No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carpenters Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Felixkirk, , , Thirsk, YO7 2DP
“The Carpenters Arms is a traditional village inn located in the heart of Felixkirk village, on the outskirts of the Market Town of Thirsk. The Inn specialises in bringing its guests high quality food, drink, service and surroundings, including a superb private dining room for larger parties. The Carpenters Arms is now open 7 days a week, for breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks and the classic British menus use only the best produce available from carefully selected suppliers. We are pleased to boast that the Inn has been awarded 5* Gold Award with Breakfast Award by Visit Britain. There is a wonderful traditional bar, stocked with local beers, hand pulled ales and a considered wine list. The Inn accommodates both informal dining, with large wooden tables and roaring open fires and has a beautiful ‘Garden Room’ restaurant overlooking open fields and the North Yorkshire hills, providing a spectacular backdrop for a relaxed and delicious meal. The patio and terrace areas provide a fantastic opportunity to take in the gorgeous scenery and in the warmer months are a great spot for ‘al fresco’ dining. If you are looking to indulge in a tipple of the best of Yorkshire ales, find a meeting point to while away the hours with friends or a place to rest after a long country walk, you’ll find a welcoming atmosphere complemented by excellent service and inviting surroundings at The Carpenters Arms. Whether it’s beer, wine or spirit - the Carpenters Arms will accommodate, offering its guests excellence in both quality and knowledge of its products”.
Picture of The Carpenters Arms, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday night stay
We use this hotel every few months, were very pleased to see the standard had greatly improved since our last stay. The staff have really got it sorted. The room was excellent as always. Service in the restaurant was spot on. The Sunday night supper club was outstanding value for money at £10 for two generous courses. Breakfast was much better served with attention to detail. No more hard eggs or inedible bacon. Would confidently recommend a stay.

Reviewed by
J Line

From Thurcaston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carpenters Arms
I'm a regular hotel user (2 nights per weeks on average) This hotel/Pub is right up there with the very best, superb quality and service, excellent room and food with a friendly service, well done to the staff.

Reviewed by
D Owen

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent in every way.

Reviewed by
H Simpson

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpenters Arms - A fantastic treat !!
We recently stayed at The Carpenters Arms as a birthday celebration. The whole experience was just that little bit special. Our room was beautiful, modern, spacious with all of the lovely extra touches. Fresh coffee, home made shortbread, bubble bath etc. We went into the restaurant for a meal which was fabulous. Food great, reasonably priced, lovely atmosphere and we were very well looked after by our waiter. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this place and would definitely visit again!

Reviewed by
J Harrison

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely magical stay
We ended up booking this hotel last minute after being let down by the place we were supposed to be staying and it actually worked out perfectly!
As soon as we walked into the restaurant/bar area we were hit by the gorgeous smell of the log burning stoves. We stayed in room 1 of the garden rooms with a great view looking out over the countryside for miles, the room was perfect and finished to an extremely high standard. We ate dinner at the restaurant which was outstanding, the staff were extremely attentive as with breakfast the next morning. I couldn't fault it at all and would highly recommend it! The only thing would be when we come again we will be making sure we have one of the rooms with the fires in for that extra touch!

Reviewed by
E Scott

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Find
We only stayed one night at the Carpenters Arms, and we are already planning to return. Everything was perfect, the garden rooms were lovely and we really enjoyed sitting on our private patio in the sunshine . Everything was spotlessly clean, an extremely comfortable bed ment a good nights sleep. The staff couldn't have been more helpfull we got a very warm welcome from James , who showed us to our room, helped with luggage and gave us all the information we needed to make the most of our stay. The bar and restraunt staff were polite and attentive 10 out of 10 service . The food at both dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard with top quality local produced used were possible .We found the dining room very relaxing and not overly formal top marks again.

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class!
Friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff, superb accommodation and excellent food. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub set in North Yorks Moors
This is a great find. Great countryside for walking and an excellent location to be based. The accommodation was good and the food first class.

Reviewed by
D Hill

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms in a cosy pub
A little bit of luxury just 2 miles outside of Thirsk.

Reviewed by
W Goode

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful stay at a most welcoming and friendly pub/hotel. Fantastic room in the most peaceful setting. Service was superb. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
TONY RATCLIFFE

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next