No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bede's Well Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
146, Bede Burn Road , Jarrow, NE32 5AU
Bede's Well Guest House will make you feel welcome at this small, family run business. We are ideally situated for everything Tyneside has to offer.

We are very proud of our high standards here at Bede's Well, with housekeeping and cleanliness high priority.

You will also find that all of our rooms are attractively decorated, and we have even been awarded a 3 star award in recognition of our high standards from Visit Britain (the national tourist board).

We strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay, so don't hesitate, book today!

We are on the outskirts of Jarrow, but are still within a short driving distance of South and North Shields, Gateshead and Newcastle.

We are also situated close to a Metro system so we are ideal if you want to explore Tyneside by public transport. Further afield, you will find historic Durham and Hadrian's Wall country which are also well worth a visit.
Picture of Bede's Well Guest House, Jarrow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
From the point of booking, Paul and his team were very accommodating and eager to fulfil our every need. From offering to carry our bags upstairs, to helping us out with a place to eat with our young baby, we found this place to be very welcoming and family friendly. The room was big enough to put our travel cot in and not feel cramped. Would recommend to a family. Breakfast was great and cooled fresh, plenty of choice. They were quite happy to give us extra little bits for the little one too.

Reviewed by
Charlotte B

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Paul was the perfect host in every way. We arrived after dark and he met us on the corner to guide us the final 100 feet to parking behind the B&B. The bedroom was large and on the first floor. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to eat, served on hot plates. When we mentioned to Paul that we wanted to view the Millennium Bridge at night, he actually drove his car and had us follow him in our car to the closest parking area next to the bridge. His action was greatly appreciated and thoughtful. He also pointed out the area where we could find restaurants. The location of the B&B is perfect for sightseeing up and down the coast. We highly recommend Bede's Well Guest House when in the Newcastle area.

Reviewed by
Cheryl S

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Upon arrival we were greeted by paul who made us feel very welcome.it's a very homely place and good off-road parking.the breakfast was immense,make sure you are hungry before ordering 'the large one'.the only criticism really was that the shower-head was dodgy.other than that a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
R IVES

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All's Well At Bede's Well
LateRooms provided an easy and reliable booking service for this convenient guest house. We travelled a long distance to stay here over a weekend for a friend's wedding in Newcastle and were warmly welcomed by owner Paul with a pot of tea and mince pies. Our room was a spacious and well-equipped 'standard twin/double'. The full English breakfasts and hospitality were second to none, and as an added bonus, Paul kindly gave us a lift to the local Jarrow Metro on the morning of the wedding. We were able to come and go as we pleased and would gladly book again in the future.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house
Spacious, clean guest house. Paul the owner was very welcoming and friendly.

Reviewed by
Katie W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
Excellent room. Very helpful owner and staff. Wonderful breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Boylan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
Friendly, clean and good value. An excellent find and will use again.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Guest house
First of all I would like to say a very big THANK YOU to the gentleman who owns the guest house.
We travelled up the A1 on the Friday evening to find our selves stuck in a tail back for 3 hours after an accident, I phoned the gentleman on 3 separate occasions to update him of our very late arrival, he thanked me and offered to wait up until we arrived (which he did!) we didn't arrive until 01:15 in the morning!!
The Gentleman didn't just give us a key he showed us the dining room, lounge then our room and explained things about the en-suite, breakfast etc. very friendly and welcoming given the time!!
The house is a little dated re décor but beautiful and very clean.
I had booked a twin room en-suite, We had room 5 a very large room (for myself and teenage son) it had a double, single and a made up fold away bed still plenty floor space and en-suite bathroom.so nice to have all the little extra's in the bedroom also plenty tea, coffee and milk.
Breakfast was very good. plenty choice too much to list.
The lady serving breakfast was very polite friendly and welcoming and the food was cooked to perfection.
On leaving we were offered bottled water for our onward travel, nothing was too much trouble.
The only thing wrong with the room was the en-suite could do with a shelf near the sink to be able to put a wash bag etc on, but not a major problem.

Reviewed by
J Veitch

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Paul the owner of b & b was very friendly, helpful and of a caring nature. Our room was located on the ground floor, which was ideal as I am disabled. The room was very clean and decor was very nice, overall we enjoyed our stay and would use the b & b again.

Reviewed by
cathy mcghie

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short family break
Lovely big room beds large clean and comfortable .felt bathroom could do with a n update shower not brilliant and toilet seat loose .that is our only complaint

Reviewed by
Anne B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next