No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13/17 East Parade, , , Whitley Bay, NE26 1AP
The beach and promenade are literally just across the road from the hotel entrance. Since we do not cater for stag or hen parties, we can offer you an enjoyable and relaxed stay, supported by our friendly and dedicated staff. Our facilities include free WiFi anywhere in the hotel and plasma TVs with freeview channels in every room,Phones. We offer unlimited buffet-style English and continental breakfast in our Breakfast Room on the first floor. Enjoy fine Italian cuisine (lunch and dinner) at Davanti Restaurant (just off our Reception) from £10.00 per person for a three-course meal before 19:00 hours. With its close proximity to the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and other nearby industrial towns, Whitley Bay was ideal, attracting holidaymakers and day-trippers escaping from the daily grind and toil of Victorian industrial Britain.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff & clean room
Positives: The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spotless.
Negatives: the plumbing was noisy and I kept getting woken up by the noise every time other rooms taps were turned on. The room was heated with storage heaters and was far too hot and even though I turned these off when I arrived(16:00) my room was still too hot all night. Parking was a nightmare I had to park on a side street a couple of hundred yards away.

Reviewed by
T Jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little gem
great welcome - excellent room - great breakfast - friendly staff

Reviewed by
john m

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at the Royal
Although a lovely room, it was quite cold. The method of heating was not adequate in the wintertime.

Reviewed by
J Robertson

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed that the hotel bar/restaurant was unavailable due to a private function and a couple of chairs would have been useful in our very spacious room. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

street parking
the hotel has very limited parking, so unless you happen to be very lucky or arrive very early the chances are you will be left driving around the back streets looking for a parking spot. Most local parking has a pay & display system unless after 6pm. the hotel is fine, reasonable rates for what you get.

Reviewed by
Roy L

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Put 2 biscuits with the tea and coffee if there are 2 people in the room.

Reviewed by
r rains

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
A great 2 night stay in Whitley Bay, would definitely stay at the Royal Hotel again and would highly recommend it to others

Reviewed by
scott billinness

From Lossiemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
Web site stated free parking. Only limited parking outside hotel as shared with restaurant next door. We ended up parking several streets away! Free only from 5.30pm until 9.00am. Receptionist very helpful (Marie).

Reviewed by
James Robertson

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very pleased with the staff who were more than helpful than whole of our stay ,we had a lovely relaxing five days ,food was good and always hot staff attentive during breakfast .
We would stay again.
irving & ann

Reviewed by
irving penvose

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitley Bay find
Very engaging reception staff - felt welcomed on check in.
Smashing small double room and great value for money.
Thanks very much for a lovely one night stay and hope to return soon.

Reviewed by
Sally G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next