Reviews - The Royal Hotel


13/17 East Parade, ,, Whitley Bay, NE26 1AP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • c eaton

  • March 2015

The Royal Hotel

my stay with you

  • dawn m

  • March 2015

The Royal Hotel

We booked on Valentine's day it was our wedding night we didn't have a sea view we rang up and they managed to arrange it so we could have the sea view in a family room at no extra cost, we wanted to arrive later than the normal booking in time and we wanted to leave later than the usual guest leaving time, they arranged that no problem very friendly and welcoming, room was good and clean and offered all we needed, all staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious, we are planning to make it a tradition of going every year very pleased and impressed, good value for money.

  • T Jones

  • February 2015

Friendly staff & clean room

Positives: The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spotless.

Negatives: the plumbing was noisy and I kept getting woken up by the noise every time other rooms taps were turned on. The room was heated with storage heaters and was far too hot and even though I turned these off when I arrived(16:00) my room was still too hot all night. Parking was a nightmare I had to park on a side street a couple of hundred yards away.

  • john m

  • January 2015

little gem

great welcome - excellent room - great breakfast - friendly staff

  • J Robertson

  • January 2015

Night at the Royal

Although a lovely room, it was quite cold.

The method of heating was not adequate in the wintertime.

  • Susan S

  • December 2014

Disappointed that the hotel bar/restaurant was unavailable due to a private function and a couple of chairs would have been useful in our very spacious room.

The breakfast was excellent and the staff very pleasant.

  • Roy L

  • November 2014

street parking

the hotel has very limited parking, so unless you happen to be very lucky or arrive very early the chances are you will be left driving around the back streets looking for a parking spot.

Most local parking has a pay & display system unless after 6pm. the hotel is fine, reasonable rates for what you get.

  • r rains

  • October 2014

Put 2 biscuits with the tea and coffee if there are 2 people in the room.

  • scott billinness

  • October 2014

Great stay

A great 2 night stay in Whitley Bay, would definitely stay at the Royal Hotel again and would highly recommend it to others

  • James Robertson

  • September 2014


Web site stated free parking.

Only limited parking outside hotel as shared with restaurant next door. We ended up parking several streets away. Free only from 5.30pm until 9.00am. Receptionist very helpful (Marie).