they arise so we can try to rectify them there and then. It is disappointing to hear of the smoking comment as we have a strict no smoking policy. There is a smoking area outside the building and we can only assume that some smell had drifted in from the outside whilst the door was open for ventilation. We are pleased to hear about our excellent customer service as this is something that consistently features as high in all our reviews.

Reviewed by
Noel S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Customer Service
Staff couldn't have been more friendly

Reviewed by
Rob E

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly guesthouse which was fantastic value for money
Paul, the owner, could not have been more friendly or helpful during our brief stay. The room was large and comfortable and there is also a living room available to use which was useful as I travelled with small children. The breakfast was huge and our every wish was accomodated. Great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Marie Cousens

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and comfortable
We had a lovely weekend stay here, having been greeted with a smile at the door by the owner, who consistently made sure we had everything we needed - refreshments, wifi codes, directions to local amenities - much nicer than an anonymous chain hotel. They also served up a fab cooked breakfast to fuel our busy weekend, with a newspaper and a bit of friendly chatter. Couldn't fault the hospitality and the only slight area for improvement in the room were the thin curtains, which let in some street light - however, we'd tired ourselves out so much with walking around Newcastle that it didn't much affect our sleep!

Reviewed by
HK V

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
We stayed just the one night but it would be an ideal place to stay longer whether your a family, couple or travelling alone. We were welcomed in and shown around the accommodation. We were given recommendations of local pubs and shops near by. The food was absolutely lovelg and you get great value for money. Our room was a good size with an en suite and was very clean.

Reviewed by
Jess Crossley

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next