No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cayton House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
53, Upper Morin Road Preston, Paignton, TQ32HX
Cayton House is a family run Bed and Breakfast. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and we endeavor to provide the style and standards of a quality Hotel, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Stuart and Joanne will offer you a warm welcome and will do all we can to make sure your stay is special.

10% Discount if you book three or more nights, when you contact us direct.

There are two double rooms ( with king size beds ) and a single or twin room. The double rooms have ensuite shower rooms; the single room has a shared bathroom with the owners. Our beds are very comfortable, with memory foam mattress toppers,quality feather and down duvets/ pillows; and cotton rich bedding.

The property has an attractive conservatory, patio and garden/ decking area for you to relax in.

The breakfast menu offers you a wide choice, including - full English; Muffin, eggs and bacon; smoked haddock and egg; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs; continental; omelettes; home-made pancakes ( plain with berries, American- style or banana and ice cream ); and mock crab. We use quality products; with bacon, sausages and eggs ( award winning! ) being sourced from the local, organic farm.

We are located a few minutes walk from the lovely beaches of Paignton. Paignton is situated in the middle of the bay with beautiful Torquay to the left and the fishing town of brixham to the right. Dartmoor and the stunning coastal town of Dartmouth are approx. a 40 minute drive away. Paignton zoo is a great day out and a few minutes drive from Cayton House.
Upon arrival you can receive a complimentary home made cream tea or cake.
For special occasions we can provide chocolates, champagne or wine delivered to your room, please contact us to arrange details.
We have a friendly dog (Alfie) and two cats, which are kept out of guests rooms and the dining room.
Parking - there is free parking spaces for upto 3 cars on the forecourt and free parking on the road.
Payment for your stay at Cayton House can be with cash, by card, bank transfer or Paypal. Please phone me if you need to discuss this or have any queries- 01803 528403. Looking forward to welcoming you. Joanne
Picture of Cayton House, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clayton House a Gem of a Find
One of the best bed & breakfast's we have ever stayed in. The Hostess and Host wer very friendly and extramly helpful. We could not fault the accommodation and the breakfast.
When we return to the area we would definatly stay again.
Thanks for the hospitality.

Reviewed by
W Garner

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at Cayton House
Excellent value for money, amazing choices for breakfast, room very clean and wonderful cream tea upon arrival.

Reviewed by
teresa atkin

From midhurst, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
After several nights away from home on business, I was in a situation where I had overspent on my travel allowance and needed to find somewhere cheap to stay. I came across the caution in late rooms and opted for the cheapest option which was a single room.
On arrival, the owner was extremely welcoming and made me a beautifully presented cream tea on arrival with a freshly baked scone which went down a treat! It was the sort of thing you would pay about £10 for if you went to a Tea Rooms style place in the town.
Although a single room, there was plenty of space, more than enough for what I needed.
The owner then gave me a menu to choose my breakfast from for the following morning with which the options were in abundance. You basically tick exactly what want and it will be catered for. The nexr morning, I got exactly what I ordered and it was cooked perfectly.
Overall, the service and value for money were excellent and I would have no qualms in recommending The Cayton.

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best B/B
The accommodation was ideal and cleaned every day.
The food was of good quality, selection was mine and they had the best selection I have ever seen in a B/B.
Service was first class.
The best value for money of any B/B.

Reviewed by
I Swanwick

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cayton House excellence
A great place to stay, real home from home with all the trimmings of being well looked after! EXCELLENT.

Reviewed by
Irene B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat - to myself
I wanted to get away for a couple of days after a stressful few months and was delighted with my choice of accommodation. I was made very welcome - the landlady went out of her way and even picked me up from the bus station when I arrived - and I got the impression that nothing was too much trouble.
The room was well appointed with TV and facilities for hot drinks. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well in spite of the hot weather. There were plenty of drawers for storage as well as a huge wardrobe. The complimentary WiFi was very welcome, especially for someone like me who likes to keep in touch with my friends around the world.
The breakfasts were more than generous and I struggled to finish mine on more than one morning. There was a good choice available as well as the usual cereals, juices etc.
The B&B is nicely located - I could walk to the bus & train stations and main shopping area within 15 minutes. The nearest bus stop was less than a five minute walk away. The seafront was even closer, 2 minutes or so. There are a couple of pubs within a five minute walk and a handy supermarket also. I made use of a chinese takeaway during my stay and was allowed to eat it in the backgarden of the B&B which was very pleasant.
All in all I enjoyed my stay and would certainly consider returning if I'm heading to Paignton in the future.

Reviewed by
Martin Davies

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Holiday Gem in Devon
JOanne was an excellent hostess.Nothing was too much trouble.Attention to every detail of our stay

Reviewed by
s Tattersall

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice accomadation hosts friendly and helpful. will recommend to others. only thing tha would have improved the stay is no blinds/net curtains to give privacy in room. had to keep draw curtains closed. but overall excellant.

ManagementResponse

Thankyou for the great review.  I have been wondering about net curtains in the front bedroom, although I do think they do look unattractive.  It is a large bay window and I do think net curtains would add a bit of privacy.  I will put net curtains up as soon as time is allowing.  Thanks for the suggestion.  Regards, Joanne.

Reviewed by
sandra mills

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We just returned from a 4 day stay at Clayton House. Jo and Stuart are very friendly and the fresh scones on arrival was unexpected , also the two bottle of water. Alfie was lovely. They also had a very good choice of breakfast, my husband had the full English during our stay , I wanted to try all versions so I had : omelette with mushrooms on the first day, eggs with toasted muffins on the second and finally I treated myself with a nice banana pancake served with vanilla ice cream on the last morning, this was absolutely delicious .
The room was very comfortable and very spacious , as we were travelling with our dog we were a bit worried about the size of the room. I would suggest to have a small fridge in the room, apart from that everything was wonderful.

ManagementResponse

Thankyou for the smashing review.  My husband and I are trying to source a small fridge to have on the landing, but everywhere is sold out!!  This will be used to have the fresh milk flasks in and a jug of 'spare' milk.  At present we do have a drinks fridge for guests to use in our conservatory and also guests are welcome to use our fridge in the kitchen to chill anything.  I will not be having fridges in the rooms as I feel they are ugly and can keep guests awake. It is great that laterooms can give feedback to me.  We have only been open a year and any little improvements I can make to make guests stay better is much appreciated. Regards, Joanne.

Reviewed by
M Duckworth

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B&B
We had a good stay at Cayton House. We were made to feel very welcome with tea and scones as soon as we arrived. The room was very bright and perfectly clean. The breakfast was very good but one minor issue was that we were sat on a single dining table with another couple. This felt a little awkward for all of us however this was only a tiny issue and wouldn't stop me staying again if I was in the area.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the review.  I have recently bought a single table to seat two people but haven't thought of having it set out unless we have more than four guests; as the large dining table comfortable seats four.  On your suggestion I will permanently have this table ready to use so when guests come down for breakfast they can either choose to sit on the main table or sit separately.  Thanks. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Reviewed by
Matthew A

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next