No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bede's Well Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
146, Bede Burn Road , Jarrow, NE32 5AU
Bede's Well Guest House will make you feel welcome at this small, family run business. We are ideally situated for everything Tyneside has to offer.

We are very proud of our high standards here at Bede's Well, with housekeeping and cleanliness high priority.

You will also find that all of our rooms are attractively decorated, and we have even been awarded a 3 star award in recognition of our high standards from Visit Britain (the national tourist board).

We strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay, so don't hesitate, book today!

We are on the outskirts of Jarrow, but are still within a short driving distance of South and North Shields, Gateshead and Newcastle.

We are also situated close to a Metro system so we are ideal if you want to explore Tyneside by public transport. Further afield, you will find historic Durham and Hadrian's Wall country which are also well worth a visit.
Picture of Bede's Well Guest House, Jarrow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an unexpected stay!
unexpted in the way of 'how can we make the tourist their days at our B&B as nice as possible'.
Never thought that there are still owners who care about their public and not just their money...

Reviewed by
Franky B

From 8400 Oostende, Belgium
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly service

Reviewed by
D Sexton

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly stay
Great little guest house: friendly and extremely helpful owner and excellent breakfast. Hard to fault at the price. Would stay again

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B! Highly recommended
This isn't the first time I've stayed at Bede's Well and it's not going to be the last. Paul is a fantastic host and can't do too much for his guests. He helped me with travel arrangements in the area, pointed out various pubs to go to and was generally really very helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were well appointed, with bath robes, lots of toiletries and a nice flat screen tv. Highly recommended. You wouldn't get this sort of personal service in larger hotels!

Reviewed by
K Sussams

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value guest house with very friendly staff. The cooked breakfast was good. Our room was large and comfortable, but in desperate need of a makeover. The furnishings and breakfast crockery etc were not terribly clean and, in fact, I felt the whole house needed a steam clean and redecoration. Warning to non-smokers - despite the no smoking sign the whole house smelt of stale tobacco smoke. With this obnoxious smell mixed with the lingering smell of fried breakfast we felt the need to 'Febreze' our room every day! We kept all clothing in our suitcases but still noticed the smell on our clothes when we returned home. Would I recommend this guest house? Only to someone looking for something cheap and cheerful!

ManagementResponse

In order to consider this guests comment objectively, I saw the opinion of a local resident who called unexpectedly. Having read the message her immediate response was that had she encountered circumstances as described she would have voiced her views straight away. I endorse this approach as being preferable to a guest house proprietor. She noticed neither stale tobacco smells and no food odour of any kind. It is agreed that an outlay of £49 for a room and a good cooked breakfast for 2 people is indeed excellent value and I emphasise this in particular, that this is for a room with refreshments and en-suite facilities plus a flat screen television. This guest house was Victorian built and in keeping with it's character, the coving on the ceiling is the original. The bedroom has been redecorated within 2 years, which was when the en-suite was created. My business is independently owned and resources as available are utilised between bedrooms and common areas with the context of continuing to offer such well priced accommodation. Both further redecoration and steam cleaning are always priorities. I am pleased to hear my staff being described as friendly. I am heartened by the positive views expressed by my previous guests.

Reviewed by
Susan O

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff and service were excellent,could not do enough for us great welcome at late arrival breakfast was tasty full English paul was great give good advice on facilitys in house great value even droped us off at local pub not bad eh

Reviewed by
richard knowles

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, clean and comfortable. Freshly cooked full English breakfast too.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
From the point of booking, Paul and his team were very accommodating and eager to fulfil our every need. From offering to carry our bags upstairs, to helping us out with a place to eat with our young baby, we found this place to be very welcoming and family friendly. The room was big enough to put our travel cot in and not feel cramped. Would recommend to a family. Breakfast was great and cooled fresh, plenty of choice. They were quite happy to give us extra little bits for the little one too.

Reviewed by
Charlotte B

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Paul was the perfect host in every way. We arrived after dark and he met us on the corner to guide us the final 100 feet to parking behind the B&B. The bedroom was large and on the first floor. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to eat, served on hot plates. When we mentioned to Paul that we wanted to view the Millennium Bridge at night, he actually drove his car and had us follow him in our car to the closest parking area next to the bridge. His action was greatly appreciated and thoughtful. He also pointed out the area where we could find restaurants. The location of the B&B is perfect for sightseeing up and down the coast. We highly recommend Bede's Well Guest House when in the Newcastle area.

Reviewed by
Cheryl S

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Upon arrival we were greeted by paul who made us feel very welcome.it's a very homely place and good off-road parking.the breakfast was immense,make sure you are hungry before ordering 'the large one'.the only criticism really was that the shower-head was dodgy.other than that a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
R IVES

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next