No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13/17 East Parade, , , Whitley Bay, NE26 1AP
The beach and promenade are literally just across the road from the hotel entrance. Since we do not cater for stag or hen parties, we can offer you an enjoyable and relaxed stay, supported by our friendly and dedicated staff. Our facilities include free WiFi anywhere in the hotel and plasma TVs with freeview channels in every room,Phones. We offer unlimited buffet-style English and continental breakfast in our Breakfast Room on the first floor. Enjoy fine Italian cuisine (lunch and dinner) at Davanti Restaurant (just off our Reception) from £10.00 per person for a three-course meal before 19:00 hours. With its close proximity to the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and other nearby industrial towns, Whitley Bay was ideal, attracting holidaymakers and day-trippers escaping from the daily grind and toil of Victorian industrial Britain.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

street parking
the hotel has very limited parking, so unless you happen to be very lucky or arrive very early the chances are you will be left driving around the back streets looking for a parking spot. Most local parking has a pay & display system unless after 6pm. the hotel is fine, reasonable rates for what you get.

Reviewed by
Roy L

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Put 2 biscuits with the tea and coffee if there are 2 people in the room.

Reviewed by
r rains

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
A great 2 night stay in Whitley Bay, would definitely stay at the Royal Hotel again and would highly recommend it to others

Reviewed by
scott billinness

From Lossiemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
Web site stated free parking. Only limited parking outside hotel as shared with restaurant next door. We ended up parking several streets away! Free only from 5.30pm until 9.00am. Receptionist very helpful (Marie).

Reviewed by
James Robertson

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very pleased with the staff who were more than helpful than whole of our stay ,we had a lovely relaxing five days ,food was good and always hot staff attentive during breakfast .
We would stay again.
irving & ann

Reviewed by
irving penvose

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitley Bay find
Very engaging reception staff - felt welcomed on check in.
Smashing small double room and great value for money.
Thanks very much for a lovely one night stay and hope to return soon.

Reviewed by
Sally G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Excellent as always except for parking which is an issue with restaurant next door sharing parking. However the restaurant is excused as their product is superb

Reviewed by
J Murdoch

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home.
I was visiting family in Whitley Bay and decided to stay in a hotel with a sea view, for a change.
After reading the reviews of this hotel it seemed to be suitable. It was, absolutely. Couldn't find
fault with it. I stayed in room 4 which has the most incredible sea views - a lovely big comfortable
room with a large en suite shower room. Recently renovated and tastefully decorated. Well stocked tray with tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. Beautiful fluffy white bath robes and slippers also provided
in wardrobe. Breakfast was delicious - anything you could possibly want was there. All the staff were
extremely helpful and friendly. I stayed four nights from Sunday to Thursday and was not troubled
by noise from the street outside or the bar and restaurant attached to the hotel. I was not able
to sample either of these unfortunately, but maybe next time, as I will certainly be staying there
again.

Reviewed by
S Fraser

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, friendly staff, good food
Our stay at this hotel was booked only a few days before and based on some of our experiences during our tour of Scotland I wasn't expecting anything special for £70, how wrong I was.
Upon our arrival I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who told me that we'd been upgraded to a sea view room at no extra cost.
The room was massive with a nice bay window overlooking the sea, king size bed nicely presented.
The hotel's restaurant served beautifully cooked Tapas and was excellent value for money.
I can't comment about the hotel's Italian restaurant but it looked nice.
A good choice of food for breakfast (either full English or continental).
The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in and I will definitely be going back some time.

Reviewed by
Clive Needham

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic, worth staying here, friendly kind and very helpful.
definitely recommend The Royal

Reviewed by
ali dolby

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next