No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cayton House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
53, Upper Morin Road Preston, Paignton, TQ32HX
Cayton House has recently been awarded Laterooms Simply The Guest award 2013 Top rated and Tripadvisors Certificate of Excellence 2014 Winner five stars. SPECIAL OFFERS- Please contact us direct to hear what current offers are available (by phone or email). The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and we endeavor to provide the style and standards of a quality Hotel, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Stuart and Joanne will offer you a warm welcome and will do all we can to make sure your stay is special.

There are two double rooms ( with king size beds ) and a single or twin room. The double rooms have ensuite shower rooms; the single room has a shared bathroom with the owners. Our beds are very comfortable, with memory foam mattress toppers,quality feather and down duvets/ pillows; and cotton rich bedding.

The property has an attractive conservatory, patio and garden/ decking area for you to relax in.

The breakfast menu offers you a wide choice, including - full English; Muffin, eggs and bacon; smoked haddock and egg; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs; continental; omelettes; home-made pancakes ( plain with berries, American- style or banana and ice cream ); and mock crab. We use quality products; with bacon, sausages and eggs ( award winning! ) being sourced from the local, organic farm.

We are located a few minutes walk from the lovely beaches of Paignton. Paignton is situated in the middle of the bay with beautiful Torquay to the left and the fishing town of brixham to the right. Dartmoor and the stunning coastal town of Dartmouth are approx. a 40 minute drive away. Paignton zoo is a great day out and a few minutes drive from Cayton House.
Upon arrival you can receive a complimentary home made cream tea or cake.
For special occasions we can provide chocolates, champagne or wine delivered to your room, please contact us to arrange details.
We have a friendly dog (Alfie) and two cats, which are kept out of guests rooms and the dining room.
Parking - there is free parking spaces for upto 3 cars on the forecourt and free parking on the road.
Payment for your stay at Cayton House can be with cash, by card, bank transfer or Paypal. Please phone me if you need to discuss this or have any queries- 01803 528403. Looking forward to welcoming you. Joanne
Picture of Cayton House, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BnBs really are better than hotels
Stayed just one night, but would recommend for a longer stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Owners were friendly but not intrusive.

Reviewed by
T Cain

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home for our Devon short break
We chose Cayton House, at the northern end of Paignton, principally because we needed somewhere we could stay with our dog. However, the hosts, Jo and Stuart, have created such a delightful and very comfortable Bed and Breakfast, we would recommend it to everyone. Our en suite room, though quite small, had a comfortable bed and neat little shower room. The railway runs very close to the house, which alarmed us somewhat to start with, but the good double-glazing meant we really weren't disturbed too much by the trains and after the first night we hardly noticed them. The little extras, such as a nice choice of beverages and fresh milk, were very much appreciated. The breakfast menu was very good and tasty.

Reviewed by
C Hallett

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived in sunny weather; and were greeted by Joanne with a cream tea in the garden. Lovely room, super comfortable bed. Close to the beach for great walks along the harbour and seaside, close to good local restaurants. Good food, reasonable prices, especially after living in London!
Would highly recommend Joanne and Stuart's Clayton House to any couple looking to get away for a few days R&R. Would go back again anytime!

Reviewed by
LYNNE W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful!
Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The hostess was always available with a wealth of information about the location and what it has to offer. We were welcomed with a lovely Homemade Cream Tea and every breakfast that followed was delightful with plenty of options, both hot and cold, and fantastic service - very flexible and accommodating. The room was beautiful and our host was constantly replenishing the stocks! Everything had been thought of before we could ask.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to others for a warm and accommodating visit.

Reviewed by
L Barnard

From Marazion, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality B&B
Freshly made scones and cream tea on arrival and a lovely, homley room. What more could you ask for.

Reviewed by
William Bishop

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clayton House a Gem of a Find
One of the best bed & breakfast's we have ever stayed in. The Hostess and Host wer very friendly and extramly helpful. We could not fault the accommodation and the breakfast.
When we return to the area we would definatly stay again.
Thanks for the hospitality.

Reviewed by
W Garner

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at Cayton House
Excellent value for money, amazing choices for breakfast, room very clean and wonderful cream tea upon arrival.

Reviewed by
teresa atkin

From midhurst, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
After several nights away from home on business, I was in a situation where I had overspent on my travel allowance and needed to find somewhere cheap to stay. I came across the caution in late rooms and opted for the cheapest option which was a single room.
On arrival, the owner was extremely welcoming and made me a beautifully presented cream tea on arrival with a freshly baked scone which went down a treat! It was the sort of thing you would pay about £10 for if you went to a Tea Rooms style place in the town.
Although a single room, there was plenty of space, more than enough for what I needed.
The owner then gave me a menu to choose my breakfast from for the following morning with which the options were in abundance. You basically tick exactly what want and it will be catered for. The nexr morning, I got exactly what I ordered and it was cooked perfectly.
Overall, the service and value for money were excellent and I would have no qualms in recommending The Cayton.

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best B/B
The accommodation was ideal and cleaned every day.
The food was of good quality, selection was mine and they had the best selection I have ever seen in a B/B.
Service was first class.
The best value for money of any B/B.

Reviewed by
I Swanwick

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cayton House excellence
A great place to stay, real home from home with all the trimmings of being well looked after! EXCELLENT.

Reviewed by
Irene B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next