No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Primrose Cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
28 Main Street, Lowick, , Berwick-Upon-Tweed, TD15 2UA
Primrose Cottage is a Visit Britain 4 star rated bed and breakfast located in Lowick village, near Berwick in beautiful Northumberland. On arrival, complimentary tea and cakes are served around the original cottage well. This typical stone built cottage situated in the centre of Lowick village. Accommodation is arranged over two floors with the extra facility of the conservatory dining room and lounge available for the use of guests. The village enjoys two vibrant local pubs both serving a range of good food, both are within short walking distance. It is perfectly situated for Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle, the Scottish Borders and Cheviot Hills. There are many other places of interest nearby including Alnwick Castle & Gardens, Berwick on Tweed, Seahouses (The Farne Isles), Budle Bay, St Abbs and Ford & Etal. A drying/boot room is available for walkers and cyclists and a free pick-up and drop-off service to and from Fenwick is offerred. There is a secure garage lock up facility for cycles and motor bikes.
Picture of Primrose Cottage, Berwick-Upon-Tweed at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Weekend
e loved our stay at Primrose Cottage. We were made to feel very welcome and the standard of accommodation was excellent and very comfortable with lots of nice little touches included. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, very high quality and delicious. A brilliant place to stay.

Reviewed by
S Andrews

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Price issue spoilt plesant stay
I booked a room for 3 adults through Laterooms. I then received an email saying the the wrong price had been given and it was £10 more for 3 adults. I checked they B&Bs own website and got the same £85 result. I phoned laterooms and talked them through this as well. They agreed. Laterooms liaised, and £85 was confirmed as agreed in writing. However on departure I was told the bill was £95. To be fair this was the best place we stayed at all week and was half the price of other places. We had tea and scones on arrival, and we weren't charged for this. So I was content to pay £95. I tried to explain my experience, but this was not listened to in the slightest, their attitude was very disappointing. It rather spoilt an excellent stay. It's not my fault if their prices are wrong on the web and they don't honour the booked prices for those staying. I'm not really sure what justifies £10 extra for an adult rather than child... Its they same room and bed. An extra mushroom with the breakfast?

Reviewed by
Paul R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
Everything was perfect, the owners take extreme pride in the service they provide and are genuinely friendly and couldn't be more helpful! There are two good pubs within easy walking distance where you receive a very warm welcome from the locals. Our room had everything we could have needed and more besides!

Reviewed by
Nikki C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northumberland gem
If you are looking for a small B & B with that extra special personal touch stay here. You will soon realise why we have rated it as excellent. I could write an essay or you could just book and see for yourself. Top marks Bob and Irene.

Reviewed by
Judith Buxton

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
My mum and I very much enjoyed our recent stay at Primrose Cottage. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel most welcome. Irene and Bob are superb hosts, Irene makes a fabulous cooked breakfast and they had plenty of useful tips and suggestions for places to visit. The room and en suite were lovely and many little extra touches helped make this a great place to stay. I highly recommend Primrose Cottage and its owners and would very happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
S Watts

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best bed and breakfast in England
Absolutely fantastic!!! The owners are terrific and made us feel so welcome. A wonderful break in a gorgeous part of the country.

Reviewed by
jane r

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts, Great value for money,

Reviewed by
Gary Rostron

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay with wonderful hosts.
We stayed in the double room/family room.it had tons of space, really comfy bed and the shower was amazingly powerful. Bob and Irene are wonderful hosts, always willing to offer suggestions for places tovisit and restaurants to eat in. We had a lovely relaxing weekend. Highly recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
S Hall

From Bridge of Weir, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find !
I chose to stay with Irene and Bob based on previous reviews and was not disappointed. Their house is lovely and absolutely spotless and Irene and Bob couldn't do enough to make my stay pleasant. They just seem to have thought of all the little things that really make for a smooth trip. Many thanks!

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent throughout.
Although I only stayed one night the service and room were superb and I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Primrose Cottage.

Reviewed by
Keith Little

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next