No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Skiddaw Grove

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Vicarage Hill, , , Keswick, CA12 5QB
We would like to welcome you to Skiddaw Grove Country Guest House Keswick. We offer 4 Star Quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation and Self-Catering Apartments in the vibrant market town of Keswick on Derwentwater in the English Lake District. Our superb, fringe of Keswick location provides a peaceful setting and yet is within easy walking distance of the town centre.

The south-facing terrace with patio tables and chairs, table tennis table and swimming pool is available to guests in both apartments and guest house. Accommodation Features: • 4 Star En-Suite B & B Accommodation • Self-Catering Apartments • Magnificent Mountain Views • Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool (May – September) • Private Car Park • Child Friendly, no minimum age. • Fully Non-Smoking.
Picture of Skiddaw Grove, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Short Break
We received a very warm welcome at Skiddaw Grove. Room was spacious and very high standard of cleanliness was evident. The choice for breakfast was excellent and served with wonderful views of Skiddaw.

Reviewed by
M Pate

From Loughborough, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant place to stay, room was immaculate, pool great to swim in, Lovely breakfast,great hosts
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Skiddaw Grove, room was immaculate with all needs catered for. Andrew and Diane great hosts. Pool in back garden was great for a swim and our breakfast was everything we could want with a great choice of items. Great views of the Lakeland peaks. Would not hesitate to go again.

Reviewed by
JEAN M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent holiday stay
The couple owner is very nice and friendly. The room is very clean and has a nice view. The allocation of the hotel is ideal for hikers. The town center is also very accessible.There is a very nice pub just round the corner. We really enjoy our holiday and would definitely recommend others to this hotel.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, lovely location
We enjoyed every minute of our holiday and would love tc come back during the summer season when the swimming pool is open. The guesthouse is located on the edge of Keswick, ideal for the walk up Skiddaw which towers over the local area. There is an excellent Inn next door for evening meals or many other choices available after a short walk into town. It's also a great location for visiting Borrowdale valley which is an ideal starting point for some of the best walking England has to offer.

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend
Really warm welcome, very comfortable bed, lovely breakfast and gorgeous views of snowcapped Skiddaw from breakfast room table.
Bedroom was a bit of a squeeze between bottom of bed and wall but not a lot you can do when converting an old building into ensuites and the bathroom was a nice size.

Reviewed by
H Royle

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cosy and comfortable stay with delicious breakfast and wonderful views towards Skiddaw. Owners were lovely. A very large person might struggle in the compact ensuite bathroom, but I loved the room. Handy location for walking into town. I would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Sylvia D

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Super friendly place to stay with wonderful views and best breakfast we've ever had- anywhere!

Reviewed by
D Hancox

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic welcome by Andrew and Diane
From walking in the door for the first time until I was leaving Andrew and Diane were so friendly. Customer service was excellent, as was the breakfast. Room very clean each day. Did not dare put my muddy boots on the carpet!
Will stay again when next walking in the area.

Reviewed by
derek c

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Find
Delightful stay in every way. Wonderful welcome. Great attention to detail in every aspect of our stay

Reviewed by
J Holdsworth

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and friendly welcome, we enjoyed our three night stay.

Reviewed by
David Prescott

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next